Wander logo

Memories of Qatar

for the Write Me a Letter Challenge by Heather Hubler

By Lynda SpargurPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
7

This is a response to Heather Hubler's Write Me a Letter Challenge. Heather, my new old friend, I hope you enjoy.

My dearest friend,

I hope this letter finds you well. It has been too long since we last spoke and by the time you read this, I will have moved on from my current location in Zimbabwe. My travels have taken me around the world leading me to places I never thought I would visit, people I never thought I would know, and activities I never thought I would do. However, I often think fondly of our adventures in Qatar as this was the beginning of my journey and you were a major part of that. I still remember your encouraging words pushing me to follow my dreams. Do you remember that trip?

That was one of the longest flights of my life from Los Angeles to Qatar. Remember how I got stuck in the bathroom? I swear the lock was broke before I went in, the knob just fell off in my hand. LOL I can still picture the dirty looks people were giving me after the door was opened. It was no bed of roses for me, it doesn’t smell so nice in there you know. You slept through my emergency not even realizing I was gone for an hour.

Nonetheless, we survived the flight and landed in Doha. Do you remember the panic on our faces when we realized we were under dressed? We scrambled through the airport to find a shop where we could purchase headscarves and long-sleeved blouses. The shopkeeper was amazingly nice. He was so kind, allowing us to change in his office. All the people there were so kind and hospitable. It was nice to converse with them in English since neither of us took the time to learn any Arabic. We were young and stupid and thought that everyone spoke English. How naive we were back then.

It was so fun to walk around the Souq Waqif in Doha. The sights, sounds, and smells were so foreign back then. I loved the way the music wafted in and out through the shops and hallways. And you! You ate so many luqaimat I thought you would burst. They were very good. The food there was so tasty and fresh.

I’d never eaten cardamom before, but I really like it. Not too keen on the vine leaves of the warak enab, but the meat and rice inside was delish! Do you still have the jewelry we bought? I have my necklace. Though I lost my bracelet years ago. Maybe I should go back and buy another? I’m a little sad that my travels haven’t taken me back as of yet.

Ah, I’m getting nostalgic. It’s too hot to go right now. I’ll have to wait until November or December. Maybe I will go back to Khor Al Adaid beach. Do you think the fishing is still good? Remember we stayed the night? We had the tent but neither of us wanted to sleep inside, so we laid on the sand and watched the stars and the moon reflecting on the waters. At least we did until the tide went out. That was definitely creepy. I thought we were about to get hit with a tsunami but that’s just what happens in that area.

It was amazing being so close to nature like that. We went snorkeling and you swallowed so much water! Though we still saw lots of fish and a few turtles too. I was excited to see the flamingos as well. Oh, and the gazelles! And the bigger ones, what were they called? Oryx! We both kept calling them Arabic Antelope. LOL Again, naïve and uninformed.

What an adventure we had. How many people can say they’ve seen a falcon, let alone held one? We can! Or watched camels or horses running through the sand? If I close my eyes, I can still see the tents of the Bedouins in the distance.

There are so many things I wish to talk about with you, but they are calling my flight. What are you doing this Winter? Shall we meet in the sands of Qatar? We can kayak through the mangroves of Purple Island or fly high above the desert in a hot air balloon. How I yearn to see you my friend and relive the days of our youth. Will the memories be the same? Probably not, but we can make some new memories.

I’ll write again when my plane lands and send you an address to reply. Think about it please and if the answer is no, at least we have our memories.

Yours in friendship,

Lynda

solo travelmiddle eastfemale travel
7

About the Creator

Lynda Spargur

Screenwriter, Author, Creative Writer

Writer, dreamer, creator of new imaginary souls. Using my experiences to develop a better future. Crime stories, baseball and The Beach Boys are my passions.

Authors I love:

Tony

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    The letter brilliantly expresses the spirit of travel: unexpected adventures, treasured memories, and friendships that last over time and space.

  • What a lovely letter, inviting all of us to join in your adventures, mishaps & friendship. Well done.

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Oh, this was wonderful! You pulled me right in, and it really felt like I'd been on that trip with you. I enjoyed this so much :) Thank you for entering this lovely piece.

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    This piece makes me miss Doha, too. I absolutely loved the souqs there. Good article!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.