Writers logo

A Christmas Miracle

Unofficial Vocal Community Challenge

By Mother CombsPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
A Christmas Miracle
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

The Christmas Season. A time to put up the tree and the lights and to celebrate. The time of year for giving. The time of year to expect miracles. A time for family and close friends. A time for office parties and block parties. A time to be merry and jolly.

Christmas is a depressing time of the year for many folks. It will be a sad time for me this year, too. I have too many empty chairs at my table this year. I am thankful that I didn’t have to add another empty chair yet this year, don’t get me wrong.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

I want to challenge my readers to write me a Christmas Miracle story prompt. I will judge three categories for this challenge, whether poetry, fiction, or nonfiction is fine. The rules are:

  • Each writer is allowed up to three entries. One is in poetry, one is in fiction, and one is in nonfiction—more than one cannot be entered into the same category.
  • Write me a story concerning a Christmas Miracle of some sort. The article can involve any miracle as long as it is a Christmas-themed tale.
  • Use the name of the prompt in the subtitle, please.
  • Please tag the story somewhere in your tale so that others may see and be blessed this Holiday Season by our storytelling.
  • Leave the link to your entry in the comments of this article.
  • All entries are to be received by December 19, 2023.
  • I will post my favorite poems by Christmas Day, 2023, depending on how slow Vocal decides to be about accepting my submission. I will select the top two from each category and include three honorable mentions.

That is it. That is all I will need you to do. The hard part is on you all, writing the stories.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Tis the season to hang the holly

All the while being jolly

Caroling Silent Night

Setting up the colored lights

Finding the right tree

Digging out the Nativity menagerie

Going to seasonal sales

Watching the winter gales

Hoping for fair skies

Watching as time flies

Drinking warm teas

Hoping for news from overseas

Going to office parties

Attending Christmas festivities

Waiting up for Santa Claus

Donating to some cause

Going to Grandma’s house

Making a gingerbread house

Jesus is the reason

For the season

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

The following Christmas poems are just to get you into the mood for the season. When you read them, please leave a comment to spread the Christmas cheer.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

A poem by Carol Townend is about a tree that walks out on Christmas.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Another by Carol Townend about Christmas memories.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Babs Iversons Blue Haikus about Christmas tree decorations.

VocalWriting ExerciseWriter's BlockPromptsInspirationCommunityChallenge

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Mother Combs (Author)7 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/a-tree-for-dad-a-tale-of-tree-trimming-turmoil

  • Great challenge & chance to encourage others. Your sweet poem covered many aspects of Christmas... culminating in "Jesus is the reason for the season." Loved it.

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Great idea. Christmas miracles are everywhere. I will look for some.

  • Test7 months ago

    Thinking cap on! I will defo see if I can think of something. Lovely challenge for this time of year x

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    This is such a wonderful idea and I enjoyed your poem :) Great way to lift spirits during what can be a very emotional time of year.

  • I will try my hand at this.

  • Perfect prompt a wonderful way to begin the holiday season

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Miracle happen everyday this Challenge 👍🏽👍🏽🎄I love your beautiful poem. ❤️

  • A miracle huh. Does it have to only be good or happy miracles? How about someone wishing another person death and that person dies on Christmas and it's a miracle because it's a wish come true. Does that fit your criteria of miracle?

  • Test7 months ago

    This is so beautiful!

  • D. A. Ratliff7 months ago

    What a wonderful prompt! Looking forward to this!

  • Penelope Jane7 months ago

    My mom always made a point to remind us that for some people Christmas is the hardest time of the year, that so many people are alone on Christmas. Thank you for channeling her.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Lovely ideal. and your poem is beautiful.

  • I LOVE CHRISTMAS STORIES,

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.