Wander logo

Top Five San Diego Coffee Shops

Find your newest caffeination destination with this guide!

By Emily JanePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Top Five San Diego Coffee Shops
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I'm going to say that it's safe to assume that you are reading this because either:

A: You are a hopeless caffeine addict

or

B: You are living in/visiting San Diego and need a new spot

or

C: Both

With that said, I have a list of five of my personal favorites in all of San Diego county!

1. Moniker Coffee Co., Point Loma

Moniker Coffee Co.

Moniker is absolutely, hands down, my favorite coffee spot in San Diego County. Located inside of Liberty Market, this gem introduces lifestyle and home goods, furniture, craft coffee and cocktails in one large community space. The atmosphere is perfect for people watching and relaxing with your friends over toast and your favorite coffee. This is also a great place to kick back with a glass of wine and spend some time with your face buried in a book. I'm going to add this for those of us that are students, this is where I wrote a good majority of my thesis! So there is definitely an added sentimentality in it for me.

The people behind the brand are incredible, welcoming and intentional, with community being their driving point. I highly recommend you stop in next time you're in the area, or even take the drive down! With the rest of Liberty Station waiting just outside, the options here are endless. You won't regret it.

Check out their Instagram!

2. Camp Coffee, Oceanside

Camp Coffee Company

Oceanside, as my hometown, is near and dear to my heart. With that said, I'm so glad to see the coffee scene expanding in my neighborhood! It is so refreshing to walk in and be met with smiles from the crew (even if this is being written in COVID times - trust me, they're smiling!) Quality, local coffee, vegan donuts and a unique flare make this a can't miss coffee shop.

One of my favorite things about this shop is just how close it is to the beach. I'm always a fan of stopping in in the morning and making my way down to the sand to go for a walk on days where I can get out of the house before work. I recommend trying their tribute latte, with orange oil and their incredible house-made vanilla bean syrup (I like it with oat milk!) If that's not your style or you like black coffee, their cold brew is also delicious.

I can promise you that you will leave feeling uplifted with a great drink in hand. Camp Coffee is nothing short of phenomenal and I look forward to going back soon!

Take a look at their Instagram :-)

3. Communal Coffee, North & South Park, San Diego

North Park

South Park

You can't go wrong with either of these locations. Seriously. It's worth the hunt for a parking spot!

With that said, I'm here for the whole experience. Coffee? Check. Flowers? Also check. Vibes? Check check.

It's not often that I can make the trek down here, but it's made such a lasting impression on me that I can't help but anticipate the next time I get to come down. I've written my fair share sitting in the North Park location and simultaneously found myself in awe of how such a place can feel so much like home with so many people sitting around you.

Should you make your way in (it would be a mistake not to,) I would highly recommend you try their vanilla bean latte, or if you're a floral lover, their lavender honey latte is to die for. With that said, if coffee isn't your thing then guess what? ICED. CREAMSICLE. Enough said.

Something that stands out about Communal is their retail! You can find plenty of local goods, from beauty balm, to candles to chocolate. I also adore their flowers. Just trust me on this one and check it out.

Their Instagram is a whole aesthetic, take a peek!

4. Revolution Roasters, Oceanside

Revolution Roasters

Alright, another hometown winner here. These guys are experts in making you feel invited and have such an obvious passion for what they do. Top-quality coffee is standard and you can expect nothing less from this one. Revolution roasts their own coffee weekly, and guess what? They make their syrup from scratch! They might not have a ton of seating inside, but their patio is also a great place to relax with the ocean air around you!

Stopping in will probably mean you're met with a few beards and sleeves, but let's be real, these guys know what they're talking about when it comes to coffee. Of all of the coffee shops in San Diego, I will always know this to be one of my long time favorites!

Good vibes only on their Instagram.

5. Baba Coffee, Carlsbad

Baba Coffee

Coffee. Heaven.

I don't think there is a single thing on their menu that I haven't liked. When I say there's something for everyone on this menu, I mean everyone. Take a look at their menu and you'll see what I'm talking about! Naturally, there's coffee and pastries, of course! But then we're talking about their incredible acai bowl, mimosas, craft beer, smoothies and milk alternatives galore. These guys are true to those local roots, serving Pannikin Coffee and Pastries, Prager Brothers Bread and VG Donuts. If you're not convinced yet then I suggest you stop in for a pick me up, any time of day!

One of my favorite cozy details about this place is the fact that they have blankets! Maybe I'm crazy, but I run pretty cold and this is something that I wouldn't hate seeing incorporated in more businesses if I'm being honest. There aren't enough words to describe how much I adore Baba for everything they are. I promise, you can't go wrong here!

Check out the smiles on their Instagram :-)

Alright! This completes my personal list of favorites throughout San Diego.

Are you convinced? Where will you be visiting first? Whatever you choose, you won't be disappointed!

list
1

About the Creator

Emily Jane

San Diego born and raised with a passion for exploring the community! Follow me for more insight on the best spots in all of San Diego and other random findings along the way!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.