Writers logo

Three Great Decisions Made in Six Months

And an update on each of the three decisions.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 21 days ago β€’ 5 min read
Top Story - April 2024
30
Three Great Decisions Made in Six Months
Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

Write about three great decisions you made in the last six months and their outcomes. Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

Back in November, I decided to write a book about becoming an elder in the 21st century. I used short stories I had written previously and when National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) announced the plan for 50,000 words in one month, I knew this would be my topic.

All new words are not required and I knew that. I have written for NaNoWriMo before. I knew that I would have to write a forward, and afterward, a table of contents, about the author and artist and I planned to write a summary page about the chapters.

Some material from other books I had written would be included. Books I had used as a fundraising for Team Carrie Powwow For Hope Fundraiser. I was sure that like my book about cancer and diabetes, this book would not have a huge following, but that is okay with me.

It made sense to me to write it as I had most of the information I would need as that is all I had been talking about and thinking about in my 69th year of life. I had never had a crisis year before and this was mine.

Two cousins that had 30 as their big age talked to me about how tough that was for them. They thought it was terrible to be almost 30. They were thinking their life would be over.

Forties was a big deal for several people I know. And so were the fifties. Then sixties for sure people were feeling old. And they were. If you feel old you are old, I've found. I didn't start feeling old until my sixties, but I knew for sure that my seventies meant I would be old!

In my Native American culture, an elder happens at age 55. How I knew I was considered an elder in my community was that I started being recognized as such. I didn't feel old though. Someone referred to 55 as 'baby elders'. I could live with that.

A baby elder means that when someone gives you walleye, you want it in fillets, not fish you need to clean, or you may not accept it, I was told. I know how to fillet fish, so that would not be a problem for me.

I would be given a plate at a feast and not have to stand in line or if there was a line I could go to the front of the line. Then I was given certain medicines, like sage, sweet grass, cedar, and other gifts.

An elder was okay with me until I hit age 69. It wasn't the age 69 as much as I was heading for age 70. Or my seventies! I am okay with it now. After all, what is my alternative? I'm not ready to go anywhere yet. So, seventy it is!

Me, and my children in Ashville, North Carolina - my photo.

In January, I was celebrating a big birthday. The kids wanted to have a party, like we did for my sixtieth. This year I turned seventy and this was the next big decision. I didn't want a party that would focus on how old I was.

I celebrate my birthday all month long and I have for a very long time now. My dad died on my birthday and it makes sense to celebrate on other days of the month. My 3 children helped me to decide we would take a trip for my birthday. It was great!

We went to North Carolina and they had a record-breaking cold day while we were there. It was -7. There was snow by our hotel. We didn't see snow or ice on the roads but many of their roads were closed. We had great food, had great times together and did some touristy things.

The benefit from that was that they want to do it again and I am excited about that, even if it is time together right down the road from my home. I thought because we didn't leave Minnesota temperature-wise, we wouldn't have to try to find warmer weather for the next trip.

Before decluttering - my photo.

After decluttering - my photo.

Four full boxes of bread bag ties were on the bottom of the before drawer. Hubby got to keep one box.

In March I decided I would join a 28-day reboot. The idea was to declutter. A week in the kitchen, a week in the bathroom, a week in the living room, and a week in a closet. My husband was impressed with what we got done in the 28 days, so I signed up for another 6 months.

I have way more to declutter but I am making slow progress. That is really what I heard that I liked the best. Slow progress is better than no progress and sometimes people give up when they are overwhelmed. That was familiar as I would never start because of being overwhelmed.

We made a good start as you can see by just one little project. I have no idea why hubby needs a box of bread ties but he does. At least it is not 4 boxes worth of ties anymore.

I am so grateful for writing a book that I am editing now, for having such great children who want to spend time with me and each other, and for the support of coaches and declutterers to help me declutter, so my children and husband don't have to do it when I am gone!

Writing ExercisePromptsLifeChallengeAchievements
30

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • PK Colleran14 days ago

    What a beautiful Top Story. Oh, to be a "baby elder"! I love that! πŸ’™πŸ’šβ™₯️🩷

  • The Dani Writer16 days ago

    A great prompt for a reflective piece of writing and it was wonderful getting to know a bit more about you through the decisions you highlighted. I will always remember my time in Asheville during one summer back in the '80s and dang, I was so naive and sheltered back then. But I remember the pure mountain water running off the rocks as my posse drove through the mountains. I remember the thick foilage that I was told you could be easily lost in. I was glad to hear your feelings about age as I share them also. It's a number that doesn't define how we feel cuz we can feel like crap at any age or feel wonderful at any age. It was a blessing for you to share the time with your children and then in turn share this with us (the readership.) I'm so grateful that you're a writer! Kudos for having another top story!

  • Christy Munson16 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes16 days ago

    This is wonderful, Denise. Congrats on the TS.

  • LASZLO SLEZAK16 days ago

    Congratulations

  • Anna 17 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

  • Wonderful and inspiring story. I really enjoyed reading the part about decluttering and also seeing the pictures. That is something that I am going to want to do at some point soon. We are not too bad but we can still use some decluttering. Great job Denise and congratulations on the Top Story.

  • Harbor Benassa17 days ago

    Aging is a gift! Great slice of life piece. I hope seventy is treating you well.

  • Krishan Mubashar17 days ago

    It's kinda funny how age is considers something "bad" and hardly anybody sees the life experience that comes with it. You are always as old as you feel, even when the society disagrees with it. The last birthday I celebrated was my 30s. After that I decided, that I don't need a party for something that happened beyond my control. Especially since everybody makes a big deal out of it (more negatively than positively).

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    Great decisions!

  • M.B Hesperia 18 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story and healthy 70. Its bit concerning when we are getting older and the kids are going to their young age , I have four years old daughter and being a single mother its sometimes bit disturbing that how would I be able to communicate every matter alone. Its a powerful story, relatable. Thanks so much

  • Thank you for your update , and I forgot to thank you for your book from your poetry prompt/challenge. Excellent work

  • Sher Muhammad 18 days ago

    Great story

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Awesome decisions and story!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • The Writer 18 days ago

    congratulations!!!

  • I am a bit scared turning 40 this September. I am getting all those thoughts about kids getting bigger (we have 3 under 8 currently), teenager years and us getting older and older. It is a new turn for me it feels. This story resonated a lot, as I have been thinking of decluttering too.. it should be a yearly task. Congratulations on becoming 70 and I admire you for all you do. Also, you have a beautiful family!

  • Carol Townend18 days ago

    We are forever decluttering, so I hope we do it before we reach 70. I have a saying about ageing: "Age is just a number, so live and enjoy it." I enjoyed your story, and if you can declutter, we can, too!

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    Denise, you always amaze me. What a persevering robust life you have! I enjoy reading all about it, too.

  • Mark Graham20 days ago

    Congratulations on your de-cluttering. Turning 70 is also a good thing. I am turning 60 and really do not care about it.

  • I'm 34 but I certainly feel old hahahaha. I enjoyed reading this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.