Wander logo

Jerusalem be-still my heart

Memories from my summer spent in Israel. With Love

By sara burdickPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
2

Today I arrived in Jerusalem about 3 hours ago. The trip from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem was so easy; the transportation here is terrific. I took a bus, train, and tram and realized I had to drop some dead weight. My backpack is too heavy.

Besides that, I enjoyed the train journey, and we passed through the countryside and then arrived. As soon as I stepped outside of the train station, I almost broke down into tears. The feeling, the smell, the instant feeling that all is well in the world.

Is that how one of the most religious areas in the world makes you feel?

Two worlds that have blended to create the perfect harmony. Coffee shops are full of people enjoying an afternoon drink and a smoke. As I walked to my hostel, I was apprehensive about finding the place as I received a message that it was tough to see. In my head, I thought and prayed that it would not be that difficult, and it wasn’t.

The directions provided were the best I have ever had, and I made two turns and saw it. Yet again, when alignment happens, it flows easily from something so simple as finding my hostel.

Once I dropped my bags, I went to explore, to see the area and at least get my bearings on where I will spend the following week.

I chose not to go to the old part of town today, as I was not dressed appropriately. I will plan that later this week. The people here are kind and helpful.

Plus my sister is giving me all the tips to do since she does not arrive for another week.

After I spoke with my sister today, telling her how happy I am in Jerusalem, she has been sending me a ton of tours and markets to visit!

So this trip may end up being my prayer adventure after all.

I will go to the Wailing Wall and The Holocaust Museum, the Walled City, and the Markets this week.

I spoke with the receptionist at my hostel, who said his favorite thing to do here is wander the streets exploring. So that is precisely what I did, and then I found dinner.

A falafel pita, I ate as I sat and watched the old world mix with the new — some girls with long skirts and others in shorts. An old man was singing in the street as the night began.

The twilight hour is always my favorite.

Did I mention I love Jerusalem? It is amazing!

I wrote this story about five months ago on my visit to Israel. I would never imagine they would be now at war. Israel felt intense when I was there and I have spent half the day worried for those I met along the way.

As the tension rises all over the world I pray for peace but I am afraid there are some who will not rest until their enemy is destroyed. It is a not only a sad time for Israel but for all people who pray for peace all over the world.

I too wonder was this the tipping point that may spark the next major war?

XOXO

S.

Follow me on my YouTube channel where I have shared my journey around Israel. It was a magical experience and one that I will never forget.

solo travelmiddle eastfemale travel
2

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Israel’s awesome! I was there 💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.