Writers logo

Three Of Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

Contributions to future generations, the emotion that stirs my soul, and the gifts of this moment

By Denise E LindquistPublished 7 days ago 3 min read
Three Of Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

What will you contribute to future generations? Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

When my children were young and I was in recovery, I heard about the alcoholic family rules and decided to break those rules for my children. Rule 1: Do not talk or ask questions. Rule 2: Do not trust. Rule 3: Do not feel.

In growing up in my family those were the rules. We weren't to talk about alcoholism and what that looked like in our house. When I heard my daughter tell her friend at her 12th birthday party that her dad wasn't at her party because he was in jail with a DWI/DUI I knew rule 1 was broken.

When promising my children anything, I had to be sure that I could follow through with any promise. That didn't happen growing up in my house. My children learned to trust me and would speak out when they couldn't trust other family. They recognized the difference and had no problem saying so.

"Grandma said always be honest and then the phone rings and we are told to say she isn't here."

Feelings aren't good or bad they just are. There are still consequences to some and it was important that if they were going to say something hurtful or act out with their anger, they learned that there could be consequences.

It was still okay for them to have that feeling. Feelings were not okay in my house growing up.

Breaking these rules will hopefully contribute to future generations. My daughter has 8 children and the 2 boys have 5 (one is not in this count as she hasn't been seen in many years but I still count her).

My husband's 4 children have 11 children. (2 of their children count but one was a stepchild, divorced and we don't see him and 1 was deceased at 4 months.)

Another thing is about becoming a hugging family and saying I love you. When I put myself into hug therapy, that had a ripple effect and now my family is a hugging family. We say I love you to our children after a phone call or visit and they respond the same way.

This will contribute to future generations.

Due to my attention to water is life beginning in the late 70s and early 80s, I have watched the goal of saving water spread nationwide. There are more and more water walks and water ceremonies. This is so important for our future generations.

What emotion stirs your soul? Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

Love. I believe that God/Creator is love. I learned a way to love everyone. I don't have to like everyone and the more I love everyone the easier it is to like everyone.

When I see my husband look at me in a certain way, I know it is love. That stirs my soul to see love. Then to feel love is stirring my soul every day. I have been noticing how I talk to everyone I can talk to. I realized I never know what I am missing when I don't speak up. Shared love.

The gifts this moment brings are ____________ Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

The looking forward to the water ceremony this morning. When I hear my husband with the television on in the other room, knowing he is awake and doing one of his favorite things. Feelings of contentment.

Knowing my family is all safe and many are still asleep on this Sunday morning. Some will be in church, while others will be in ceremony today.

I know that I have no big plans for today and I will do a few things that need doing and put a book together that I started and lost when my computer crashed. I am so grateful for technology and experience.

My daily gratitude list: I am grateful for my husband, children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, my siblings, other family and friends, and everyone's family and partners. I am grateful for my recovery and the beauty of life all around me. Miigwech/Thank you Gizheymanido/God.

Writing ExercisePrompts

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 days ago

    "I realized I never know what I am missing when I don't speak up." That is soooo true!

  • Babs Iverson7 days ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved your conclusion list!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mark Graham7 days ago

    Beautiful thoughts on all three prompts. God is Love and God is Everywhere.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.