Viva logo

The perfect solution for your period problems

BONUS: I have a link for $10 off your first purchase ;)

By ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

Any menstruating person will tell you: Aunt Flo is not fun. The only reason we might look forward to her visits is to make sure we aren't pregnant.

One thing that has actually positively affected my mood when it comes to that time of the month is the underwear from Thinx.

Sustainability is something that drives a lot of my purchases. In the past, I had always hated my monthly visits not only because they were inconvenient and painful but they also caused so much plastic waste.

Between the numerous tampons, pantiliners, and overnight pads, I felt like I, personally, was contributing a significant amount to the plastic waste problem. And I began to think of all the menstruating people who also used these plastic products... it overwhelmed me to think about it. I wanted to do my part to reduce my plastic usage.

I wanted a solution.

So I tried various things such as: the Diva Cup and organic and biodegradable period products. But nothing was really working for me.

Then, when I started to see advertisements for Thinx, I was incredibly intrigued. At first, I had some sticker shock when I looked on their website. I mean, who wants to pay $35+ for something you're just going to bloody up?

But, I began to think about what I was paying on a monthly basis for all of the various single-use products. Suddenly, Thinx's prices didn't seem so farfetched.

I finally filled my cart and checked out. That was one of the best purchases I have ever made.

I think that was about 3 years ago that I made my first purchase of Thinx's period panties. Since then, I have made a few more purchases because I love their products so much.

About the underwear: it is actually so comfortable. They have so many different styles with varying degrees of absorption. On my lighter days, I can reach for the Cheeky or Thong. On medium days, I typically go for the Sport (this cut is my all-time favorite, I have it in three colors!). On heavy flow days, I like the Cotton Brief or the Hiphugger.

My favorite Thinx style: Sport

They last for a really long time, as long as you take care of them. But it's super easy to do so. And they actually work! I haven't had any issues with leakage or discomfort.

Some of the best benefits are: you can wear them day and night. You don't ever have to worry about a pantiliner or overnight pad moving around again. You can wear them anytime which means that surprise visits from our least favorite aunt aren't nearly as bad as before. Also, they really don't feel gross when you're wearing them because they actually remain quite dry. They feel MUCH better than pads and tampons. Plus, there's no concern of toxic shock syndrome!

My FAVORITE benefit is: there's no more plastic waste associated with my period! I haven't used a tampon in years; I have only relied on this underwear to handle that monthly situation. So, when it's time for my period, I don't have to purchase any more tampons or pads. Consequently I don't have anything to throw away. It makes my life feel so much more sustainable.

Another positive thing to note is that the Thinx company is committed to supporting several movements and initiatives. They advocate for equity because there is a real issue with period poverty. There are menstruating people who don't have access to or can't afford these simple comforts. They also work to promote puberty education. A more educated world is a better world. So a lot of my ideals align with this particular company. I feel good about making purchases from Thinx!

I tell all of my friends about this life-changing period underwear because I just love it so much. So, if you are on the fence, I sincerely suggest that you make that investment. I promise, it's totally worth it.

BONUS: Here's $10 off your first purchase! Happy shopping, and happy sustainable menstruation!

#addtocart



product review
4

About the Creator

Renee

I live for unexpected experiences and good food! As a cultural-enthusiast and linguaphile, my studies and passions have taken me around the world. I teach English as a foreign language and I believe that language is beyond powerful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.