Writers logo

Word of the Day - Exogenous

An inaugural celebration of fancy-schmancy words.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
15
Word of the Day - Exogenous
Photo by Raphael Schaller on Unsplash

As a long-time logophile (lover of words) I've been itching to do this for a while.

You agree with me, right? Words are fascinating. Where would you or I be without them? They are the most versatile tools; they can be paintbrushes or knives. They can be sharp; they can soothe. They might be what separates us from animals. They can have an intriguing history.

I've always loved words. Reading, writing, word games, wordplay. Make them rhyme, play with alliteration, look up new or long words in the dictionary. At school, "large vocabulary" was a staple phrase on my report.

What makes a word stand out?

Sometimes one just jumps off the page at me and makes me smile. Sometimes because I don't know what it means, and I like that in a word. Other times, it might be hard to pronounce. That commends respect, I feel. Sometimes, I do know what it means - but it's obscure, or long. I'm drawn to words that are tricky to read or spell, or hard to pronounce.

Sometimes, a word sounds poetic, evocative, or funny. Maybe it's an onomatopoeia. (For the record, I love the word onomatopoeia.)

Or I might like it because it has an interesting back-story, like a superhero in a comic book. (Or a villain, just saying.) Could be it's just a high scoring word in Scrabble.

And then we've got meanings. Sometimes, I like what it means. Some words don't just mean two or more things - sometimes you can come across a word that is its own antonym - the opposite of itself. Oversight. Buckle. Dust. I especially like Cleave. In case you don't know (and sorry if you do) the word for that kind of word is contranym.

Just take a second to consider that - even words have words to describe them. There is a word for everything, and if you can't find one in English, look at another language - German is a good one. When the Germans don't have a word for something, they bolt together existing ones into Frankenwords. I like that. It shows ingenuity and gumption.

My question to you: What do you like in a word?

I don't know how often I will do this. I have a few in the bank at the moment. Just because it's a Word of the Day doesn't mean it has to happen every day. Maybe some days don't get a word. Sucks to be those days, I guess. Maybe I'll collate several and post less often. Who knows.

Often, I'll use words I find when reading pieces by other Vocal writers, but not always.

If I have to stop and go and look up what the word means, it's almost guaranteed that it will make it to my word of the day list.

Word of the Day - Exogenous

I stumbled across it reading "Vocal, you are such a tool" by Lilly Cooper

The most valuable tools a writer has is their imagination and curiosity. Everything else, skills and experience, will follow. Of course, the exogenous tools we have access to help us along with gaining that skill and experience.

Why I like it: It's a very fancy-sounding word that almost (but not quite) rhymes with sausages. Let me tell you, it is extremely hard for a word to do that and be fancy, and yet this one manages it.

If you are unfamiliar with this beaut, Google says,

Dictionary

Definitions from Oxford Languages ·

exogenous

/ɛkˈsɒdʒɪnəs,ɪkˈsɒdʒɪnəs/

adjective

having an external cause or origin.

"technological changes exogenous to the oil industry"

BIOLOGY

growing or originating from outside an organism.

"an exogenous hormone"

PSYCHIATRY

(of a disease or symptom) attributable to an agent or organism outside the body.

"exogenous depression"

+

There you have it - having an external cause or origin.

Go forth and use it!

+++++++

Thank you for reading! Leave me a comment so I can easily reciprocate. Give me your little black heart, and I'll love you forever.

If you're thirsty for more...

I recommend:

ShoutoutInspiration
15

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor3 months ago

    Fabbo piece. Love it and am now committed to using exogenous and sausages in my next attempt at poetic expression

  • Sandra Tena Cole3 months ago

    Really fantastic! Looking forward to learning more from you ❣️

  • Out of everything that you wrote here, I only have one question. Why isn't logophile a lover of logos? 🤣🤣🤣

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Exogenous cholesterol vs endogenous... ya that word I read lots-great piece

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Have you joined it with endogenous? I exist, to my shame, a monolingual poverty, but this week I've been driving the "orientale sarda" - I've come to realise this means the eastern road. Which has changed my understanding of using the word oriental.

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Made me laugh and thoughtful - perfect combo?

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    Hehe, I got a good laugh. Darn sausages. But I daresay 'ostriches' rhyme better. Are they as fancy tho? A pity that you did not mention its counterpart 'endogenous'

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    This is an interesting word, I wonder if I'll be able to find a space for it somewhere... And what I like about words is always whether or not I personally have fun saying them. I can't think of any off the top of my head, but sometimes just the feel of saying a word makes me smile

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Quite possibly my favorite subject, though the etymology of words is just slightly above it, for me. 💕 I plan to return with words and more thoughts on this piece!!

  • What a brilliant article and question posed! Ever since I first heard Erstwhile I’ve loved it… and now that I’m questioning WHY I love it… I realise it’s so simple 🙈 I can’t say “while” without smiling 🥰😁😇 And the “erst” introduction just sounds funny to me. Erstwhile. 😂 Love it!

  • Black hearts all around!! I loved this. Frankenwords are now my go to...I will see what can be meshed and smashed together to bring to you, a smile

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    I like to think of my vocabulary as my tool kit for my work 🥰 thanks for expanding mine today, L.C.!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.