Viva logo

2020 Spring Favorites

Fashion, Makeup, and Drinks

By Haley RootPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Spring is here! The sun is shining, it's finally getting warm, and the flowers are blooming! I know the start of this post sounds like I really enjoy spring, but the truth is, I hate it. Every time someone asks, "what's your favorite season?" almost everyone says spring. Personally, I can't seem to understand why. Yes, the flowers are beautiful, but what the flowers bring with them, I hate. The pollen is outrageous and like a lot of people, I'm allergic. I can't breathe and my eye itch so bad they end up swelling so bad I can't see anymore. Not to mention all the bugs that start coming out during this time!

However, with all the negatives that come with spring, I can think of quite a few positives that come with the season as well. Fashion, makeup, and drinks, to name a few, and I'd like to share some of my favorites.

Fashion

While there are definitely things about spring that I hate, the fashion the spring brings is not one of them. There are some cool days, and there are some warm days, so the possibilities are endless. Here are just a few of my favorite finds for spring:

I think it's safe to say that I love jumpsuits and rompers. While these are my 2020 favorites the striped jumpsuit is actually from last year. With that being said, however, this jumpsuit is timeless. Honestly, you can never go wrong with a vertical striped jumpsuit and a jean jacket. The olive jumpsuit and the maxi romper are new to 2020 and I have fallen in love! You can find the Stand Your Ground olive jumpsuit here:

and the Spring Statement Maxi Romper here:

I love these outfits, and I definitely see myself wearing these years to come.

Makeup

Along with the great fashion, there are some great makeup trend for the spring season as well. I love the art of makeup. I'm not that great at makeup, however. I do have some great products that I like to use during all seasons that I want to share, but I also want to include some great looks I've seen other influences have done for the season:

I have fallen in love with Carter Beauty products. While they have a primer, it was sold out, so I couldn't get it, but I don't even need it. This foundation made my face look so smooth and flawless, I'm not even sure if a primer is necessary.

I found Carter Beauty on the Express website. I actually work at Express part-time and during quarantine decided to browse through the website. I'll be honest, I didn't even know they sold makeup. It is from the Express Marketplace, though, so it's not something that can be found in-store nor can be returned in stores. Of course, you can also find it on the Carter Beauty website as well.

Honestly, what's any season without Starbucks and a good alcoholic beverage? On top of that, however, I love to enjoy a delicious fruity smoothie to stay healthy as well. Here's what I like to enjoy during the season:

The Starbucks Pink Drink is a classic that can be consumed all year, but especially during the spring. The bright pink color just gives me such spring vibes, and of course, the flavor is delicious! Of course, the Pink Drink isn't the only refresher I'm obsessed with. If you haven't tried the Dragon Drink, you definitely need to. While all of the refreshers are amazing, those are just my go to's.

Now, for my readers over 21, I'm sure you like a nice spring cocktail every now and then. And if you're like me, you like it nice and fruity. Personally, I'm not much of a drinker, but when I do drink I tend to keep it simple and sweet. I found this strawberry sangria on Pinterest and I am in love!

Now onto some healthier options. If you're like me, you "forgot" to start preparing for your summer body in the winter. But, now that spring is here it's time to kick it into gear by drinking some healthy smoothies. I love substituting some meals for a smoothie. Mango's, strawberries, apples, blueberries, bananas, pineapples, I love all the fruit. Spinach is also really great to add to smoothies for extra health benefits.

A typical smoothie for me looks like: any fruit I chose for the day and/or spinach added, a couple of spoons full of plain Greek yogurt, a cup of unsweetened almond milk, vanilla protein powder, and of course ice. I apologize for not having exact measurements, but I typically just eyeball all of my ingredients. Whoops!

While spring might be my least favorite season, I can admit that there are some great things about it. The pollen sucks and the bugs suck, but when I think about it, I guess I've named more reason to love spring than to hate it. I guess I'm just biased because I have terrible allergies. For those of you who don't, I hate you. I'm just kidding! But, seriously, there are some really great things about spring. Let me know in the comments some of your favorite things about spring!

list
Like

About the Creator

Haley Root

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.