Wander logo

What is Normal

What's normal to you may not be normal to me

By NightPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What is Normal? So this thought came as I was debating on whether I should keep my hair blue or change the color. I was thinking back for my friends and those close to me would always be taken back a bit when my hair wasn't blue. For blue hair has become my normal. You would think having my hair its natural brown would be more normal but for those around me.

So then back to the question of what is normal. From what I have gathered normal is the accepted customs of those in an area or group. As well normal can change over time.

So if we look through time in the 1950's it was normal for a man to work to provide finances for the home and the woman took care of the home it's self including children, both parts of that were hard work. As time changed nowadays that is more uncommon than normal. Both parents working and taking care of the house is more normal nowadays.

Or even children born out of wedlock was something that was frowned upon but is now accepted and pretty common. Also, it was normal to have a set or single encyclopedia(s) in your home, mind you this was pre-internet days, but now it's pretty uncommon to have one for we have a device that can look up anything quickly.

Google Definition of normal:

conforming to a type, standard, or regular pattern: characterized by that which is considered usual, typical, or routine normal working hours under normal circumstances It was just a normal, average day. He had a normal childhood. Their reaction to the news was normal and expected.

-sited from google.com on march

As well as use and possibly overuse the word normal, take a second to think what is normal for you may not be for someone else or in a different place.

For instance here in America where I live it's common for someone to own a gun, to my friends overseas in England they have told me no one owns a gun over there, as if it's an unheard of thought. To each, it's simply the normal of both places.

Other things to look at and consider is the different dites of the world or just different cultures around where you live. For example, I grew you with scrambled eggs, french toast, fruit, and other sweets for breakfast. Other cultures have foods that are less or not sweet like miso soup but hold far more nutritional value. Some cultures may have restrictions of what they eat such as no pork, vegetarians, and vegan to name a few things, but each of these is normal to that person group or region of people.

Or that where I live hunting is normal and so is eating wild game such as dear and even if you don't hunt is some areas the meat can be available the buy. there are a lot of places where that is not common or normal at all.

Weather is one of the biggest things that normal reagin. I remember when I lived in California it was a hot dry heat there. I'm from Michigan where we have all 4 seasons and each is different from snow to rain and so forth. Most of my friends in California had never seen snow nor did they know what humidity felt like, for it was not their normal weather for them.

For me it was not my normal to fall and not see all the trees change color, some did in California but not too many.

So as you go about the rest of the day think about the things you consider normal and not normal, as well as where they might be normal.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Night

Trying to have fun while writing about all the things I love. My biggest challenge with this is that I grew up with a writing and spelling disability, so this is something that I thought I would never be able to do. Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.