Poets logo

The Process

If you have a "process", an algorithm, carefully constructing a story with reliable little blocks... then I love you. I envy you. You fascinate me. I have wondered if it's better, or worse, but I feel sure it's neither - just different. Maybe our "processes" are as unique as we are. But, one way or another... we all bleed, no? This is **my** process. Please be assured, the entire thing is metaphorical. A content warning is included, please proceed with caution.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
23
The Process
Photo by Valentin Salja on Unsplash

Additional content warning - the picture should give you an idea of what to expect. If you keep going, that's on you.

+

+

+

Last chance to back out.

+

+

+

I

make a gash

bleed

on to the page

bang away

at the keys

to pin ideas down

before they can escape

nailing them to the page

in a weird stigmata

of creative wossname

+

I

stand back

admire

the spatter.

critique

the fall of

each juicy droplet.

balance

on a knife edge

between perfecting and

preserving

unadulterated

authentic

expression

+

I

slash joyously

gurgling euphoria

eyes shine

teeth white

amongst red

soak in it

soak it in

+

or I

look down

dismay

meagre drops

stubborn black sludge

congealed ink

bleed damn you!

+

I

open myself

to you

grotesquely

look

but also

sorry

gross?

too much?

but then

the secret

you bleed too

just as red

+

I

cut

and cut

and cut

spinning

pain

catharsis

glorious

shower of red ink

drops of laughter

a thousand paper cuts

sigh

breathe

pulse

bleed

write

+++++++

Thank you for reading! I welcome your feedback. I do my best to reciprocate reads, so please leave a comment to make that easy for me!

The story behind the story: This is my raw and heartfelt attempt to describe what writing is like for me. I've used visceral imagery, because that is what writing is like for me. It can be messy and painful... and yet we glory in it, don't we?

If you enjoyed this poem, try this one:

Or if you like fiction, here's my most recent entry for the Tales Retold challenge (and it got a Top Story, which made my whole day!)

surreal poetryhow toCONTENT WARNING
23

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Your writing flows so well, drawing the reader in more and more with each line

  • Sarah urffer9 months ago

    This is awesome, Let the splash happen! I have so many times where it’s just like a gash just opened up and it was bleeding out so fast I felt I couldn’t keep up the speed to write it out fast enough. At the same time I’ve had thoughts for storylines that came in yet I had to just write down quickly the gist and come back to later. At times with poetry I’ll get lines that I’ll later tie together into something that works. If you’re not gushing out, are you truly feeling connected to your work? Somehow in reading this I switch(good old dyslexia) a few words around making it cut even deeper, awesome poem!

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Very vivid and painful to read - (I mean that in a good way)- I do think we all experience pain and process individually, but this is a good description which likely resonates with many writers!

  • I love that the poem is like a stabby stiletto , great work

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    An expert process of writing there, brings up the algorithms that really work. So well stated in the freeflow of blood verse ;)

  • This was great. Perfectly describes how it feels to struggle with getting something on the page.

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    That was visceral I love the imagery you choose for writing! It makes your process so shockingly clear! Messy business isn’t it? The art of creation

  • Deep!!! Very moving yet oddly motivating!!!

  • Phil Flannery9 months ago

    Yeah, I don't have a process as such. I have an idea, or take a challenge and throw it out there. I'm often surprised by what comes out. I got this.

  • Oh I absolutely loved how bloody this was! Brilliant work!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Oh, damn! I gotta put more blood on the page! Very motivating piece.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Sometimes, not writing is just as hard. Loved it, LC!

  • The Dani Writer9 months ago

    Sometimes...that's just what it feels like. Original writing!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome!!! Bold dark and bloody!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Sounds about right. I still need to bleed out a fairy tale. Ugh.

  • Jason McCoy9 months ago

    I am just starting to write for the first time in several years. This feels like my journey to begin the process again. Excellent piece! Thank you!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    You have to let your soul bleed to write what you feel.

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Dark and deep. Love it!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This. Was incredible. Honestly. Love it. And if people aren't doing this. especially when writing poetry...especially when writing autobiographical stuff...what are they actually doing? Well done LC!

  • Mohammed Darasi9 months ago

    I'm kinda like you. Capture the chaos before it disappears... then maybe it can be moulded into something hahaha. great and open poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.