Wander logo

16 Reasons Why Georgia is the Perfect Country for Digital Nomads

Within the past two years, I have been looking for a home incognito.

By sara burdickPublished 7 months ago 8 min read
Like
Abandoned Georgian Spa

Which is why I came to Georgia. Before the Russian-Ukraine war, it was already on the radar as one of the best spots to relocate.

Since the war started, it has only increased in popularity, mainly with the neighboring countries, but also for Western digital nomads. First, I do not consider myself a digital nomad; however, we will use the term for the article, as it is in vogue for now.

A digital nomad is someone who works and travels. That is the short, sweet definition.

So why is Georgia the perfect country for digital nomads?

Scenic Nature

Ushguli, Georgia

The Caucasus Mountains surround the country to the north, with at least 85% covered in mountains. In almost any town or city, you will see a mountain range in the distance.

If you are a nature lover, especially climbing tall peaks, check out Mount Shkhara, the highest mountain peak on the Georgia/Russian border.

Georgia has all four seasons.

Coming from North America, I am used to living in a country with four seasons. I only realized how much I miss the warm summers and the cooler falls once I spent time in two of the four seasons.

The snow in Mestia will cure the winter blues while you are skiing down the side of the mountain. If you avoid snow, you can make Tbilisi your base, where the winters are mild, or you can live in Batumi on the Black Sea with a low of only 7 °C (45 °F).

Three International airports

It’s a big plus for a country so small. If you want to get in and out of the country accessible, you can fly from the smaller airport in Kutaisi or Batumi for a quick, inexpensive trip to Europe.

Tbilisi is the biggest of the international airports, yet they both have tons of flights in and out, which explains the explosion of tourism here within the past few years.

Affordable prices

I have mostly stayed in hostels and guesthouses here and have been able to keep my monthly costs less than 1200. Yet if you choose to rent an apartment in Tbilisi and want to be in the city center, it will be more expensive than living in a smaller city such as Kutaisi.

However, it can be done if you are good on a budget; you can live here for less than 2k. I am being generous, as I did not live in one place, so my costs are much different.

You can get an apartment outside the city center for $300 a month, but in the city, they will run from $500 to 800, depending on the area. You could find one for less, but I did not look. You can reduce your costs if you buy food and cook at the local markets.

Some days, my food costs were less than $5, especially when I was cooking at home and shopping locally.

A Generous One Year visa

As a US citizen, you can stay in Georgia for a year, and when the year is up, you can hop over a border and return for another year. It is the same for almost all nationalities; I have not met anyone in Georgia who only has a limited time.

The visa is very generous, and if you want to start an LLC and run a business here, you can apply at immigration. I met a traveler who is moving here, and he said it took him a day.

He is buying a property soon, and all on a tourist visa. He did pay taxes here and told me they were very affordable compared to other countries.

Amazing food

Eggplant walnut rolls

The Georgians know how to cook. The best food you will have is at someone’s house or a local cook. However, the restaurants are excellent as well.

It is very bread and cheese-heavy, but also lots of fresh fruits and veggies. However, when you are here, you must try the following:

  • Khinkali (dumplings)
  • Khachapuri (a specialty dough with cheese)
  • Eggplant Walnut Rolls (a cold appetizer and vegetarian)
  • Ostri (hot and spicy beef stew)

Just to name a few!

Tbilisi’s nightlife

I hear the nightlife is good. I, of course, did not go out, but a guy in my hostel was out all night and proclaimed it was terrific! So there is a bar/nightlife scene.

As well as in the Facebook groups, there are always meetups at clubs, which leads me to believe you will have a great time.

Multiple parks in every city

Every city I have been in has had a big central park, plus in Tbilisi, there are several. All clean and well maintained, and you will always see people hanging out drinking beer and usually playing chess or checkers.

Good WIFI in the cities

I have had no issues with wifi in the major cities. However, if you want to be more remote, like anywhere, the wifi is not the greatest.

However, most Digital Nomads usually live in cities, and you will be fine; plus, there are several co-working spaces in Tbilisi with fantastic wifi. If you want to go more rural, buy a SIM.

I had a GeoCell that worked perfectly in Mestia.

Georgia is safe

I have been wandering the streets at night by myself, recording and having my phone out. I have never once felt unsafe, and no one I have met has said they feel unsafe.

On the contrary, we all talk about how safe it is here, and I have been told it is one of the safer countries. , However, I have been harassed by men, but that happens worldwide.

No one has been robbed that I have met, and when you compare this to a country such as Colombia. Almost everyone you meet (except me and a few others I know ) has been robbed.

Immersed in history

The history here is so intense, and it is everywhere. You can find abandoned soviet union buildings to explore or go to the birthplace of Stalin.

This country has seen so much war, and you can learn something new around every corner. I could live here for years and still not understand the country’s entire history. Plus, I would have to learn Georgian to understand the people and history fully.

The perfect adventure destination

Whether you are climbing a glacier in Mestia, climbing Mt. Kazbek (5047 meters above sea level), or simply getting on a marshrutka (minibus). You will be in for an adventure.

And if you are into abandoned buildings, Georgia gives an endless supply of them, from the town of Tskaltubo, once a pristine spa town that catered to Joseph Stalin, now in ruins and open to the public.

Fresh fruit/veg and most households are self-sustainable

I was talking to a friend the other day, and he said he went for dinner at a Georgian house. They produced everything from their garden or livestock, from the wine to the cheese.

The government encourages agriculture and everyone growing their fruits and veggies and having a cow to milk. I love this, and we need to return to it, as it is healthier and more affordable.

Kid/pet friendly

I am a huge animal lover, and dogs are all over the streets; they are homeless but well cared for. Also, the government fixes and vaccinates them against rabies; if you see a dog with a tag, they have been fixed and vaccinated.

Also, some people feed stray cats and dogs, and there is always food and water. Some even have little dog houses. Also, kids are running around everywhere, and they are well-behaved. They are playing and being kids.

Reliable City Transportation

If you live in one of the cities, you can rely on the public buses, and in Tbilisi, there is a metro station. Which is easy and will take you where you need to go.

If you need to leave the city, you can also take a bus, but they mostly go to the hot tourist spots. If you want to explore off the beaten path, you will need a car or hitchhike.

Religion

Georgia was the second country after Armenia to adopt Christianity as a religion, which means there are monasteries and churches all over Georgia.

If you are in Georgia on a Sunday, attend church and witness the chanting and singing. It is like being back in time and beautiful to see. The inside of the churches is breathtakingly beautiful. But remember to cover your head, shoulders, and knees!

I spent almost three months traveling around Georgia, and it was AMAZING. The country has so much to offer, and I barely scraped the surface of what Georgia has to offer.

I still have it on my list of countries that would be an excellent place to live, except for me; the two downsides are it is very far from my family, and learning Russian/Georgian seems nearly impossible.

But who knows what the future holds as I search for a permanent home.

XOXO

S

travel tipssolo travelfemale traveleurope
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.