Writers logo

Always A Writer

Vocal Writer Community Challenge

By KJ AartilaPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Always A Writer
Photo by Meelika Marzzarella on Unsplash

As long as I can remember, I’ve been writing stories, but one of the first that I remember, was for our daily journal writing assignment in fifth grade. It was around Thanksgiving and I wrote about a turkey hiding as a rock so he wouldn’t be eaten. I didn’t have time to finish the story, as was par for the course for me. I wrote a lot of unfinished stories. Still do. But my teacher loved it. She encouraged me to finish it, and even pointed out my writing affinity to my parents. They didn't seem so impressed.

I didn’t finish the story, but I do remember fondly that it was appreciated by my favorite teacher.

In Junior High, we were assigned to write a short story containing dialogue. My teacher greatly disliked what I wrote, and I lost faith in my ability to write, though I never lost an ounce of my love for the written word. I devoured books.

In Highschool, we were assigned to write a short story based on action. My friend excelled, though she was an academic, not a writer. We both wrote about horses. She aced the assignment, I got a C and bad criticism from the teacher.

That same year, we were scheduled to take the Standardized Testing, as per state requirements. I scored in a very high percentile (98th maybe?) for language skills. The school counselor was very excited about it. So was I. He even called my parents in for a conference to acknowledge it, and discuss the options available. I don’t know what those were. Nothing came of it.

I stopped writing for years. I got too busy, and it didn’t seem very important, anyway. I picked it up again around thirty, when I was going through some very turbulent times and needed to make sense of it all. I began writing poetry. It was really awful, but I was inspired. Instead of quitting, I found friends and a group to help me improve, which I did.

Then I found Vocal, and have improved to the point of writing my first Novella, and publishing many short stories, personal essays and poems.

My mom claims I started reading and writing when I was as young as three years old. I don’t remember, it’s just always been a part of my life. Even after many discouraging events along the way, I have no intention of stopping now. Only improving.

LifeChallenge

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    I'm glad you didn't give up. You're great!

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    Oh, I had something similar! A teacher absolutely DESTROYED my love of poetry by severely marking one I put a lot of effort into. I am so glad you took it on the chin and kept writing! The alternative is still trying to repair your relationship with poetry as an adult haha! Brilliant little account!

  • I'm so happy you kept writing despite your teacher not liking your story!

  • Let there be no more entertainment of discouragement, KJ. There is no doubt in my mind, you are a writer--& a gifted one at that.

  • Such a gorgeous piece about your growth as a writer

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    When I was about five years old, I had the wildest and move vivid imagination. My grandmother urged me to write things down. (Yes, my mom had me printing words by the time I was four) I wrote gibberish but as time passed, and I grew, my writing improved. I've only had one book published but I've many shorts printed in various mags. Never lose faith.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Excellent story. I am glad you didn't give up. I feel the same as you, in that I just want to improve and Vocal has helped me do that.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    What an amazing tale of grit, congrats on never giving up 😍

KJ AartilaWritten by KJ Aartila

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.