Wander logo

5 Differences Between Japan and America

I studied abroad in Japan in August of 2017 and I had the time of my life. These are some of the differences I notices plus my thoughts I had about the wonderful country.

By jasmine jamesPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
This is とんテキ (tonteki) a Traditional Japanese dish

Japan is no doubt one of the most beautiful countries that you can visit. It is also one of the most interesting to visit, especially if you grew up in America. I say this because living in America, you grow accustom to certain things, most of which are completely different in Japan. Even the simple things such as parking is different in Japan. This was more than half of the reason why I wanted to go to Japan, the fact that it could be so vastly different from what I am used to interested me. I wanted to know first hand what made it so different. I came to find out that the differences were mainly the little things that people did in their day to day life. The things that one might not even realize they are doing.

1. The first and most obvious difference about Japan is the fact that they speak Japanese. You're probably thinking "wow so shocking," but I felt that since it was so obvious I had to throw it in the mix. This may or may not come as a shock to you but Japan is over 90% Japanese and when you arrive in Japan that will be instantly noticeable so the fact that they speak Japanese should not come as a shock. What might come as a shock though is the second difference that I noticed while abroad.

2. It is extremely easy (to my dismay) to get around Japan with only English. This may be shocking considering how Japan is mostly Japanese people and their native language is in fact Japanese. The reason it is so easy to get around is because Japanese schools (at least in the big cities) have it so the students start learning English in elementary school and continue all the way up until high school. After that, the student has the option to continue learning on their own or not. Because of this fact, most Japanese people have a basic understanding of English. This means that if a foreigner gets lost in Japan or needs help or is simply ordering in a restaurant, there is almost always someone around that can help out. Now I said that this was to my dismay because even though this was nice, it was kind of a bad thing for me. Since I was in Japan to learn English it was quite annoying for me to have people speak English to me. This happens quite a lot especially in places like Tokyo where most of the tourists are located. Japanese people just assume you do not know Japanese and try to speak to you in English. This is completely different from America. Here Americans just assume you know English right from the start. In America, we are not required to learn another language in elementary or middle school and in high school we have the option to study a language but some schools do not make it mandatory.

3. One of the smaller differences that I started talking about in the beginning was the fact that almost ALL Japanese people back into their parking spots. I found this so strange to me because in America most people pull straight in. Now obviously some people like to back in all the time in America but Japan takes this to a whole new level. I have been in parking lots where there wasn't a single car that was not backed in. In America there tends to be a mix. I know this isn't a big deal but it's something I honestly found strange and had to get used to. I feel that if I ever moved to Japan I would be looked at strangely because I would just pull in because that is what I am used to and I personally dislike backing in. #Teampullin.

4. In Japan, you have to take off yours shoes before walking into the house. There is even a little area at the front door of every house and apartment to leave your shoes at. This isn't too strange lots of people in America do this, what is different to me is the fact that they expect it from everyone even people who have never been to your house. Also if you are having a party shoe's off, shoes never enter a house on your feet. Most homes actually have slippers at the door ready for you when you enter the house. Oh and do not think about wearing those same house slippers into the toilet area because that requires a whole new set of slippers. To be honest, I like this because shoes scuff floors and make them dirty, I just found it extremely different because in America taking off one's shoes can be considered a bit strange to some people and even rude as well. Growing up I was raised to always ask if I could take off my shoes and that if people come in your home and just take off their shoes then that is a bit strange especially if they do not ask. So I did find this strange but at the same time it's nice because I always find it more relaxing when my shoes are off.

5. One of my all time favorite differences is the fact that the restaurants in Japan show an example of all their dishes on display. Most of them even have them outside so you can look at them before even walking into the establishment. I enjoyed this a lot because I usually do not know what I want and I flip through the menu quite a bit if the place is new to me. This helped me figure out exactly what I wanted before I even entered. The examples are also spot on when it came to what the food looked like. The food came out looking exactly like the examples. Here is a picture of an example.

A picture of a store example of what the food looks like.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.