The Swamp logo

The Self-Identity Crisis

A Controversial Topic

By Dylan Published about a year ago 3 min read
2
The Self-Identity Crisis
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

Before you judge this article, please read through with an open mind and try to fully understand my stance on this topic. I have done my best to be reasonable and considerate.

The Self-Identity Crisis

It's 2023, for some strange reason it has become perfectly normal for people to identify as a member of the opposite gender. I've thought about this topic for a good while, and it's hard to contradict the belief without sounding hateful and discriminating. However, I think I have figured out a way to explain the thoughts of someone who disagrees with the transgender movement using a more polite and considerate approach.

I call it the self-identity crisis.

First of all, why do people self-identify?

People self-identify because that is how they feel on the inside. There is nothing wrong with how they feel on the inside. However, that should not influence their identity. An identity is not for oneself, you should already know who you are and have no reason to self-identify. An identity is for others to distinguish you from everyone else, and that is where gender comes in to play. Before I get into that, I'd like to explain my thought process.

We are not our bodies, we are the spirit inside of our bodies. Religion calls it the soul and science calls it the conscious. Regardless of what you believe we are the energy inside of us, not the physical body itself. Therefore, how you feel on the inside does not determine what you are on the outside.

Gender is a way to distinguish the male body from the female body. It does not have an effect on who you are on the inside, it is just simply a description of your body. Male or Female, Man or Woman, Boy or Girl, simple as that. It does not change who you are on the inside, because who you are on the inside is genderless. Gender is a physical trait used to identify specific human beings, just like skin colour. It is not something that you can change because of how you feel, it just is. It is given to you for other's to differentiate you from everyone else. If everyone chooses their own gender then there is no way of determining what their gender is without asking them, which defeats the purpose of identification.

We need to stop encouraging people to "change genders" because it doesn't actually help them in any way and it make's life more difficult for everyone. It has become a problem and it will confuse the younger generation resulting in a terrible outcome.

If you still don't agree with me, think of it like this:

I am a white man, that is part of my identity. If you see me in person, it is easily noticeable that I am indeed white and a man. If I were to wake up tomorrow as a black woman, I would still be the same on the inside. I'm still the same me as I am today, however, my identity would've changed from a white man to a black woman.

In summary, gender is not a social construct. Gender is actually a description of the body that you are currently in, and it will either be male or female. How you feel on the inside does not determine gender, gender is pre-determined at birth. You can be whoever you want and feel however you want to feel, however you cannot change what you are. There is a clear division between the physical world and the spiritual world. Gender is a part of the physical world and we are a part of the spiritual world. Our bodies are physical and the gender belongs to the body, our mind may feel like the opposite (which is fine) but that does not change what is.

We need to learn to accept our bodies and all the flaws that come with them. Our body does not define who we are as a person, however it determines how we appear to those around us.

Thank you for reading, I really hope this will shed some light on the situation and assist in bridging the gap between the division. Please like and share if you found this insightful or if you agree with this ideology. Please leave a polite comment with a valid argument if you disagree with this ideology.

presidenttrumpsocial mediasatirepop culturepoliticspoliticiansopinionnew world orderlegislationhumanityhistoryfeaturefact or fictionenergyeducationdefensecorruptioncontroversiescongresscelebritiesartactivism
2

About the Creator

Dylan

Hello! I am a writer, poet, rapper, and musician trying to make it in this crazy world! If you like my poem's please leave a like and subscribe!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    I, too feel the same way and I understand why you may seem hesitant about something that was once logical. I have begun to voice the same concern on Medium, where I feel a lot less judged for some reason. And I did get a hate comment, calling me cancer, but that was one comment, which didn't surprise me as I do find the ones who disagree tend to abuse and insult rather than maturely counter ideas with respect.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.