Writers logo

Small Stories

Are They The Way To Circumnavigate Writer's Block?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

A while back Vocal dropped its limits on certain communities for certain challenges. While part of me was against this being permanent, I have come around to the thought that this could be beneficial at times for creators, including myself.

When I started on Vocal normal stores and articles required six hundred words to ensure a good experience for the reader. Poetry was only a hundred words because poems can be short. I used to get round this by adding an introduction to my poetry to ensure that the hundred word minimum was met.

I will just list some of the challenges that brought these changes in, and the pros and cons that I saw in what happened.

The first one was for a haiku inspired by a mountain. A haiku consists of seventeen syllables and I have managed to write a two-word "haiku" (actually it was Senryū like almost every Vocal "haiku" entry due to the fact they did not properly specify what haiku is) but this meant that that the poetry lower limit was gone.

One of my problems with this was the sheer number of stories posted by individuals, it really affected me mentally. I can deal with a few stories but when it hits seventy or eighty on the same subject by the same person I find it impossible to deal with.

I am not criticising the creators here but I found it difficult. The good thing is that it was quick and easy to write and publish a tiny story and if you were in the throes of writers' block this would be an great entry to get you going. Since the challenges are closed I see very little "haiku" or Senryū.

There were a few "haiku" challenges, and all created entries but I am not sure how many were read. My stories are almost always on disparate subjects but I have thirty-three with less than three reads, and I feel if I entered a lot of short-form stories I would have a lot with zero reads.

The thing with limericks is that they are usually humorous (I'm thinking of Edward Lear here), though I and a few people attempted serious limericks.

This was another short-form challenge that allowed people to create stories without a big word target.

These sorts of challenges can be really helpful to people because many will look and think "I can do that".

I have ditched the "Great [American ] Novel" challenge and a few attempts at "Tales Retold" have ended up in the digital bin.

We then had the "Microfiction Magic" challenge. This was prose but had to be fifty to a hundred words. Actually limiting yourself is a great exercise because you must focus on what your subject is and you cannot stray from that otherwise you break the rules of this particular microfiction.

The other thing is you don't have to find six hundred words, so there is less chance of things falling by the wayside when you are sticking to a hundred words.

The "Micro-Heist" Challenge required exactly two hundred words, no more, no less, so was an exercise in discipline, but again that would not be too difficult for any writer even if they were in an inspirational ditch.

The current "Critique" Challenge requires a review of something in just fifty words. Again this is an exercise in discipline but would be good if you had writers' block because to will be writing your thoughts on something that already exists.

Conclusion

I hope this has given you a few ideas, especially if you are afflicted with writer's block. I find Vocal Challenges wonderful as prompts to write stories, whether the challenges are open or closed.

Thank you for your time

Writer's BlockPromptsProcessInspirationGuidesCommunityChallengeAdvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Test10 months ago

    Honestly, I think the 600-word-minimum limit should be lifted permanently. Not that my content is the best out there, but I often struggle to meet the requirement. Quantity doesn't equate quality. I agree with you about the people who post too much. It can be overwhelming. Maybe Vocal could implement a rule that limits the maximum number of stories a creator can publish daily? I like how you listed some of the past challenges. Vocal definitely helps with writer's block. Great post, Mike!

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    As always, great advice

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    I agree with you here, it can be so overwhelming when writers post so many short things! I would rather read a novel from someone than the equivalent word count in tiny poems. That being said, short pieces can really help writer's block! I have a formula for mine. I am allowed to post as many long stories as I like, but only 1 really short one every 3 days. That way, I am not spamming anyone when I have writer's block. It's actually trained my brain to write longer!!

  • So nice of you to compile these low word count challenges in the hopes of helping people with writer's block!

  • Helpful. I agree on the getting deluged by the small form challenges, though it does make it easier to feel like you've gotten a lot done, lol.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I totally agree, Vocal Challenge prompts as help me be more creative. Now I understand what novelist go through I am still stuck on my American Novel Challenge for vocal

  • Sian N. Clutton10 months ago

    Excellent top tips I did wonder about the poetry! On occasion, I've had to change mine and make them longer to meet the requirements, and it saddened me because I was perfect as it was! I will use your tip of writing an intro if I ever find myself in that situation again!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    I really like the critique challenge as I love writing film reviews, so this just seems like a smaller more manageable version of that. It usually takes me about ten hours to write, draft, research etc for one film review of around 800 words, and they are rarely read on here. But that’s cool. So I identify with your idea of inspiration for writer’s block Mike! ☺️

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.