Writers logo

New Sci-Fi Story Published

I have a new Sci-Fi story published, which is an achievement for me, but it's also making me stop to think about my journey.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
32
New Sci-Fi Story Published
Photo by Derek Thomson on Unsplash

A new short story of mine was published in a publication! I’m ecstatic about this, as always, and wanted to share, as always. But I also had stopped to reflect on my writing journey with this one.

This marks my 5th short story to be published in two different publications. That was a big goal of mine, to start getting published. I wanted to get work in publications because, well, of course I want to… how great... but also because it lends itself to a larger goal of mine. To publish long works. Novels. Most publishers want to see that you have works in publications before considering publishing a novel of yours. So, this has been a step in that direction.

Additionally, just the other day, I received more amazing news. I had entered a separate short story into a competition and it has made it through several rounds, now into the Top 50. I hope it can keep moving on. I hope it can win, obviously. I hope something can come from this regardless of if it wins or moves on any further. And that’s always a possibility. Being in the Top 50 gives me exposure.

So, I have a lot of things I’m hopeful for. But… as I said… I reflected.

Yes, I want to reach my biggest goals. I want to reach my very large goals, my medium-large goals, my midsize-sedan goals… but when I think back to why I started writing in the first place… it was to create… and for people to read my work.

And that’s already happening!

I need to appreciate that. And I do appreciate that. I’ve posted on Vocal and Medium and have had quite a few people read my stories. I receive quite a few comments and I’m grateful for all of them. Because this is exactly what I’ve always wanted… to share my work. I have my stories appearing in publications… and people are reading those too. Many people I don’t even know. What a cool feeling!

This is what I wanted. To create, to share, for my stories to reach people. Yes, I want to reach as many people as possible. Yes, I want to attain my loftier goals. But I’m in the midst of accomplishing other goals I’ve had for a long time. I want to make sure to appreciate them… I’m in the center of it all happening right now. I am so appreciative of all the reads and all the comments… no matter the platform or publication. I am doing what I set out to do. I have to make sure to remember that. I have distances yet to travel, landmarks yet to reach, but all along I wanted to set out onto this road… and I’m on it!

This is just my little reminder to myself to stop and smell the flowers, I suppose. And to be thankful. I have a lot to be thankful for.

But, without further ado, I’d like to share for any of those who are interested in reading… my latest published story. “Language Barrier” is my 5th short story to be published… my 4th to be published on Sci-Fi Shorts.

I’ll also post the direct link in the comments. If you read it… I hope you enjoy it. And thank you for the support, as always.

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

Achievements
32

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    Aww, Naomi the language expert. I loved it. 🩷 When I was a kid, Ray Bradbury’s Dandelion Wine was a favorite book. I have to agree with the aliens on this one. Congrats on another great story being published. 🥂

  • Congratulations Stephen on your successes. I am happy for you and wish you many more.

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Read this earlier forgot to leave a heart and comment. Congratulations on your advancement. One step closer. Keep up the wonderful writing

  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Hey so proud of you! Read my latest? https://vocal.media/fiction/fuchsia-and-her-podcast

  • Huge congratulations Stephen and thank you for letting us share in the joy of your amazing news! ❤️✨👌🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Fantastic news. Congratulations and well done. Hopefully more to come! Great to see the TS too

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Bravo 👏🎉Congratulations on your great achievements and goals 💓

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Back to say Congratulations!!! 💖💖👏🏼

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Wow, how great Stephen! Stoked for you.

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    What an amazing journey!! Congratulations 😁

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    Congratulations! What a great achievement and you are doing amazing, be proud of yourself and your continuing journey

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    Congratulations! I'll give it a read. It's such a good feeling to have others select your work for a new home - I just got an email today that some of my poetry will be published in a zine :) What platform are you using for your author website? I think I need to make one, too.

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Hey, dude, congrats! That's a huge achievement! I'm really happy for you!

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Congratulations Stephen! Being published is certainly something to be proud about and I have no doubt that your novels will be successful. I'll get to this story soon!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Wanted to say, congrats on getting another story published, have yet to read it but excited for you and your successes. Also well done for this getting Top Story!

  • Well Done😉❤️🏆📝👍Congratulations on Your Top Story🎉

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    I love it when I read your celebratory stories! Yay! Congratulations on another victory! You deserve it. 🎉👏🏼

  • Dandelions! Who would have thought, lol! I enjoyed your story so much! Naomi would like your story too! Oh and congratulations! You're on a roll!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    That is incredible, well done you! Tim Minchin says to dream big, but not to be so hyperfocused on the long-term goal that you miss the shiny thing in the corner of your eye. The shiny thing also has value 😁

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Congrats!! Proud of you!!

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Great accomplishment and I’m sure it’s only the beginning.👍

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Congrats! And I will be grading them very soon... ;)

  • ✍️ Intrigued by your prologue, I read your post and was fascinated by your vision. Congratulations on your publications! I am sending myself a link to this page to return, then travel to more of your works. I have a hectic work schedule and will often be away from Vocal, but I am cheering for you! 👏

  • Congratulations again, my friend, as "another one bites [the printing press for all it's worth]. I'll come back after reading the stories.

  • And the link to the story "Language Barrier" https://www.scifishorts.co/premium/language-barrier

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.