Writers logo

My Year of Rebecoming

Jen Gossoo

By Jennifer AshleyPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 6 min read
Second Place in #200 Challenge
25

The conversation, when it's not about weather, or real estate, is

Are you writing? No one's writing.

Everyone's in a funk, waiting for words.

I cut this out of a magazine in October and taped it to the wall above my desk. I don't remember who wrote it because I didn't cut the author's name out with her excerpt, as I'd hope another writer would do for my work.

Thirty years ago, my mother told me stories by Roald Dahl and Jan Brett and Norman Bridwell while I dreamed in her womb. As I listened to tales of big red dogs and big friendly giants, I imagine that my half-baked hippocampus, that shepherd's crook of creative matter, grew larger and larger, so that telling stories came as naturally to my Child Self as blood to a wound.

But our Child Selves grow; our priorities change; the person we started life as changes, too. I feel that much of one's adult life is spent in the pursuit of rebecoming who we were in childhood. For myself, this was the Me who showed up for her craft without fear of failure or criticism-- only joy. I even wrote imaginary literary reviews lauding my stories in the "press." Oh, to have her confidence now.

That being said, I desire 2024 to be my year of rebecoming her, of revolting against the comfortable, fear-based decisions that keep me locked in the windless harbour of imagined futures and limitless potential, and choosing instead to show up for this creative act that simultaneously nourishes my soul and strikes mortal dread into every limb and neuron when I force myself to sit down and confront a blank page. As Steven Pressfield (The War of Art) writes: Sitting down [to do the work] is the hardest part.

Which brings me to May 2022, when I received an email from Vocal Media announcing their Fantasy Prologue Challenge. I hadn't written creatively at that point for nearly a year, but something about the challenge prompt whipped up that old fearless fire. There weren't always dragons in the valley. There was so much one could do with that. Then, as now, I resided in the Okanagan Valley and saw an opportunity to inject an element of fantasy into my humdrum and distinctly un-magical environment.

And I did, with a dollop of Sci-Fi to boot (a genre as alien to me as writing for pleasure had become). I laboured daily over my entry, and it returned to me with a first place title (I turned white when I read the email; my partner thought someone had died). That congratulatory email was a "re-confirmation" of my abilities; it felt like: Oh! I guess I should probably keep writing, then?

Which I did, sporadically, entering a handful of smaller Vocal challenges in the months that followed. What I found was that, with every finalist-announcement-date that came and went without a complementing email, my belief in my writing whittled down until the non-placings felt like indisputable failures, and the voice that had (sort of) encouraged me when I won, said, I guess I'm not as good a writer as I thought I was. This is embarrassing.

Yes, I did succumb to that artistically-fatal mindset that tells us that if we don't subjectively "succeed" at every creative challenge we face, then we objectively "fail." This outlook is the dream-killer that would have made my child self laugh out loud before she continued to gas herself up in a "rave New York Times review."

My successes on this platform (and my perceived failures more-so), have brought this subtle, self-limiting mindset into the light for me. Our most dangerous enemy is the one we cannot see, and I see my enemy clearly, and without ill-will. Dissecting its perversities here continues to do the work of diminishing its power over me, which it can exercise unrestrainedly if left unchecked in what my therapist calls "Emotional Mind." This mindset says:

I don't feel like showing up today.

Writing doesn't feel important to me today.

My goal is to write a book, but beginning is too daunting, so I'll just start tomorrow.

I didn't win? That must mean the story was bad, which means I'm a bad writer, which means I should either give up or try next year when I've matured into a better writer by sitting around and thinking about writing.

Do you recognize the traps that these thoughts set for artists? Is the inner dialogue familiar to you? The comfort of recognizing one's private thoughts and emotions in another writer's work is a motivator that keeps me keen to write, even when I'm not maintaining the practice, that Oh, it's not just me! revelation. The potential of failing to communicate this goal may also be one of the reasons I'm so good at deterring said practice. The gut recognition of a universal human experience within a story, regardless of its fantastical elements, has a healing property to it. It's why I set The Bridge Burners in a familiar Canadian city with teenaged characters reminiscent of those I grew up with, and why I use my own creative battles to shed awareness on the normalcy of artistic self-sabotage. I want the writing I publish on Vocal in 2024 to provide a safe stage for exploring the subtlest of human emotions, impulses, and perversities.

While I don't feel it's necessarily a bad thing to be motivated by external factors like fixed-rule competitions with monetary incentives (especially when it kicks our butts into gear), it's not how I want my writing practice to look in 2024. This is the year of internal motivation: showing up because my Higher Self knows that the work is important to me, and allowing my Child Self to follow her internal compass without imposing fear-driven limitations that ask, What will sell? or What will everyone else like? The simple fact is, no one is going to like everything I write (including me). The goal is not the outcome, but the process.

I want to close by sharing my favourite example of internal motivation from my time on Vocal. In 2023, I wrote a free verse poem that I called Nohkom and dedicated to my grandmother, who passed away in 2007. I submitted it to a challenge, and imagine my wounded pride when it was passed over! I couldn't understand how Nohkom hadn't placed when it was as near-perfect a reflection of my grandmother-- who anyone would've been lucky to know!-- as I could've hoped to write. I read and reread the finished piece, but only found a handful of negligible edits to improve it. The poem was simply not as good as I thought it was, and I felt as though I'd failed my nohkom in some way.

