Writers logo

Writing Fanfic Saved My Life

How I made friends without leaving my house

By Lynda SpargurPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 5 min read
Runner-Up in Writers Challenge
38

When I was a very young girl, I lived in a world built inside my head. My external world was a very scary place. My father drank a lot. And when he drank, he got loud and sometimes… he got violent. It was a lot to take in as a child. My internal world often included myself and the characters from a tv show or movie I recently watched. Mostly, it was Bonanza. I loved and still love that show and I wanted Adam Cartwright to be my dad.

It was a safe and loving world. A place where I could live out real scenarios but make the outcome more positive. Little did I know that my childhood fantasies would continue and grow well into adulthood.

You may be asking, what does your childhood fantasies have to do with fanfiction? What the hell is fanfiction? Fanfiction are stories written by fans but using the characters or settings established by someone else in a book, television show or movie.

There are many forms of fanfiction including but not limited to: canon (stories using the characters and settings established and writing stories based of off events in the book, tv show or movie), non-canon (stories using the characters and settings but not using the events established), alternate world (taking the characters and putting them into a setting that is not their own - i.e. taking the characters from Friends and making them astronauts), crossovers (this actually happens in tv shows and can result in a new series). Yes, even television participates in creating fanfiction. This list is nowhere close to being complete.

But I digress from the actual story. I never wrote those stories down until after I graduated from high school. I remember being in my room when my best friend came bursting in.

“I had a dream last night and we were both in it,” she said excitedly. “You have to help me write it down.”

“Tell me about it,” I replied.

She sat down and told me about her vivid and quite enthralling dream. An hour later, she asked again if I would help her write it. Of course, I said yes.

At the time, we were both interested in becoming police officers, so we watched a lot of police related shows. Her dream involved her and I and the characters from The New Mike Hammer television series based off the books written by Mickey Spillane. In this dream she and I owned our own private detective agency and were friends with Mike Hammer and the police Lieutenant, Pat Chambers.

We spent the entire night writing her dream into a notebook by hand. She told me the story and I wrote it down. Once we were finished we had about 30 pages in that notebook. I looked at her and said, “Now that we have the bones, it’s time to get to work.”

It seemed unorthodoxed at the time, but we decided to draft the story together. She would write one chapter from her point of view and I would write the next chapter and back and forth. The crazy thing is that we were writing these chapters at the same time. Personal computers were not available yet and neither of us owned a typewriter. To ensure that we both had copies we used carbon paper. For those unfamiliar, carbon paper was an 8.5 X 11 thin sheet of paper. On one side it was smooth and glossy, the other side was black and if you touched it your fingers would be black.

You would take the carbon and place it between two white sheets of paper with the black side of the carbon paper facing down. Then, when you wrote on the top sheet it would mark the bottom sheet and you would have a copy. You had to be careful though as it would copy any marks made. So, if you pressed your hand too hard as you were writing you would have the shape of your hand on the copy as well. It was a jinky method but it worked for us.

We spent months sitting in a restaurant drinking coffee and writing. We met a lot of other people who also liked to sit in restaurants all night too, however, we were the only writers. Our first manuscript was over 300 pages handwritten. It was titled; The Main Street Investigators: The Case of The Computer Killers. We felt quite accomplished at that point and dove into the next “book”, The Case of The Blown Needle.

In the end, over the course of 2 years, we drafted 13 manuscripts. All of which have been lost in the passing years. Living took over and we both got full-time jobs and she got married, though we remained friends.

In 1999, my world tilted on the night my Mother died. So many plans and dreams died with her. I was like a sailboat in the middle of the ocean being tossed to and fro. I had no direction at that point in my life. I started searching online to find something that would ground me. It was then that I discovered fanfiction.

I was aware of the fanzines of the 70’s but I had no idea that this world had come to life online. My first forays were in The West Wing fandom. I found a few websites and printed the scripts at work to take home and read. How I never got caught and subsequently fired, I will never know. If they did know, it was never brought up. Luckily, I had a benevolent employer.

However, it was then that fanfiction, reading and writing, was about to become a huge part of my life. At first, I read the stories and then slowly I began to write them. Through those stories I was able to deal with my loss and amazingly I made friends, true friends. It’s been over twenty years and many of the people I met early on are still in my life.

It is these friends who helped me to return to school. It is these friends that I rely on when I need help, be it mental or physical. Fanfiction was and is more than just an escape from reality. It has been my companion, my therapist, and my escape. The people who create these stories are some of the kindest people I have ever met in my life. I am grateful to them and all the writers out there that make a difference even if they don’t know it.

My life isn’t perfect but it’s a whole lot better than it could have been. Maybe it was my Mom’s way of helping me to improve my situation. Maybe it was written in the stars.

InspirationLife
38

About the Creator

Lynda Spargur

Screenwriter, Author, Creative Writer

Writer, dreamer, creator of new imaginary souls. Using my experiences to develop a better future. Crime stories, baseball and The Beach Boys are my passions.

Authors I love:

Tony

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Atlantica6 months ago

    Let's interact with each other Great article👍

  • Leslie Writes8 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this. I’ve made friends with fan fiction too. Fan fiction writers are so wonderful and clever. 💖 congrats on your top story.

  • Naveedkk 8 months ago

    Congratulations on top story,

  • Madhu Goteti 8 months ago

    Nice work ! now that’s what I call flow of soul as a whole ! You are really fortunate Lynda … ❤️Blessed by destiny with the “grounding” bestowed in august company… with you …

  • Priya8 months ago

    Very Nice! Congrats for your future endeavours!

  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Fan fiction is an interesting genre. After reading your inspiring experience, I would like to try writing some fan fiction as well. Read mine? https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • Chloe Gilholy8 months ago

    One of my fan fics got a top story on Vocal. Fan fics gave me a good coping mechanism and it taught me so much about growing up and romance and social skills.

  • George8 months ago

    Very interesting and gives a mental picture which connects the reality of what you’ve become. Keep on keeping on.

  • Alisan Keesee8 months ago

    My beginning as a writer is very similar and even included a Western TV show called “Young Riders.” Love this article!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I want to read your detective stories!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    That’s really cool!! I’m glad you found a way to release your creativity and connect with your friend as well ☺️

  • Chloe8 months ago

    I LOVE fan fiction!! My first work of fiction was completely fan fiction based of a Legend of Zelda game, and I started that when I was 11. Fan fiction is what tossed me into the world of storytelling and it kept an old friend of mine in contact with me for nine whole years. I’m so glad this got Top Story, because fan fiction is still one of my favorite things to write, even when I create original characters. 😃

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    L.S. ~ You are Truly a StoryTeller speaking to us with your 'reach-backs' that come out so vividly with your pen. - Gold Shield for this "T.V. Detective" Lynda - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work!

  • Ahyan Choudhury8 months ago

    Excellent!

  • Kimmiekins48 months ago

    I love fanfiction! i began reading it as a teen, and have started writing a few myself but haven't completed them. I love your story :) so happy to hear that fanfiction made such a positive impact on your life.

  • Tony Baca8 months ago

    Compelling heartfelt story.. Shake the Shackles of the Fan-Fiction and go for the true compassion that lies within your soul. Look forward to many more. Cheers!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.