Viva logo

Stop! Hey! What's That Sound?

This is not the story you expect from the title

By Judey Kalchik Published 21 days ago Updated 21 days ago 3 min read
https://pixabay.com/users/mabelamber-1377835/

Working yesterday I brushed against something that is rarely in use on my desk: a calculator. (This is because I had too many tabs open on my laptop to use the system calculator, too many Excel sheets open to use a formula, and my phone was playing music...so I went old school)

I knocked the thing off my desk and under the side with drawers (seldom used for paper these days, usually full of overstock teas, coffee, and keto-approved snacks), just out of easy reach.

Slumping up and over the desk chair handle, I blindly groped around for the slippery thing. Then I heard it.

A sharp cracking sound.

I froze, as if freezing in place would nullify whatever fresh heck this 63-year-old body was unleashing on me now.

I remembered that crack from 15 years ago. Then, it was a torn meniscus from dancing at Youngest Daughter's wedding, boogeying back up from shaking it down during Brick House.

I remembered it from 50 years ago, when I landed on my forearm after a poorly-aimed jump from a forbidden rope swing. Then the crack was a fracture of my forearm.

I remembered the crack my knee made hitting the edge of the stairs a few years ago when I tripped going UP the steps on my way back from lunch.

I remember it all too well from the sharp pops and bubbles that punctuate my every day now as I roll over in bed, put on a turn signal, or bend over to tie my shoe.

This was different. I felt... I felt nothing. No lingering pain. Nothing out of whack. No sharp burning, no pinching, no unwelcome pain pulses.

Did I... did I imagine it? Are my ears going now, too?

On that note my questing fingers caught hold of the calculator and I straightened up and settled back to work. as I lifted my hands to the keyboard; I felt the pinch. I felt it in an exceptionally tender spot: my underboob.

Yes, that's right; my underwire (which was really under-plastic, I suppose), had snapped as I crunched into the chair's arm. For a moment, I kinda wished it had been something like my meniscus. I'd dealt with that and come back once before.

There is no coming back from a snapped underwire/under-plastic mishap. A quick self-exam revealed that it was no fracture; the thing had snapped in two. Perkiness was now decidedly one-sided.

And: it was my fault.

You see; I had stopped the day before at a Vanity Fair outlet and... and... I'd tried on new bras. I'd tried on new bras and made my now dejected bra watch as I considered replacing it. Now it was making me pay.

I didn't BUY a new bra, though! I'd only considered stepping out on ol'Reliable! I mean; my husband doesn't get all upset when I say something perfectly understandable like "Only Liam Hemsworth could possible replace Henry Cavill as the Witcher..." My husband understands that I am only window shopping; he knows I'm going home with him.

Evidently it didn't matter that I went home with the bra I'd worn in to that outlet. It was simply one portent too many for it that things were going to change.

Like the time I didn't air dry it and instead put it through the dryer. I know that was wrong. I had apologized to the overheated cups and too pliable straps, hadn't I? But it was too little, too late.

Now I sit here, writing this wearing my second-favorite bra. The one that rides a bit too high, with the tag that I always forget I mean to cut off until it scratches midday.

I wish I'd bought the front-close Bali on Sunday.

~

Strangely; I've written about bras before:

Your comments are always eagerly awaited!

fashionbody

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout 11 hours ago

    Great story! Keep it up.

  • Well I am glad it all worked out and was nothing too serious, thank you for sharing

  • Heather Zieffle 21 days ago

    Oh my gosh I love this one, Judey! Awesome story. I hate bras so much! I mean, I love what they do for the gals but I've never found a truly comfortable one!

  • Lamar Wiggins21 days ago

    “Perkiness was now decidedly one-sided.” That line took me out! So sorry to hear about your mishap. Thank you for allowing us to laugh with you. Stoopid slippery calculator. It set you up!

  • ROCK 21 days ago

    OMG! This was more than relatable humor; it was a hilarious mirror of my next course, " Living and Loving in My Sixties". Disturbingly accurate. Fabulous! 🤩

  • Dana Crandell21 days ago

    Revenge of the [insert appropriate letter]-cup! Fun story.

  • Gerard DiLeo21 days ago

    Anatomy always wins!

  • Cathy holmes21 days ago

    Okay, instant earworm first of all. Then, I have no idea what I was imagining when you said there was no pain, but that wasn't it. It would never happen to me anyway. I try to avoid underwire at all cost, and if I have to get one, I poke a hole and pull it out. Swear to God. Screw the standing at attention, my soldiers are on sabbatical.

  • Paul Stewart21 days ago

    LOL...I mean...this was...hilarious...and ouch! I laughed at you suggesting your bra was getting revenge. As ever, Ms Kalchik...compelling, relatable (Even as a non boob owner) and just great writing! :)

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.