Viva logo

Robin's Art

The Wonderful Drawings Of A Very Good Friend

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
4

Introduction

I am not sure how I first became Facebook friends with Robin Grotjan, maybe it was through Mafia Wars, an addictive Facebook game that I managed to forget about. She had a joint acvount with her husband Ron who she lost to cancer but I was good friends with both of them, and am still in close contact with Robin.

Things In Common

We have a lot of musical tastes in common, and Robin is close with members of some major bands such as Alice Cooper and, of course, friends she made when Ron was playing in his various bands as Ron Reckless.

We often chat about life, art, film and music and I then saw Robin sharing her drawings on Facebook. Some peoplle's definitions of art are very narrow, and the retort "I could do that" always makes me reply "Well why did you never do it". Sometimes art may be very simple and sometimes incredibly complex.

I sometimes see Lego creations and think how the hell did they have the patience to so that.

I have suggestes that Robin puts her work on Picfair and maybe get some exposure and pick up a few sales. I have put photographs on there but as yet have never made a sale.

In my opinion, and a critic called Jerry Saltz who I follow and interact with a bit, is that the point of art is to cause an effect and a reaction.

I will admit a lot of art just bores me, so when I first saw Robin's Art it caused a reaction. So as Art, for me, it does the job.

A Little Of Robin's Art

Robin Grotjan

There is no information in this one but it may be Madonna, but I found it very striking, I love the colours and the mix of portrait, pattern and colours.

Ron and Robin Warhol Style

A Warholish visualisation of a self portrait of Robin and Ron. A visually striking memory.

Bowie

Robin is a huge David Bowie fan, and I love this coloured image lying on a much larger facial representation of the great artist.

Money

An emphatic statement on money, something I particularly destest, although we need it to compensate each other for services, but since the 1970s money has become the most important thing to pour resources into, when it should just be the oil on teh wheels of the system.

See this is what I mean about art having an effect, this image made me think about something and then make a public statement on it.

Asleep Awake

This made me think of John Everett Millais "Ophelia", a drawing that sets the cogs and cells in my mind going, with the third eye implying a dream or subconscious adventure. Below is the painting that I am referring to in case you were unaware of it. It refers to a scene in Shakespeare's "Hamlet".

Starman

Another Bowie image with the star and Ziggy slashes against a fiery background. I do love this.

The Queen's Cottage Staircase

An architectural spiral staircase image, apprently "The Queen's Cottage Staircase" but I am not too sure what that is or what it refers to. Google threw this impressive construction.

Robin

I am not sure if this is meant to be a self portrait but it has some commonality with our friend Pandora's work. There is a darkness with the possiblity of redemption in here.

Conclusion and Links

I hope you have enjoyed this dip into my friend's art. Robin is a wonderful and interesting woman, and for me a great and supportive friend. You can find more of her on the links below. Thank you all so much for reading.

Maybe Bowie's "Art Decade" from "Low should be the music to go with this.

Some of Robin's Art

Robin's Colouring

feminismpop culturelistcelebritiesartactivism
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well done, left some love💕💖😊

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I love Robin's art. Especially the Bowie images. She's very talented. Great job Mike.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.