Viva logo

When I Said #Me Too

What the #Me Too Movement Means to Me

By Mama MoodPublished 7 years ago 3 min read

It was two days ago that I scrolled through my Facebook feed. I spotted a few sporadic posts with the simple phrase, "me too." Thinking it was just another weird social media game, I ignored it. It wasn't until I saw a few more that I decided to research it further. The first thing that popped up was a tweet by Alyssa Milano.

It instantly hit home for me. I am not one to share much on Facebook. I usually "like" photos of friends and family, but that is pretty much it. This seemed different somehow. I felt it was a sign for me to share my experience, even if it was only two words. The instant I did, I felt less alone. There was an unspoken sisterhood I felt a part of. I felt heard, without even having to speak. When I saw the other "me toos," I felt sadness. Beyond that I felt closer to these individuals. It is devastating to have a bond over such a dark experience, but it was somewhat therapeutic.

With all the positive I feel from this movement, there is an overwhelming sense of fear. It didn't hit me at first, but then I had the most terrifying realization. All the woman I know have at least experienced sexual harassment. Shockingly, a majority have experienced something even worse. This is when I turned to my daughter. How am I ever going to protect her? This question nags at me. It makes me feel helpless. We live in a world where there is a 100% chance she will be harassed and a terrifyingly high chance something worse could happen. It is hard to even think about. It enrages me that I have no control over the future. It is my greatest fear as a parent.

If nothing else, this movement shows us we need a change. It is my belief that this begins with us raising our children to speak out when something isn't right. We need to raise our children to respect others. We must teach them it is okay to say no. As adults, we need to speak out when we see something. Even if you think it is harmless joking, say something. There is a chance it could be hurting someone more than you think.

For myself, there have been many occasions I laughed off a sexual joke or advance at my expense. I never spoke up, I feared I would alienate myself if I were to say anything. I am sure many women feel the same way. I wish I had someone to tell me I was worth more. A friend or family member to look out for me. The "me too" movement has given me that in a way.

I know there are some people who didn't say "me too," even though they could have. I would say to them that they do not suffer in silence. They do not have to share their experience. Things of this nature are deeply personal. This makes sharing a personal choice.

Although this movement has brought up feelings I had long put away, I would say it was a positive experience overall. My own experiences go beyond harassment, which is something I don't like to be reminded of. I feel that these memories never go away, I find new ways to be okay. As much as I would like to believe that being assaulted doesn't define me, it is a part of my life. It changed me and I will never know the person I would have been. It is a sad sentiment and something I deal with everyday.

activism

About the Creator

Mama Mood

I am a stay at home mom and love being home with her. At 29, I am a little bit broken and trying to find my way. Writing has been therapeutic for me. I hope you enjoy:)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mama MoodWritten by Mama Mood

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.