Viva logo

Matchmaking and Merlot

Through Widow Pain

By Brandi JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Matchmaking and Merlot
Photo by photo-nic.co.uk nic on Unsplash

Cynthia stood in the bar alone, gazing at herself in the mirror behind the bar. Her reflection was snuggled between a bottle of Crown and a bottle of Jack Daniels. The sight made her nose curl up as she recalled nights long ago filled with shots, dancing, and Steven. Her brown eyes begged her to leave.

It would be her first date since her husband had passed away. She ran her hand through her shoulder-length brown hair as she let her body fall heavily onto a bar stool. This caused her little black dress to wrinkle, but she didn’t care.

A scowl appeared as she gazed at her surroundings. Fluorescent light bounced off stainless steel tables, black chairs, and mirrored walls. She shivered, closed her eyes, and took a deep breath. Where was the bartender?

“Mom! There you are!”

Delaney. That’s why I’m here. Delaney is the only person that could have talked Cynthia into this blind date. Delaney was her only child and was twenty-two years old. With long blonde hair, hazel eyes, and pale skin, Delaney had grown up to be a beautiful woman. Her coloring resembled her father, but her thin frame was from Cynthia.

Cynthia turned toward the voice and was greeted with a cheesy grin. Delaney was nearly skipping as she approached. She was holding hands with her latest boyfriend, Jake, who looked down at her with lovesick eyes. He seemed like a nice enough kid from what Cynthia knew thus far.

Cynthia smiled back and said, “Hey honey! I was just grabbing a coffee. Do you want anything?”

“Coffee? Why would you order a coffee at the bar? Why didn’t you go to our reserved table?” Delaney asked in a mix of bewilderment and more than a touch of teasing. She had gotten that last bit from her father as well.

Cynthia raised her eyebrows. “I agreed to come here. There was no way I was going to be the first (or the second) person to sit down at that table.”

Understanding filled Delaney’s eyes. “Oh, yeah. Of course.” She paused before looking her mom in the eyes again, bringing a smile back to her lips and playfulness back to her eyes. “I guess I’ll just take some lemonade for now. I need to make sure you don’t try to sabotage this.” Delaney had always been able to read Cynthia’s mind a little too well.

“Now, would your dear mother ever do a thing like that?” Cynthia asked, feigning innocence.

Delaney guffawed and looked at Jake.

“Hey, Mrs. P.” He said.

“Hello, Jake. Are you ready to start calling me Cynthia yet?”

“Oh, yeah. Shoot. Sorry, I keep forgetting.”

“That’s okay. I get it. Although I only taught you one semester, I evidently made quite the impression,” She grinned. Cynthia had been a college sociology professor and it had been an online course.

“Did you want anything, Jake?”

“No thanks. I’ll wait until we get to our table.”

“Okay. I can bring our drinks if you two want to go in… if the bartender ever comes back.” Cynthia said as she cocked her head toward the doors that led to the adjacent dining area, which had a much more comfortable setting… with the exception of the man she would be meeting courtesy of her daughter’s insistence.

“Jake, would you mind heading in first? I’d like to talk to my mom for a minute.”

“Sure, Delaney. See you two in a little bit.” He took two three steps before turning around and saying, “Mrs., I mean Cynthia, it’s going to be fine. You can trust us.”

Cynthia stared back in surprise. Where had that come from? Apparently Jake was not quite as timid as I have believed.

Cynthia allowed the silence to stretch for a few moments. She loved Delaney more than anything else in the world, but she was angry with her. She didn’t feel ready for this and really didn’t want to be here, but Delaney had begged her to come. Cynthia had begrudgingly accepted but was now nauseous at the thought of meeting someone new.

“Tell me again why you think I need to meet this guy.” she said, back still to the bar and gazing at the doors Jake had walked through.

Delaney walked over and gave her a side hug. “Mom, why are you doing this to yourself? You know everything that I know and you don’t need to feel guilty. Dad would want you to be happy.”

Cynthia’s breath caught at the mention of Steven, her late husband and Delaney’s father. She closed her eyes as she put her arm around Delaney’s shoulder. Delaney was right, but it didn’t make Cynthia feel better.

“I just don’t see how anyone could even compare to him.”

“I know, Mom. I remember the two of you together… but it has been eight years. I just want to see you happy again.” Cynthia started to disagree but Delaney continued speaking.

“And not just partially happy, Mom. I see you smile when you think you’re supposed to, occasionally even laugh, which is typically followed by a look of guilt.” She paused to let her words sink in. “I want you to be fully happy. Or at least allowing a chance to be happy again. Eight years of half smiles.” Delaney shook her head. ”You don’t need to marry this guy or even have a second date with him. Just meet him. Jake and I will be right there. Think of it as a practice run.”

Cynthia raised her eyebrows as a small smile lifted her lips. Cynthia and Steven had proposed something similar for Delaney’s first date when she was fourteen years old. My how the tables have turned, she thought, knowing Steven was likely laughing as he watched this all unfold.

Thinking of his laughter, of him, made her heart constrict. She knew it was normal to date after losing a spouse, but sometimes the pain was still overwhelming. She breathed through the pain and said a silent prayer for forgiveness.

