Writers logo

Losing My Vocal V-Plates

I can't remember the first actual "piece" I wrote, not with any certainty. I've always been a scribbler. Maybe it would be easier, then, to have a looksee at my first piece on Vocal.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Losing My Vocal V-Plates
Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

The first piece I wrote for Vocal was called The Squinch. Here it is:

I'd come out of a long spell of not writing very much at all (don't ask how long), so I was very rusty. I knew it.

Vocal had a Little Black Book challenge which enticed me in with its nice-sized prize pot. (I don't remember how much, exactly, let's just say enough.) I didn't expect to place, but it was good motivation to at least try.

I sat and stared at a blank page for a while.

Come onnnn. This is easy. I used to be able to write easier than shitting.

It was hard. I think that is clear from the finished piece. At least, it is to me.

The "little black book" in my story feels very shoehorned in. That's because it is.

When I started, I already had a picture needling away in my brain-hole.

A woman sitting in her flat. It's modest, but nicely turned out. At least normally it is - today, it's a mess. Things broken and overturned, glass on the floor.

I don't know where that picture came from, but from experience I know that the best way to deal with it is to write it. I'd use this picture, make a story out of it, and drop that little black book in there somewhere. Easy, right?

What had happened in that flat? Had someone broken in? Who was the woman? Who had trashed the place? Why?

I didn't know the answer to all these questions at first. If you've played computer games, you know how the things get clearer as you get closer. No that's not quite right, is it? The scenery doesn't even exist until you draw closer to it. Your presence is the catalyst that makes it take shape. Your eyeballs conjure it into being. That's how a story often works for me. It's not always vivid from the beginning (sometimes it is). I just have to jump in, make a start, go along, making sure to explore the side quests a little.

There's something missing from this one. It lacks me. It lacks heart. I wanted to be anonymous, and on some level that probably held me back from really using my voice.

When I write, I make a gash and bleed on the page. That's not to say it always pours out easily (sometimes it doesn't). But there's always something of me in it. There has to be, or it's no good. An offering, a sacrifice. A little death, to bring the piece to life.

Not this one. Here you can see me sharpening the tools and wielding them clumsily. I'm having a go, but I shy away from making that cut. Wouldn't want to splash me everywhere. Nobody wants to see that.

Like many first times, it had a lot of potential. I was excited. I was nervous. But when it came right down to it, I fumbled through it and then just hoped I'd performed well enough. Maybe if my first piece had not been for a challenge, it would have been easier to relax and just enjoy it a little. Just a little fun right? Nothing serious. No strings, no pressure.

I decided to write about how people will fuck each other over, especially for money. Not to say that's a bad thing or a good thing... but it is the thing. People do it all the time. I liked how real my characters were to me when I wrote it, but I've never been sure I portrayed them well enough.

I liked the idea of the corruption that attaches itself to large sums of money being made manifest as a creature, with coins for scales, and greedy talons to grip you with. Like a dragon.

Does it work? I'm not sure. This insertion of a fantasy creature into a mundane tale about human relationships and concerns - is it just a weak metaphor after all?

I think I am better now than I was then. I'm a little braver. Writing is still daunting. But it helps to remember nobody else cares that much most of the time.

I sit with an idea, let it brew. I lean into my voice. I make the cut.

+++++++

Thank you for reading 😁 I appreciate engagement and do my best to reciprocate reads.

ProcessChallenge

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    So many of joined during "Little Black Book Challenge". I think it probably drew in the most writers for Vocal. I could definitely identify with your whole process on how to get the black book in there without just having it thrown in. Corruption around money always holds true too. 😊

  • Maureen Y. Palmer10 months ago

    So good! I love this analogy: "The scenery doesn't even exist until you draw closer to it. Your presence is the catalyst that makes it take shape. Your eyeballs conjure it into being. That's how a story often works for me."

  • Sid Aaron Hirji10 months ago

    A very daunting experience to be vulnerable in story telling

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Great idea to go with your first Vocal piece. I couldn't come up with anything for my first writing piece, so I skipped this one. I like how you talk about having no "me" in the story. I'll have to check it out.

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Love this! You’re writing style is like mine. I love that you used the word daunting, that and undaunted are my favorite words. I remember learning them after reading Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane when I was nine. Anyway, point is I enjoyed this piece! Very well written!

  • Ian Read10 months ago

    You have certainly come a long way. Now you are among my favorites on here. 😀

  • Laura Lann10 months ago

    Western dragons were originally used in literature as a symbol of men's sins, later becoming a symbol of men's greed and lust, so your use of a dragon is spot on! This history is why in traditional tales dragons are always slain

  • I'm so glad you are braver now than you were before. Your fiction has a very unique style that I really love!

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    You have grown a lot since that story, there are great writers here to learn from, and you learn during research for a story. Thankfully my first piece was a poem, I came after the Black book challenge, but I remember it. That was really brave of you. Great and honest summary. Good luck.

  • Sian N. Clutton10 months ago

    The scenery doesn't even exist until you draw closer to it - Wow, how perfectly put. Also: Wouldn't want to splash me everywhere - brilliant, especially after reading your piece about how you bleed on the page, sorry I can't remember what it was called. But you should put the link at the bottom of the page. And your little black book entry too.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I started vocal during the same challenge and went through the same difficulties. It was an absolute mess of a story 😅. Mainly because I switched the tense back and forth trying to rush through it. And yes, I submitted it. Fixed it all later though. Otherwise, the story was just okay. You have definitely honed into your craft and consistently churn out gems! Heres to creating! 🍻🍻🍻

  • Brin J.10 months ago

    I liked that sentence: It lacks me. Three little words so on point. I feel it.

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    I’ve noticed that writing doesn’t get easier. I thought it would, the more I do it, but different things keep getting more difficult and new challenges keep appearing. For a while I was frustrated, then I came to hope that meant I was improving and I can see that in the quality of stories I create. Certainly I don’t bleed on the page, but the way you do it is intoxicating! I believe your bio says that your stories are almost like being nude, baring yourself to the audience and that really comes through :) I always enjoy reading your creations ❤️

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.