Viva logo

We call her Grandma...

By Lenora Altom

By Lindsey AltomPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
1
My grandma

This woman is amazing in every way. I was born when my mother was still just a child herself so this woman along with many others helped raise me. I feel I became in many ways, like a third daughter to her. At least, that's how I've always thought of myself especially as I've gotten older. When I was young, she would change my diapers, and watch me for my mama as she finished school, as I grew she would be sure I had my favorite breakfast so my mama could go ahead and go to work and then she would get me on the bus to school, she wiped my tears as those hard days came and went, she has been there to celebrate the good and the bad. She didn't do it to take me from anyone, she did all these things out of the goodness of her heart and to help. Sometimes in life, we get a person, a person with whom our heart intertwines and they become our person so to speak. My grandma has always been that for me. I can't explain it except to say that we just get each other on such a deep level. I can look into her eyes and know what she's thinking, know what she's feeling and she can do the same for me. She has always been able to see me for me, she has always heard me and accepted me for me even if she didn't agree or understand it. She has always fought for me even sticking herself in the fire to do so. This woman is a survivor and I will always look up to and admire her for her perseverance, honesty, bravery, and tenacity. She was a single mom for years with my aunt and mother to look after and care for and all that time she never settled back down with anyone else. Why? She didn't want anything else bad to happen to her girls. I know this because she's told me. She became a nurse to support herself and her girls and persevered. She has given so much of herself throughout the years even though it has never been easy. I thank God daily for my beautiful grandma because I know what a blessing I have in having her in my life. She is my dragon, my protector, my rock, and my shelter against the storms.

And now, this piece would not be complete without trying to at least mention the other amazing women in my life. As women, we are meant to lift each other up and not tear each other down and it always saddens me if I see the opposite occurring. Thankfully, I have so many women in my life that help raise me up and that has been especially needed in this past year or so since I left my abusive and toxic relationship with my ex-husband. I know I will miss a few but here is to trying.

I would like to mention my mother who raised me from a very young age. At times, it felt as if we were more siblings than mother and daughter but we made it out alive. Haha I would also like to mention a woman I call my stepmom, Carrie who came into my and my daddy's life about four years ago and has truly stepped up to the plate in several ways even when she didn't have to. My other grandmother Joyce also helped raise me and is truly one of the most precious souls you'll ever find. I don't believe this woman ever left the kitchen when I was growing up as her goal was to be sure our stomachs were stuffed to the brim 24/7 and come to think of it not much has changed. Next, we have to list my sisters. There are my biological sisters, Mikayla and Adeline whom I am not as close to as I would like but that is improving I feel, and then my chosen sisters Alisha and Mia. Alisha, Mia, and I have made it through Hell and high waters and back again. Then, my aunt Lory helped raise me as well. Although she was only ten when I was born she taught me my love of books, taught me to read, taught me my numbers, and taught me that a good nap was going to happen whether I liked it or not as she was babysitting and naps were not optional. My supervisor Joanna and all the wonderful women I work with daily and lastly, my therapist Kathelene. Kathelene has had to help talk sense into me more times than I care to recall and she is the one that helped me recover the pieces of myself after the aftermath of my last marriage. Women are warriors; we are strong and brave and we can do so much more than we even realize.

gender rolesfeminismfamilybeauty
1

About the Creator

Lindsey Altom

For me, writing runs in the blood. I've wrote songs, poems and short stories ever since I was a little girl. I mostly like to write about my life experiences mixed with a little fiction or just things that come off the top of my head! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.