“Okay. I’ll meet him. You said his name was Dwight, right?” she asked.

Delaney rolled her eyes. “Haha, Mom. Very funny. You better hope he’s an Office fan.”

“If he stands a chance, he will be.”

“I’ll add it to your Dream Man list.”

“What now?” Cynthia asked as they began walking toward the doors.

“Don’t worry about it, Mom. I mean, it’s pretty short.”

“That’s what she said.”

They both laughed. Although Cynthia knew Delaney had set that up to help her relax, she couldn’t not finish the joke. The Office was the show that Delaney always chose to watch when she wanted to laugh, when she wanted to make Cynthia laugh.

The dining area decor was pale green and white with plants aplenty. Cynthia loved this place, Green City.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Delaney led her to the right until they arrived at their table. Jake was chatting with a man in a gray suit, white button-up and a navy tie slightly loosened. They both stood up when they noticed the women approaching. Cynthia noticed that the man tightened up his tie a bit.

“Hi Mr. Phillips! This is my mom, Cynthia. Mom, this is Mr. Phillips.”

“You can call me Michael, Delaney.” His pale, clear blue eyes swiveled to Cynthia, “Nice to meet you, Cynthia.” He looked to be about Cynthia’s age and had an easy smile.

She put out her arm and shook his hand. “Nice to meet you, too, Michael. It seems like my daughter is quite the matchmaker these days.”

“Oh, that’s okay. Now that she is leaving the firm, she thought it would be okay to introduce us. I’ve heard so much about you already. I even ordered your favorite wine, Merlot. Would you like a glass?”

Cynthia nodded and said “thanks.” After Michael handed her her wine and sat down again, Cynthia took a slow sip. Her eyes inadvertently shut as she had to lift the glass up to get a drink. I am going to have to teach this man how to properly fill a wine glass, she thought. She smiled as she tasted blackberries and a hint of vanilla. So good.

By Jeff Siepman on Unsplash

When she opened her eyes she noticed that everyone else at the table was smiling at her.

“Good, huh?” Delaney asked.

“Zip it, kid.” Cynthia told her, feeling her cheeks flush.

“Jake and Delaney told me that you’re a writer now. What made you leave academia?” Michael asked.

“I love teaching but needed a change. Writing fills me and frees me. I rarely attempt to publish, but it’s fun.”

“That sounds amazing. I would love to read more of your work.”

“More?” Cynthia asked, finding guilt on the faces of her daughter and Jake.

“Sorry, Mom! But your work is so good! I had to send him a few links to your articles on bird-watching, wine-tasting, and grief.”

Cynthia hadn’t expected that last piece, but it was probably good that he knew her story upfront. He didn’t seem bothered by it, which surprised her.

“I do have to take a bit of the blame as well.” Michael said. “After reading a few pieces, I googled you to find more.”

Cynthia laughed and said, “It’s fine. I am just a bit surprised. Enough about me though. What are you currently working on?”

“Well, I’m thinking about retiring early and heading south for the winter.” They lived in Michigan, so Cynthia understood the appeal. The timing seemed a bit off though. Why would he go on a date with me when he was planning on leaving? Do I care that he may be leaving?

The waiter arrived and they placed their order, with Jake and Delaney adding in some small talk as Cynthia’s mind wandered.

“So, Michael, where do you plan to go?” Cynthia asked.

“I’m not sure yet. I have family in Louisiana and California. I may spend a little time in both.”

Cynthia bit her lip and nodded, trying to appear calm as her mind raced. She had recently made plans to stay in southern California for a month while she worked on her memoir. She took another sip of the Merlot and tried to slow her breathing. He was attractive, yes, but she didn’t really want him following her across the country.

“Don’t worry, Mom. He’s not following you anywhere.” Delaney was reading her mind again. “You two just have a lot in common.”

With furrowed brows, Michael asked, “What do you mean ‘he’s not following you anywhere?’”

“Mom is heading to southern California for a month to work. She’s a bit of a loner when she is writing.”

“Well, I promise not to intrude, Cynthia. I would only visit if you asked me.”

She blushed and said, “Thank you. I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have jumped to conclusions.”

“Don’t worry about it. What will you be writing about? If you don’t mind me asking.”

“The journey of a mother and daughter as they navigate grief.”

“Interesting. Will Delaney provide any insight? Will you tell me about Steven?”

“If Delaney wants to contribute, she definitely could.” Cynthia looked at her daughter fondly and continued, “Steve was caring and funny and comfort.” She smiled, “Also messy, stubborn, and a complete pushover for his daughter.”

She was surprised, but thankful, that Michael had asked about Steven. Cynthia’s shoulders dropped and she smiled. The feeling of betrayal released. She sipped her wine again and listened to Delaney describe Steven, noticing that Michael seemed completely at ease as well.

As Cynthia moved her gaze away from him, she found Jake’s green eyes staring back. He winked and Cynthia’s smile broadened.

Perhaps these two had been right. Maybe she could find a companion again, especially one that did not feel challenged by the memory of her beloved husband.

And.. someone that would have her favorite wine on hand should she need a glass.

Yes, she thought, this may not be so bad after all.

relationships
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.