Criminal logo

It Wasn’t Me

A short story

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 months ago 6 min read
1
It Wasn’t Me
Photo by Victor Furtuna on Unsplash

This was months in the making. I had it all planned out. My team and I were going to take out the boss man Mitchel Cummings or as his buddies call him “Big Mitch” or “The Mitch” or “Mitch mighty”. Either way he was a douche bag, I had fallen head over heels for him because he knew what ladies wanted to hear, he seemed so genuine. The red flag should’ve been that he was married to a gorgeous blonde, who was so nice to me and every interaction we had she was genuine. I hated the fact that I was making out in his office with him almost every day. He said those words “I’m gonna divorce her and marry you”. I should have known better, of course he would never leave her. He would buy me flowers and if course the office talked and I was the slut. He didn’t say anything to defend me that was another red flag. Tonight was going to be the night that Mitchel Cummings dies. I’ve killed before so I knew I was not going to back down. I was about ten years old my dad was hitting my mom so I grabbed the gun and bang, he was dead. The party would be starting soon and he asked me to come over earlier for a booty call as I predicted and little did he know it was the last booty call he would get. I told him no since he’s not divorced. You would think I’d take the opportunity to kill him then, but it would be too obvious that it was me. So a large party it was. Most of the guests have already arrived to his mansion, the mansion where I’ve had an affair with him many countless times. His wife still had no idea that we’ve been screwing; she was blonde for a reason.

I checked the bullets, they were loaded. Perfect. My ear piece was working. “Okay here we go one last bang” I said. “I’m in position” said the team member who would be turning out the lights. “Ready when you are” said my lookout. There were only three of us. I figure the less people the less probability this will go wrong. I made sure that the syringe was ready and it was time to go into the party. The winter wind had picked up and a chill came over the mansion as snow dusted the cars. Even better, the lights going out wouldn’t be so weird now. I entered, of course all the guests were draped with their finest dresses and jewelry.

“Oh Dani! I didn’t think you’d come because of what happened between Mitch and you,” whispered my co worker Sarah to me.

“Don’t be silly, that was just physical but it’s over now, he wants to be with his wife” I whispered back. I checked my watch I had thirty seconds to get to where I needed to be. “I’ll catch up with you in a second, I need to get a drink,” told her and I wandered off. Then, the perfect timing the lights went out and some people made startling noises. I took off my heels and got to his bedroom my lookout wasn’t too far off. His bedroom door was wide open…that was odd. I stepped in and closed the door behind me. Peeking from the ensuite bathroom was a bare foot. Weird place to take a nap…I stepped closer and that’s when I noticed the blood. Pools of it just seeping into the tile of the floor and inching closer the carpet of the bedroom. It smelled horribly wrong. His body was dead on the floor, he was butt naked and he had been shot through the heart. The lights flickered back on.

“Abort mission” I said into the earpiece.

“Copy” said my lookout and her line went dead.

“Copy” said my lights guy and his line died.

I had to think of something fast. I stripped down naked and threw my dress on the bed as if we just had sex. I had no other choice, I took some of his blood and put it on me it was still warm. I messed up my make up and got my hair wet. I sat down against the wall and cried. At first they were fake tears but then I thought about how stupid was I to fall for this guy and I didn’t even have the opportunity to kill him. I let out a scream and I waited for someone to come up and entered his wife she looked shocked then disgusted. She just found out that her husband was with another woman of course she was shocked.

“I’m sorry, I slept with him,” I wept. “It wasn’t supposed to go like this!” She was already on the phone with the police. She grabbed a towel and wrapped it around me. Stacy cried at his body pleading that he was not dead as soon as she got off the phone. This invited more people to investigate Sarah came rushing in and then threw up. We shut the door until the police arrived. No one was allowed in or out. Now she was hugging me and crying. The police taped off the room and took us downstairs to where the ambulance waited. They wrapped us in emergency blankets and gave me a large hoodie and some baggy pants to wear. They asked us questions and then they left us alone.

“I know that you’ve been sleeping with him,” She whispered.

“How?”

“Please, a wife always knows” she said. She got up and spoke to an officer. The officer then approached me.

“Ma’am do you have any weapons on you?” Asked the officer.

“I - ”started to say.

“We are going to have to search you,” he said he got me up and padded me down finding my gun and syringe.

“You are under arrest for the murder of Mitchell Clark Cummings anything you say or do will be held up in court of law” he said as he hand cuffed me. I didn’t do it though, but I knew better than to speak up. I kept my mouth shut. I had no idea who could have done it. I sat in my cell up until I had a visitor. I sat down and there was blonde Stacy.

I picked up the receiver. “Hello, I came to tell you that it was me,” she said.

“I did it and what’s great is that I am getting away with it as one of the bullets from your gun went missing and all the bullets in my gun were all there. Great minds think a like, we have the same gun. I shot him and went downstairs then I heard you scream and what better Karma than to blame it on the woman who is having an affair with my husband; it shows motivation for the kill and I get everything he owns. You really helped along with that.”

I sat there dumbfounded of course it was her, I thought I had it pinned down to Sarah. She knew everything all along. Stacy knew it all and she found a way to get rid of two problems not just one.

I hung up and left she was not going to get the satisfaction from me. Not today.

guiltyfiction
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.