Criminal logo

Date Gone Wrong

Short Story

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Date Gone Wrong
Photo by silvana amicone on Unsplash

My heartbeat raced wildly nearly exploding. How did I get myself into this situation? It was a date. A simple stupid date. I know my friends warned me of what could happen when online dating in New York, but none of it was supposed to happen to me. I gripped my hands together and my knuckles were turning white and my whole body was shaking. My mouth was taped over all I could do was breathe through my nose. I just have to wait for him to leave and then I can get myself out of this situation. I watched youtube videos of how kidnapped girls get themselves out of situations like this. My cellphone was still in my pocket and they still have not taken it away. Someone has to know I am in the bad part of New York. My sister was often following my steps and my whereabouts, she should know that I usually don't hang out in back alleys and dark basements. This was not my ideal situation. "Okay, I am off. You stay here," he said and he went upstairs they creaked as he proceeded outside of the basement and he shut the door and left me in the dark, cold basement tied up against the wall. He was gone finally. I reached for my shoelaces and tied them together tightly, I could hear my own breathing as I did so. I started to rub the tape of my hands against the laces. I moved quickly, back and forth, back and forth I told myself as I continued to rub the tape and laces against each other. The tape was starting to fray. I breathed as much as I could through my mouth trying to get the tape off of my mouth. The tape started to loosen. I heard footsteps and panic had filled me the hairs on the back of my neck rose. I could feel the temperature of my face rise, sweat started to drip down my forehead. The tape finally ripped.

I quickly undid my laces and I raced to the window, desperate to get out. I stood on top of the box and using my elbow I punched at the basement window. I did it again. I was too weak. I grabbed a nearby metal gas tank that is often used on barbeques and I threw it at the window. The glass shattered. Whoever was upstairs would hear that. I scrambled to get out the window and sure enough, the door to the basement swung open. I pushed myself out and army-crawled my way out and without looking where I was going I ran. I had no idea where I was but I was running. I dialed 911 without paying attention to my surroundings. They asked me where I was and I finally stopped and looked around. I had no idea where I was...or how I got here. I was convinced I was in New York. How many days has it been? Was I out longer than I thought?

I was near a forest area. I kept going trying to hear if there was a road or highway. I tried to define it as best I could. I did have reception, so it was not the worst. Yet, this seemed to be still pretty bad. I had no idea how I get here or where I was. I looked at google earth and I was in the middle of nowhere the nearest town was almost five miles away. I would have to walk. I told the emergency hotline that's where I was headed. They said they would find me soon. I kept going, I knew if I stopped whoever he was, was probably out looking for me and they would catch up pretty soon. Luckily I made the right decision to not go in heels on this date otherwise, this walk would have been too painful. I pressed forward moving at a quick pace, but not running. I walked on the side of the highway and with every passing car I held out my thumb hoping someone would give me a lift. I think the guy drove a Nissan. I tried to remember the details of the date.

I got to the restaurant he put a bag over my head took me to the bad part of New York because when we got there he pulled it off and I was dragged into a tiny room and the smell gave it away. I was in an old abandoned warehouse. The rest is kind of blurry and fuzzy. I checked my cellphone and the date appeared to be three days after the date. How come no one called or texted me? Maybe they thought I was on a business trip, but my work friends must have noticed I was gone. I kept walking and my feet were not even tired when I reached the edge of the town. I walked into the diner and no one seemed to notice me. Then, I saw the screen on the television set.

"We found the remains of a Samantha Wright, who had gone on a date and she ended up dead five miles away from the town known as Flemington. Police suspect that she was kidnapped by her date, known as Castleguy360 or James Colbert. Colbert had a history of raping and murdering women. Finally, he is behind bars." but I was Samantha Wright...how could I be dead? Didn't I smash open a window? Didn't I...no one ran after me though, but the footsteps and the guy that told me he would be back. Did I become a ghost?

"Hey, you made it!" said a female voice behind me. "I am Trianny by the way. I was the first girl Colbert killed," she said and she stuck out her hand.

"What do you mean?" I asked.

"Well, you are dead and now, this is the afterlife since you are young and you were murdered, you became a ghost, like me," said the girl as she sipped on a milkshake. "It can be fun, I sometimes turn on the jukebox over there just to freak people out," she said nonchalantly. She must have seen the expression on my face.

"Oh no, you didn't know you were dead, it's a weird concept because you have everything you had as a human, you know you can sweat, scream and smash things open, but no one can see you that's the catch," she explained.

"But I called the police?" I asked her.

"Yeah, that conversation never happened. The receiver was not picking anything up but white noise when you call and the fact that you could hear them on the other end was a ghost emergency call. You called another ghost, they will be here and explain everything to you. I have to go," she said and she flicked her wrist, and poof she was gone. That's when a ghost cop appeared she was dark-skinned and dressed like she was from the 80's.

"Hi, I understand you are a new ghosty," she said and her voice spoke with authority. "Welcome, you gave your friends quite the shock, it's terribly sad. Let's get you going any questions?" she asked.

"Yes, so I am really dead?" I asked her and she took her hand in mine and suddenly I was standing in the middle of the crime scene. There was my body, naked and eyes wide open. I was dead. How did I die? A date went terribly wrong.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.