Writers logo

Invisible Success

Not all success is visible.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Invisible Success
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

It was probably the best I’ve ever done in any competition in my life… for anything. So, it gives me immense pride.

I had entered the Launch Pad Prose Writing Competition with my short story “Darkness of the Ecuadorian Sunset.” I had entered this contest with different stories three times before. The first two times, nothing happened. The third time, I moved on to the second round which was a great feeling. And it was progress. But then nothing else. And the next round, the Top 100, that was when you would start to reap the benefits. That was when you’d get your story promoted to people in the industry.

So, I felt great about the progress. The goal was now to have more progress… the next goal was to crack into that Top 100. And that was what happened with this story on my next entry to the competition… I progressed further… Top 100. And then Top 50 after that! I wasn’t expecting to leap two more steps ahead! That was a feeling of elation right there!

The next round was the Top 10. I couldn’t hope to crack into that, right? That would be too much. Right? But I saw my story doing well so it was in the back of my head that it could happen. I promise I’m not trying to build anyone up for a let down here… this is just the natural progression of me telling a story. I didn’t make it to the Top 10. But what a feat for those 10 that did make it! They must be in a state of ecstasy! (Ecstasy comes after elation, right?)

In checking out the site, my short story was ranked at number 12 for all short stories in the past month. It appeared all the other stories on the list were from this competition. However, this competition was short stories and manuscripts. So, I don’t think that meant I was number 12 overall. But perhaps I was close! I feel strongly that I placed fairly high overall in this competition.

And for me that’s a huge win!

Because the big part about this competition, after winning of course, is trying to get noticed. Once they announce the winners, it’s likely the noticing will start. The competition will be promoting the Top 100 to agents, managers, producers, publishers, etc. (And more so once the strike is over.) And that’s what I’m hoping for. Hoping to get noticed. And if my story did so well, I’m feeling pretty good about that.

The competition is over for me… but the journey isn’t over. Something could still happen from this. And even if nothing ultimately happens… that’s okay. I saw progress. And that’s what I need to see as a writer.

I want to reach my ultimate goal. And why wouldn’t I want to get there right away, right? But of course it won’t happen that way. Rookies don’t win the championship… they don’t even always make the playoffs their first year. But progress is what I need. I know where I want to go. Progress shows me that I am heading there. So, I will chalk this one up in the win column. I need to keep progressing. So far that is what I have done and so I am proud of that.

It’s probably a good reminder for many writers. There are millions of writers trying hard to make it. There aren’t millions of opportunities. Any achievements are successes. Any progress you make individually… that’s success. There are few successes that are visible and tactile compared to the many invisible successes. But that doesn’t make them any less real. I cannot see the air but I breathe it every day.

I will cherish my invisible success. But I’m still gunning for that visible one. Some day. In the meantime, progress is the road. I will keep traveling it.

ProcessAchievements

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I love the noticing of the invisible success. Great reminder.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I loved everything about this article. Thanks for doing a follow up. We were all routing for you. This is a major win in a way. Not too many people can even say they've entered a contest of this caliber. I will be checking it out for next year. And I loved this insight, "There are millions of writers trying hard to make it. There aren’t millions of opportunities. Any achievements are successes." Congrats, Stephen!

  • Ah man, I'm so sorry your story didn't make it to the Top 10 🥺 Being ranked at 12 was soooooo close. But all progress is good progress right. All the best to you for everything that's coming your way!

  • Congratulations, Stephen! Twelfth seems pretty visible to me, especially when the top 100 get promoted in the business. Elated is great. I can only imagine what comes next for you.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I like your mindset! 👏 It’s definitely a journey Stephen. 😊 Well done!

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    That’s amazing progress! Well done! It always helps to look at where you were say3 years ago, and compare to where you’re at now. Then you appreciate your progress 🤗

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Now that is a major accomplishment! After trying and failing to move ahead in NYC Midnight competition I can understand why you feel so happy. Congratulations!

  • Luther9 months ago

    Nice work great stuff ❤️

  • You are getting closer ♥️💯✌️😉Step by step📝, thanks for sharing this, I'm interested now 👀

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Well done Stephen, it's very much deserved success whatever level you achieve - visible or otherwise! Very exciting for you, I have everything crossed 😁 Wise words... it's all about progress!

  • Stephen, this is so incredibly exciting. And no, you should not feel down about it at all. Congratulations on getting as far as you did and for sharing it with us. Thank you.

Stephen Kramer AvitabileWritten by Stephen Kramer Avitabile

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.