Viva logo

​​Imani Yvonne, THEE Don: How The Actual Black Mermaid Taught Us To Swim

The magnificent mogul made a sensational splash on the internet. Now, her influence ripples through social media and beyond for years to come.

By PriscillaPublished 25 days ago 4 min read
Courtesy of Imani Yvonne

​​It's about time that we showed our appreciation to someone who helped us all level up in ways that we could never even thank her enough. You definitely know her. Beyoncé does. Google does. If you don’t know her by now, here’s your chance to effectively change your life. Her name is Imani Yvonne and she is the best thing that happened to the internet in the last 5 years and I'm here to tell you why.

She changed the dating game forever.

Imani is many things, one of them being a record breaking international dating coach. With her Navigation Guide, she included groundbreaking and actionable advice on how ​​to get the best out of dating. She also taught us how to get the best results out of using dating apps like Bumble, Hinge and OkCupid which many people were struggling with. It took social media by storm with thousands of messages sent to her of their successes. Here’s one of Imani’s success threads. What I also appreciate about her work is that it is inclusive and tailored to all genders, sexual orientations and social classes—something you hardly ever see with any dating advice online.

Courtesy of Imani Yvonne

She brought us on to stock trading.

​​For a lot of us, especially in the Black community, we usually were taught to feel like stock trading was complicated and expensive—basically ‘not for us’. I even had white teachers make me feel that way. In my economics class in college, I asked my lecturer what the stock market was all about and he just brushed it off and said that I didn’t need to worry about it. He acted as if it was unfathomable and at the time, I believed him. A good teacher would have directed me to some essential reading but he told me not to bother. Abhorrent.

The good sis, Imani, came through and opened up a new world of possibilities for all of us and showed how easy it actually was! She was even gracious to create stock lists for us at her website. It was very affordable and many have been seeing gains, including myself. If it wasn’t for her, I probably wouldn’t have tried. Now, look. I’m a stock trader, baby!

​​She helped us with our fitness.

​​Imani has created many insightful threads on fitness that changed the way I saw my body. For instance, she taught me about how the body inflames when under stress. The body does this as a defense mechanism. My mind was blown. That definitely describes how my body changed during pregnancy and postpartum. My body was looking out for me! Credit goes to her. She also shares a plethora of information on what foods to eat, stretches, and workouts in her book The Promise Challenge and her dedicated fitness Instagram page, ABM Fitness.

​​She cares about our success.

I usually say that with all the priceless information that Imani has shared with us, she could have easily kept it to herself and kept on thriving. Instead, she was kind enough to share it with us and help us all win, too. She will always have my respect for that. So many people's lives have been changed immeasurably because of her.

There’s more than enough scammers out there who don’t care about us or whether we get the results we sought them for. Heck, many of them are clout chasers or just trying to build a brand and make a cheque off of people. There’s even people who are trying to get ‘rich and famous’ from completely ripping off Imani’s work, *ahem* but they can never replace or outshine the best to ever do it—The Actual Black Mermaid.

​​She opened our eyes when it came to politics, economics and sociology.

I can’t even begin to encapsulate how paramount the discussions Imani started on Twitter are and how she has shifted everyone’s way of thinking. From coffee dates, to colourism, to trends; she has been ahead of the curve and shaping minds across generations.

There’s such immense value in her Twitter, Instagram and YouTube posts and I regularly check them for my dose of knowledge so I can always be on point and stay encouraged.

​​Her predictions practically make her a time traveller.

Time and time again, Imani has shown that she is a pattern genius. She accurately predicts trends, future events, stock performance etc. I’m yet to see another so far ahead of anyone else in this fashion. She’s helped me see the greater picture of how all things are connected and improved my sharpness. Nobody is touching Imani.

As I’ve said to her previously, she is the type of person I always wanted to meet and I hadn’t been fortunate enough until Twitter. Very few people have the kind of influence that can change your worldview, but she does it effortlessly. I’m so incredibly thankful to her and I hope she knows that she has my full support. We appreciate you, Imani!

***

I’m sure by now, you’re just as in awe of her as I am. Go and check her out on Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, and on her website. Show her some love! Credit her work, too. 😉 Feel free to share this article and spread the good word (give it a like too, if you can!)

I’ll close with a Beyoncé anthem that means a lot to Imani. Enjoy!

pop culturecelebrities

About the Creator

Priscilla

UK based English Language & Literature graduate. I write whatever I feel and never limit myself. Take a step into my world.

Find out more about my work here!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PriscillaWritten by Priscilla

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.