Writers logo

We Are All Writers

Just Press The Keys Or Pick Up the Pen

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
7
AI Image By The Author

Introduction

We are our own worst critics in everything. My mind is always telling me I am not good enough to write, play music, or be worthy to be friends with anyone. You know what I ignore that voice and go ahead and do it anyway. I know I am not a major player on Vocal, Medium, or anywhere but I am doing Ok for myself, with a big subscription base and a lot of reads, so I am doing something right.

I am surprised that this is my third new community post today, and when I started I thought may two-hundred to two-hundred-and-fifty words will be enough. The first was seven-hundred-and-fifty, the second well over six hundred, and this will hit six hundred plus as well. I am not trying to hit that number, it is just happening.

This may be my only post in the Vocal Writers community, which you can check out here

I have been running my blog Seven Days In for nearly twenty years in the hope it would inspire me to write a book. Over that time there have been a few literary car crashes (and at times I think about going back to see if I can salvage anything from the wreckage).

Chatting with a good friend yesterday or the day before I said that writing is the only art form where you do not need to get it right the first time because it is simple to go back and correct any errors or change any sequences, to bring your work closer to perfection. In music when you play something it has to be right, especially in live situations. In sculpture and art, you can redo things but it takes time, material, and effort.

With writing you can make changes very quickly making it an extremely flexible medium to work in. Obviously, if a book has been published then the product has been let go and would probably be impossible to fix without some kind of mass recall.

So On To My Writing

Access to the Vocal platform has enabled me to be very productive, with over 1500 Vocal stories now on the platform.

When a friend was telling me about her book, I suggested she self-publish. She wasn't sure about it, so I said I would check it out and I accidentally published my first book. I had been thinking about doing this for nearly twenty years and thanks to my friend and a little good fortune, this happened and you can read about it here.

That really surprised me, and then I realized I had a source or material on my Vocal profile and could use that to create poetry and story anthologies and get my name in hard copy print. The Kindle creator is a bit awkward but I have worked out a method for actually creating easily using a middle step of Microsoft Notepad and I documented it here.

Any Vocal creator can use this method to create ebooks, paperbacks, and hardback books. There are some annoying things about Amazon that won't allow you to delete failed uploads, so they are on the marketplace but people can't buy them of course, but they make your book list look messy.

This is my author page on Amazon, and you sample all my books, and even buy them if you like the look of them.

These are the two non-books that I mentioned, I wish I could simply delete them.

Conclusion

I included Roger Daltrey's "Written On The Wind" to listen to as you read this as it just about refers to writing.

Thank you so much for reading and hope this may have given you a few ideas.

ResourcesPublishingProcessGuidesCommunityAdviceAchievements
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Great to see your self-publishing accomplishments! 👏😊 And yes I definitely like that we can edit our work as vocal plus members.

  • Thank you again for sharing your thoughts in this new community, Mike.

  • Sian N. Clutton10 months ago

    This was a really interesting read. I love how honest you are. It motivates me to keep writing!

  • Rasma Raisters10 months ago

    Something always inspires me whether it's music I listen to while writing or something I read on the net. After I find I have jotted down enough notes to begin the poem a certain song inspired or a new article that was inspired by some research done online. Vocal Media gives me the space I need to share my creativity with others and that is what I like the best,

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Enlightening, as always.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I never thought about writing that way, but you are so right. Other art forms have a lot less room for error. I like to bake, and to decorate pastries. Everything has to be precise with that. You can’t get it wrong. Sometimes I will type 2-3k words, realize it’s trash, and delete the entire document. Then, I’ll try again when the mood strikes, and often my second try is close to being the final draft—I just need to clean up any typos or overuse of certain words. But nobody sees the awful writing I do which inspires me to write something better.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Thanks for these thoughts on the new communities. We are certainly our own worst critics; me for wishing I had more time to follow up on all this. I just keep telling myself I could have success if I didn't work these 50 hours a week in the meaningless and backbreaking labor that is my Real Job. Maybe I'm just fooling myself.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.