Writers logo

Dispersing The Tumbleweeds

Another Piece On When I Have No Idea What To Write

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published 7 months ago • 1 min read
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

The song is "Country Comfort" by Elton John from the album "Tumbleweed Connection", seen by some as his best-ever album.

I know I have written many times about having nothing to write about and today I was in that situation once more. I think the weather was not inspirational and there was nothing there, it was definitely tumbleweed time once more.

But Often Things Happen Unexpectedly To Inspire Us

And today was no exception to that. It was my first day back at work after a holiday in Settle so there was work catch-up, but that was actually quite easily dealt with.

I do run jobs that take time, but have to be watched in case they fail, and that is usually the time that the ideas come when I am working. Then I flesh them out when I go on walks and at lunchtime or after work I finally put my finger to the keyboard and the words start flowing, but today that was not happening.

However a call this afternoon blew away the tumbleweed in my brain, talking over lots of interesting things including cats and advent calendars and that then set the cogs turning. first of all, inspiring a poem and then this piece.

I still can't think of any fiction to write and I have put enough entries into the only Vocal challenge going, "Identity". I might use some of Vocal's prompts later that you can find here.

As I am writing this I am listening to Hank Williams, and music is also an inspiration. When it plays I find it much easier to write than in silence, although there are times when I need quiet to create.

If you don't know Hank Williams, he was rock and roll before rock and roll existed, below is one of my favourites of his.

Conclusion

Sometimes, you know, the ideas won;t come, but never panic, because something will happen that will make your words flow. That happened to me today.

Writer's BlockVocalPromptsInspirationAdvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ ♫

X ÖŽ In ÖŽ YT (0.2m) ÖŽ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les ♥ Gina ♥ Heather ♥ Caroline ♥

Babs ♥ ROCK ♥ Dhar ♥ Cathy ♥ Judey ♥ Anna ♥

Daphsam ♥ Misty ♥ Melissa ♥ Ma Coombs ♥

Carol ♥

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Lol, no worries, I don't panic when the ideas don't come because I know how Mr Brain is like. I would only panic if I have the need to write daily and that would stress me out, lol. So glad you included those prompts!

  • Or it won't, & that's okay too. May our lack of inspiration in those times inspire us to something else.

  • Daphsam7 months ago

    Ugh, that stinks when that happens. Thank you for your links to prompts! I will take a look at those when it hits me.

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.