Writers logo

This Year on Vocal

What to do?

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1
This Year on Vocal
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

I came across this vocal challenge and I’m honestly stumped. Sure, I thought about my New Year’s resolution a lot and as always my goal is to eat healthier, drink more water, care about my body more possibly because I’ve been sick all of 2024 so far. As I write this from the comfort of my bed I have not really thought of Vocal Media and what goals I want to achieve here…I’ve earned too story in October of 2023 and I felt so proud to be writing about something most women feel to be true. Sure, it would be nice to be noticed again but I don’t think I am the best writer and it’s hard competing against writers that give more effort than I do. I write because I love it, I love sharing my perspectives and passions with strangers. I think to improve as a writer I want to spend more time editing, I hate that part of writing. The checking of commas, periods, semi colons, seeing if my sentences make sense. I hate the whole process it’s so gruelling and it makes me want to pull my hair out, even with that though I know I can be better by doing myself that favour and checking my work before submitting. However, before writing more often or checking my grammar I think I need to read more. I will be honest I do not read other creator’s stories…does that make me a terrible vocal founder? Umm…maybe? Lately, I have been reading the challenge winners though and I feel I have gotten better with reading more works of creators in the vocal community and in turn it will turn me into a better writer. I know, I know I can hear the vocal community yelling at me for not being more involved and I think that’s where I need to start is by reading other posts and maybe write a comment or two. The problem is that when I read something with too much detail I get super unfocused. I don’t want to read “The Lord of the Rings and the Two Towers” I want to read something that happens, something that is compelling and can draw me in right into the action of the story. I read fantasy and science fiction novels and series. I can’t read a fiction novel that is about absolutely nothing that’s not entertaining to me. I don’t know if it’s maybe that while doing my English degree I had to read so many classics such as “The Potrait of a Lady” and “The Sun Also Rises” and I can’t even fathom the idea of picking up another classic. It almost causes me to have PTSD to think about the books I had to read. They’re all just so boring and nothing ever happens in these novels. I did care for anything I read in school. I’d rather pick apart books like “Fourth wing” and see how the author creates a world where Dragons and humans need to bond. I’ve published my own book that sheds light into my customer service experience and all the things I’ve encountered. I don’t know what I was expecting from that, but I knew no one would buy it. I’ve made 10 sales in the last year. Self publishing is affordable but it’s hard to get a cut from it. Anyways, back to the goals I want to achieve with vocal media. I think I’d like to be more recognizable by earning more top stories this year. I could achieve that by winning a challenge as well and I think I need to edit more and maybe write more on topics that people find controversial, but that can be difficult as people will not agree with my conservative mindset. Then, I would be getting more hate and I think it’s better to keep my opinions about certain topics to myself. Yet, the reason why I don’t get people to notice me is because I avoid risk. There’s always a risk associated with speaking your voice. In this year of 2024 I need to learn how to check my grammar more often, I need to take risks and hopefully I will win a challenge in the 2024 year and read more community posts. These goals I’ve set up for myself can happen I just need to get out of my shell a little more. Here’s to more writing!

AchievementsChallenge
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Awesome story!!! Loved it!!!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.