Viva logo

The Lover Who Broke My Heart

He was the one I thought I would spend forever with

By Saso ElsaiedPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
2

Love is a powerful force that can bring immense joy and happiness, but it can also be a source of deep pain and heartbreak when not reciprocated. In my personal experience, I have gone through the agonizing process of loving someone who did not appreciate or value me in return. This unrequited love left me feeling rejected, abandoned, and emotionally drained, leading me to question my self-worth and the validity of my feelings.

I wish I could say that I have moved on completely, that I am no longer haunted by the memory of our love lost. But the truth is that his absence still lingers, reminding me of the pain of being unappreciated and discarded. I have learned the hard way that love is not always enough to make a relationship work, and that sometimes, letting go is the only way to find peace.

I was always there for you, supporting you through the good times and the bad. I listened to your problems, comforted you when you were feeling down, and celebrated your achievements with you. But when it came to my own needs and emotions, you seemed indifferent. It hurt to realize that the love I thought we shared was one-sided.

Throughout our relationship, I often found myself feeling isolated and alone, despite being with someone who I thought was supposed to be my partner. It seemed as though my lover was always preoccupied with their own needs and desires, leaving me to fend for myself emotionally. I would reach out for comfort or support, only to be met with dismissiveness or indifference.

I would try to communicate my feelings and concerns, but it felt like my words fell on deaf ears. It was as though my emotions didn't matter to them, and I was left to navigate the ups and downs of the relationship on my own. I longed for a connection that went beyond surface-level interactions, but despite my best efforts, I always felt like I was the one putting in all the effort.

As time went on, the loneliness and heartache of constantly feeling unseen and unheard began to weigh heavily on me. I realized that I couldn't continue to pour my love and energy into a relationship where it wasn't being reciprocated. It became clear that I deserved better, that I deserved someone who would be there for me in both good times and bad.

Despite the pain of walking away from someone I thought I loved, I knew that staying in a one-sided relationship would only lead to further heartbreak. I had to prioritize my own well-being and happiness, even if it meant letting go of the person I once thought was my forever. In the end, I had to accept the painful truth that I was always alone in this relationship, and that it was time to move on to find a love that was truly fulfilling and reciprocal.

So as I look back on our time together, I am filled with a mixture of sadness and gratitude. Sadness for the love that was lost, but gratitude for the lessons learned and the strength gained. And though my heart may still carry the scars of his betrayal, I know that I am stronger now because of it. And one day, I will find someone who will appreciate and cherish the love that I have to give.

I had to come to terms with the painful truth that you didn't love me in the same way that I loved you. It was a harsh realization to accept, but it was necessary for me to move forward and find someone who would cherish and value me the way I deserved. Your lack of appreciation may have broken my heart, but it also taught me to never settle for anything less than the genuine and reciprocated love that I give to others.

Going through heartbreak with an unappreciative lover can be an incredibly painful and difficult experience. It can leave us feeling hurt, rejected, and questioning our worth. It's important to remember that we deserve to be with someone who truly values and appreciates us. Taking the time to heal and reflect on the experience can help us grow stronger and more resilient in the future. Ultimately, we must remember to prioritize our own happiness and well-being, and not settle for anything less than we deserve in a relationship. Love should always be kind, supportive, and nurturing, and we should never settle for anything less.

relationships
2

About the Creator

Saso Elsaied

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    I've been involved in many relationships where I felt worthless. It destroyed my self-worth. I had no idea what love was at the end of it, and I viewed marriage as a prison sentence. Eventually, I healed, and as I did, I learned what love was again, though it was some time before I could fully appreciate it. I fought many battles with how I saw myself, but in the end, I married someone who has been through a lot and gone through many ups and downs with me. We are both supportive and caring in our marriage. We have been together for many years, but love exists. I agree with you all the way, love is a two sided emotion.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.