Viva logo

Why Are All Men Right?

and all Women wrong?

By C. M. SearsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why Are All Men Right?
Photo by Napat Saeng on Unsplash

Why do my husband and I constanly battle about "who knows more"?

It's utterly rediculous how much he knows and how much I don't! According to him I have NEVER been right about anything! Why do men do that? Not that all men do, but all the men in my life do. I swear I can't remember a time that a man in my life actually "listened" to me. I have a ton of knowledge, but according to them, I am an idiot, but god help me if I say "oh, sorry I know I am just an idiot I guess" of course I am being a sarcastic bitch because they have now pushed me to the point of wanting to reach out and slap the sense into them!

Why do they ask a question only to shoot down EVERY ANSWER YOU GIVE??? This is a constant, and I have watched every husband around my friend circle do it to their wives as well...what the fuck is up with the "treat your wife like a dumbass" club? I wonder if they know what that eventually does to a confident woman? It eventually makes you less confident, then you start doing things you know that YOU control, like eating until you gain a fuck ton of weight, because that is now your security blanket from the abuse of being treated like a moron for so many years you can't remember the last time you had an outloud thought that wasn't critisized.

You will eventually give in to it. You stop believing that your opinion counts, or that you could possibly have an intelligent thought or conversation. It's actually sad because this is going on all around me, so I know it's not just me, I watch men do this to all women, they treat us like we are "the weaker sex", simply because that is exactly what they were taught. They teach it in schools, church, and at home. I really don't think they do this on purpose, I feel like most men are not even aware of thier own thought patterns.

By Crawford Jolly on Unsplash

I feel like (and this is the opinion I have drawn from a little research on the subject) this has been ingrained and taught to men for so long that they just assume the role of stronger, smarter and ultimate protector. Men have always been labeled as the one to stand up first and defend the homefront, that is thier job and by george if they don't, then they are labeled a "coward" or "pussy"by other men. Any man not willing to stand up and fight for his family isn't worthy? Worthy of what? Living? Simply because he doesn't want to get the crap kicked out of him because his mouthy ass wife started some shit? Yes, we start shit too and then expect our poor husbands to defend it! I think that is flat out bullshit! That isn't the case all the time, but it does happen because I have seen it first hand. The fact of the matter is that women have had to fight harder to prove thier worth since the beggining of time and it makes me want to scream, because I have been defending my friends and family verbally and physically, most of my life, and some of them were men! That never made me see them as weak or unworthy of my love simply because they didn't want to fight, and most of the time they would have my back, which was never a requirement or an expectation. I am that girl! the one who defends the underdog - if they are deserving, if they are being a dick, then they deserve what they get. However, I never saw men as anything but a fellow human being.

I really think it is unfair to make a man assume the role of protector of the damn universe, why can't a woman do it? We can do anything a man can, including grow a dick! just sayin! Now plenty of men are finding out that they don't feel like men, they feel like a woman inside that is screaming to come out, and to that I say more power to you! You go girl!! Don't let this world tell you that just because your a man that you have to be Tarzan, superman, or strongman when you simply just want to be a WO-man! Even if you don't want to be a woman, that's ok too! Your not the be all and end all of the universe, your just you, so go be you, and quit treating us like weak stupid females, and see us as an equal, the response you get might surprise you.

gender roles
Like

About the Creator

C. M. Sears

I am learning more about writing every time I write a new story, whether it be fiction or fact. I love this platform and will continue to write and learn...if you like what you read in any of my stories please click the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.