Trader logo

What Stocks I Would Invest In

And Why

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I want an MBA so I can do some business things with it, as in help other people start businesses to get off of disability, for example. Humalog is a slow-growth stock according to a December 22nd, 2017 article. Sales are better for a diabetes medication called Trulicity. Eli Lilly not only sells Trulicity well, but is also working on the osteoporosis drug Forteo. The FDA has approved Taltz, a medication that treats psoriatic arthritis. Sales, however, are dropping for Lilly’s cancer drugs Alimta, and Erbitux. Other medications that are slipping are Cymbalta, Strattera, and Zyprexa. All of these psychiatric drugs are reported as facing generic competition.

New medications for diseases like cancer include Verzenio, approved in September for breast cancer. Lilly is awaiting approval for a migraine medicine, galcanezumab, and 18 late-stage programs. Migraine medications such as lasmiditan or the pain medication, tanezumab, stand alone as possible candidates. Income investors such as myself need to know that Lilly is a worthy investment. I used to use Zyprexa, after all. Lilly stock is said to trade at 18 times expected earnings. Pfizer is a partner of Lilly’s apparently, and I guess I want to invest in my Geodon stock since that is the medication I use for schizophrenia. The maker of Buspar is Bristol-Meyers-Squibb. The maker of Lexapro is Lundbeck Global.

Lilly’s dividend is said to be 2.59 percent on January 17th, 2018. Novo Nordisk is Lilly’s immediate competition, with their Ozempic medication being a medication that reduces blood sugar. Eli Lilly’s basic stock is selling for $78.78 as it states on MarketWatch.com. Pfizer makes my Geodon though as I mentioned earlier, and their stock is selling for $35.18. Pfizer is way more affordable for me right now. The Abbot Diabetes Care Company makes the line of Freestyle products I use. Let’s look them up.

Abbott sells at $58.08 and that’s a touch expensive right now, but possible later on. I definitely need to read more about the stock market. So you see, you can invest in your companies that provide you with supplies. I wonder how much Medtronic Minimed would go for? If anything, I’d love to be a shareholder with Minimed. Yes. Medtronic sells for $79.97, with a drop -$1.04 or 1.3 percent drop. Maybe they aren’t a good investment right now, but the company certainly has potential.

As far as other investment choices I could be making, I’m not sure what companies I would buy stock in, but I would use a site like E-trade or Ameritrade, two of the most popular electronic brokerages. They might make it easier to put stock together. I know somebody who used to do E-trade stuff. You have a broker you tell to what types of stock you want to buy. Brokers earn several cents per share when you use the online brokerage firms. Selecting the stock, you can make a “market order” or a “limit order;” however, if you want to buy stock in Dell, at $60 a share, and it is trading at $70, the broker would have to wait until the price is within your limit order. Brokers are not the only way to buy stock as you can go directly to the company. Stocks are given out by companies to raise capital in order to grow the business. Shares are what make up stock. Stock is made up of common stock or preferred stock. Common stock manages to give owners voting rights while preferred stock shares a fixed number of common shares after a date that was previously chosen. Shareholders own one or more shares of stock in a joint stock company. Now I have to decide to get myself an E-trade account and start trading.

investing
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.