Writers logo

The Most Difficult Thing About Writing For Me.

I was born and raised Native American

By Denise E LindquistPublished 11 months ago β€’ 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
We were at a Pink concert. She has a great show. Me and my daughter. Authors photo.

Over the years, I have had more than just a little difficulty with writing. I have preferred to read. I love to read. When I told my brother that is 18 months younger that I had started to write, he said it didn't surprise him as I had quite the imagination when we were young.

I don't remember much about my writing from grade school through high school as I was too busy with other things back then.

In college and graduate school, my writing continued to have lots of red pencil/pen marks for grammar and punctuation. Not so much for spelling. Then there were comments about no beginning and no end to my writing.

In my work life, I have done a lot of technical writing. Budgets, reports, requests for proposals, applications, resumes, and curriculum vitae. Usually no problem and sometimes compliments on this form of writing.

I know there are great Native American authors. That is not me. I grew up with a lot of stories from the culture. Stories that are teachings; teaching lessons, morals, and values. And stories just for fun.

As I was taught at a young age, those stories didn't always have a beginning, a middle, or an end. Instead, the story could start anywhere and could easily end with something you have to figure out.

An example: A young Lakota woman was interpreting a story for her grandmother, who was speaking in Lakota. The story ended with Iktomi getting covered with a blanket and beat with sticks and the old woman was laughing so hard that it looked like she almost fell off of her chair.

When I tell that story, I get similar reactions from my audience. Yes. That is the end I say, now: "What do you think it is all about?" People have different takeaways from that story. And every time I leave the end off of a story people are confused.

So then, if I write like I tell stories, it will not work out in English storytelling. I often will write a story and then go back and see if I have a beginning, middle, and end to my writing. Sometimes I do, sometimes I do not.

I have had one woman tell me not to tell the story the old woman told through her granddaughter. She didn't think it was a good idea for the guests at the mental health crisis shelter I work at. She wouldn't tell me why. I assumed it triggered something for her.

I made sure staff were aware that she may have been triggered. Since I am only there for one day a week, I decided I would not tell that story again there.

In my Native American culture, certain stories are meant to be told with snow on the ground and when it gets dark. I think it means that there is more time in the winter and after dark to tell stories as there is a lot of work that needs to get done at other times of the year and during the day.

My mother told us just one nanaboozhoo story in the middle of summer when we were picking berries. My aunt, my mother's sister insinuated that she may have made it up. She talked about how the skunk got the white stripe and the smell like no other.

Since then I have heard other skunk stories.

Growing up in the Native American culture has helped me to be a better storyteller in the culture, but not so much of a writer of English. If you grew up similarly, it is a good idea to check your writing for a beginning, a middle, and an ending to your stories.

ChallengeProcessLifeCommunity

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Naveed Ahmed Syed11 months ago

    Your unique storytelling perspective shines through your writing, making each narrative a captivating journey.

  • Aksaya Bandodker11 months ago

    wonderful story!!

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this understanding of storytelling in Native American culture. It is closer to reality then the way of the telling stories with a beginning, middle and end. Real life is fluid and always changing. Loved this. ❀️ Congratulations on well deserved top story ❀️

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Use your life for your stories. There are so many untold tales that the world needs to know. A great Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    That's wonderful, Denise. Congrats on the TS.

  • JeRon Baker11 months ago

    Despite what people have had to say about your writing it seems like you definitely know how to make someone stop and read.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Denise, love your authentic story. I think stories having an open ending allows the listener or viewer to decide how it ends. Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Mattie :)11 months ago

    Hey Denise. Great post. We have a similar background with writing. I struggle with creating and telling an entire story from beginning, middle to end. I'm getting better and understanding it more now, yet it's still something I've struggled with. Glad we've connected :)

  • Kimmiekins411 months ago

    Thank you for this! I am always critiquing my writing due to it not always meeting English guideline and I get discouraged from posting it.

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Good advice! Embrace your own style, though - It's important & unique! ❀️

  • I actually kinda like stories with no beginning or ending. It leaves more room for imagination!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Very interesting/ insightful piece! What was the meaning of the grandchild/ grandmother story?

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    This is such a lovely article about your experience with storytelling through your culture. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about it. Your point about a story being able to start anywhere is fascinating.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.