However, I didn't let that inner naysayer run completely amok; I entered Nohkom into Vocal's 2023 Writing Awards in the Free Verse Poetry category. I was too proud of it not to share it, and the Awards allowed me one last stab at doing so. As it happened, my fellow Vocal users liked Nohkom so much that it passed through to the shortlist, and then on to first place in its category! I was elated-- and relieved. My inner voice had swung from I'll give this one last try, but if it doesn't place, I'm giving up on it, to I thought it was good, and this is the proof of it!

While I remain proud of the pieces that have placed since 2022 (The Bridge Burners, Qapkas, Nohkom), I will no longer allow an external motivator like winning a competition to determine how I feel about my writing. If I live by another's praise, I will die by their criticism. If I don't allow myself room for trying and "failing" and trying again, then I don't allow myself the room necessary to grow, outwards and upwards, into the writer I dream of becoming.

Here's to my (and your?) rebecoming in 2024. May we daily show up for our craft in body, mind, and heart.

VocalWriter's BlockProcessLifeInspirationAdviceAchievements
25

About the Creator

Jennifer Ashley

🇨🇦 Canadian Storyteller

♾️ Metis Nation

🎓 UVic Alumni 2020

Writing published by Kingston Writers Press, Young Poets of Canada, Morning Rain Publishing, & the BC Metis Federation to teach Michif in Canadian schools.

✨YA Magical Realism✨

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This is so relatable to me. You have to be brave enough to be a bit sh!t, that's the thing. Happy to have found another VWA winner! I should have gone and subbed to you all straight away but I was in the middle of a spot of overwhelm 😁

  • In my opinion this should have been the first place winner, not the runner up. Just wanted to say that in case that fatalistic voice is in there chiming away unwantedly about not winning. I was genuinely moved by your entry. Perhaps because some sentiments mirrored my own entry, and feelings I've had when I failed to "succeed" in challenges. Regardless, this was excellent. :)

  • Catherine Dorian3 months ago

    "I see my enemy clearly, and without ill-will. Dissecting its perversities here continues to do the work of diminishing its power over me, which it can exercise unrestrainedly if left unchecked..." Jen, I have a feeling that our minds work in similar ways. The "Emotional Mind" that your therapist talks about is paradoxically what makes us writers and also our saboteur, if we're not careful. But if we stare that fear in the face--if we exercise the same courage that writing demands--we realize that our best work comes when we do it simply because we need to indulge our urges. Losing competitions sting, especially when we write poems about our deceased grandmothers. But what stings worse is the regret of knowing that we procrastinated our writing out of fear that we weren't good enough. As children, were we ever ready for anything? Probably not. That didn't stop us. I love your voice, and am very much looking forward to reading more.

  • Mark E. Cutter3 months ago

    I'll bet there isn't a writer who read this and did not feel it deeply. Nailed it, for those like me who struggle with the outside validation that dangles like the proverbial carrot with each story we put out--or don't--for any number of reasons. I, too, remember the feelings that go along with not placing in some of these contests. One of those stories I was quite proud of and thought it would do well... Anyway, Great work!

  • Holly Pheni3 months ago

    Yes! Oh goodness, this is so real. Thank you for sharing this with your fellow writers (like me) who also seek validation as motivation. Intrinsic motivation is so superior and so much more genuine, with more true success at its end. Great reminder.

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    I feel this on an emotional level. Like “wow if I didn’t place I’m not good enough” banter. And then I get mad at myself for being prideful of expecting a win. So many emotions go through a writers head and you nailed them all. Being a writer just like any other artist is a vulnerable lifestyle because we express our innermost potential and fail or succeed in patterns. You’ve drawn out what the weight of this feels like and also encouraged other writers to know that not placing isn’t a failure! It’s just not the right timing like your Nohkom. Congrats on this well deserved win. I needed to read this

  • Rachel Robbins3 months ago

    Oh the bully of external validation. I recognise so much in this gorgeous piece of reflective writing.

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • John Cox3 months ago

    I love the integrity behind your goal and your determination to embrace the magic and innocence of your child self. The little ones are always there for us, we are the ones who often fail to notice. Congratulations on placing in the 200 challenge. Great work!

  • This piece touched me so deeply. I constantly have to remind myself that at the core, I am writing for me, especially when certain pieces don't do as well as I thought they would. Thank you for not only the reminder, but for gifting the knowledge that I am not alone when I fall into the "write for others" mindset. Congrats on your placement in the challenge!

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Completely agree with you, Jen! It's the weakest form of motivation to always write for other people. There will always be burnout from that, and I don't ever want to burnout! Writing brings me joy, comfort, and clarity. I almost wish external factors didn't exist, but then writing would just be in a void, which is worse than writing for the wrong reasons, in my opinion. You can't exactly pivot away from a void... "That being said, I aim for 2024 to be my year of rebecoming her; of revolting against those comfortable, fear-based decisions that keep me locked in the windless harbour of imagined futures and limitless potential, and choosing instead to show up for this creative act that simultaneously nourishes my soul and strikes mortal dread into every limb and neuron when I force myself to sit down and confront a blank page. As Steven Pressfield (The War of Art) writes: Sitting down [to do the work] is the hardest part." What a perfect encapsulation of every writer's struggle. I wish you all the luck in writing for YOU this year. And congratulations on your win!!

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Congrats! Your goal to foster internal motivation is one I hope to be mindful of too! Good luck on all your 2024 writing endeavors!

  • Test4 months ago

    Jen Gossoo your introspective journey resonates deeply. Embracing the process over outcomes is a powerful shift. Cheers to rebecoming!"

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    "For me, that was the Self who wrote consistently and without fear of failure or criticism" love this and hope you become a child again :)

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Cheers & best wishes for 2024!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Matthew Fromm4 months ago

    Welcome back! It will be good to have your accomplished voice here again

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.