Viva logo

what happen when a fat girl wants to be a actress?

(my story)

By Valeria Viveros Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
what happen when a fat girl wants to be a actress?
Photo by Arno Smit on Unsplash

i always thought that i had to be skinny and pretty to be on tv or to be a model, at least skinny pretty wasn't such a big deal, turning 15 and watching netflix movies that "try to make you feel accepted with your body" i thought that maybe it wasnt that necessary to be skinny, and also i realize that a lot of teenagers movies on netflix were so bad.

one day i was on my room watching fuller house (which if you don't know what fuller house is, then you don't know anything) i remember watching a scene that really touch my heart, that scene made me feel everything that the characters were feeling, when i end up the episode i feel in my heart that passion i always feel when i like something, i start looking for theatre schools on my country, (there wasn't a lot of them) i also wanted to check the prices so that my mom could afford them, when i finished looking for schools i went with my grandma to tell her everything (wish i didn't).

this is practically the conversation.

me: grandma i know what i want be when i get older!!!

grandma: don't you wanted to be a chef?

me: not anymore.

grandma: then what is it?

me: i want to be an actress!!! (full of emotions and happiness)

grandma: oh honey, for that you have to had a diet and do a lot of exercise.

yeah that was basically what she said, don't get me wrong i love my grandma it's just that she's old (i thought that when i go out of her room).

for the next day everyone in family knows that "fernandita" want to be an actress how hilarious isn't?, IT IS NOT i was so ashamed i got so mad with my grandma and also i get that feeling that i wasn't good enough to be a successful actress, oh and this is not the worst...

many days later...

my sister always wanted to be a fashion designer wich it's something that all my family knows, my mom one day saw an announcement about a summer camp of models on a place that is close to my city, my mom was looking for everyone on my family to help her with money for that summer camp for my little sister you know how hard to watch that was for me? no you don't, my sister is only 8 years old but she's skinny and always knew that she likes fashion that's why my family think she deserves to make her dreams come true more than i do.

me by now..

now i understand that my family its fatphobic i was only 15 years old with a lot of passion about my dreams they just didn't care about them, but you know what they don't have to, the only one who to care about my dreams it is me and none else, i understand that i don't have to be skinny or socially pretty to be happy, i love how i look and it's only that what really matters.

body
Like

About the Creator

Valeria Viveros

I love werewolves and coffee also I love writing <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.