Writers logo

Vocal Tips And Guides (And Prompts And Ideas And ...)

If You Want It On A Plate Vocal Does Give It To You

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 19 days ago 2 min read
10

Introduction

This has come about by people getting aggravated by Challenge Results being late, or the fact there are no new Challenges, despite there being a lot of unofficial challenges around. I run one each month.

Also, people want improvements to do what they want, but often there are workarounds already available, and this is a little of where you can find them.

I am not sure if people will read this or take my advice, but I will put this out anyway and if one person gains something from it, then it will be worth it.

The song is Queen's "I Want It All", appropriately.

Vocal Tips And Guides

I see the Challenges on Vocal, Official and Unofficial as prompst to create stories. I know I am highly unlikely to be considered in a challenge, but I have an audience who love my work, so I regard each challenge as a prompt with a free entry to a lottery, but I always win because people read and comment on my work.

The Tips and Guides page is is here:

The first item on this page is my Tips on Formatting which we all need, but has only 32 hearts despite its republication five months ago.

I see people in the Creator Chat asking for things that are often featured on the resource page above but they haven't looked, and believe me, it is full of useful treasures.

There are some problems with the Vocal editor but it has improved dramatically since I signed up. I would like to see justification and maybe font choices and colour, but to get around that I create the post in Google Docs and then take a screenshot like this one for the recent "In Eclipse" Challenge.

This is available to everyone, well Windows users and I am sure other operating systems provide equivalent options.

These resources, as well as helping you put together your Vocal Creations, have lots of lists for writing particular types of stories.

Conclusion

If you are looking for an idea, or how to do things, drop into the cornucopia of help and ideas that Vocal provides for you totally free (it is for everyone), you will find things that may be just right for you or even things that you hadn't even thought of.

Please take a look and if you find something let me know in the comments on this piece.

Thank you so much for reading.

VocalShoutoutResourcesPromptsProcessInspirationGuidesCommunityChallengeAdvice
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountain17 days ago

    Hi Mike So you now have 34 hearts now! on ‘Tips On Formatting Your Vocal Stories etc’ piece. Yep I listened to that 7 minute video with delight as you discussed your creative process. Thank you - It is very similar to my own. With your prolific publishing rate I must revisit you're inspiring work and I apologise for not doing so sooner. I hope you have the time to read my reply to the piece listed above. It is long but surely meaningfully engaging is part of the magic? So, rather than just leaving the link to my ‘Just one Minute’ Challenge short story in the previous article I will also leave here hoping you may decide to read. https://vocal.media/fiction/paused I wish I could spend my day writing and publishing and especially reading the workothers. I learn so much. It”s getting late here and I do need sleep, especially because of my mental illness. So for tomorrow ‘Vocal Vocal is a platform for supporting, discovering and rewarding creators. Pauline 🌸

  • Worth noting that the even with the screenshot workaround you described, it's important to still have the actual text on the page for accessibility. Especially since Vocal doesn't let us set alt text on images, so a screen reader would not be able to give a vision-impaired user any sense of what is said within the image. (Which you did on the example you shared, but I thought it was worth calling out for those non-web engineers on Vocal who might not consider this aspect.)

  • "I know I am highly unlikely to be considered in a challenge," Lol Mike, you've already placed in a challenge so obviously you were considered

  • Mother Combs19 days ago

    Great reminder

  • Dana Crandell19 days ago

    Good information, Mike. Those resources have come in handy for me on occasion.

  • Judey Kalchik 19 days ago

    Good content and great reminder that there is a lot of content to help people.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.