The Swamp logo

Standing Up for Sitting Out

A plea for caring less about more

By Scott ChristensonPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
2
Photo by rayul on Unsplash

“You MUST stand against Hamas,” someone tells me, “Stand Up for Palestine!” another insists.

After watching a dozen YouTube videos on the history of the region and the conflict, I still can not decide. Analysts from both viewpoints make perfectly rational arguments why their side is correct and just. I've spent hours flip-flopping from being terribly outraged at one side, and then the other, and feel I am no closer to making an informed decision on 'where I stand' than when I started. I'm exhausted, outraged, and want to shout at everyone. I need a breather.

Does it matter?

Would me “standing” for one side or the other make any change for the people in Gaza and Israel? Somewhere deep in the occupied territories, an armed man shouts, “Hey, Scott on the other side of the world said something on Twitter. Let's call off the attack!”

I think not.

The only consequence of my declaration would be to join a group of (probably online) people who are angry at another group of people, who are feeling the same sort of outrage back in the other direction.

Do I have the Answer to the World's Hardest Question?

We don't ask people who are unskilled at math to attend a Calculus class and then solve an equation after one lesson. Why do we ask people to read a news article about the Middle East, a place they've probably never been, don't understand, and don't speak the language, to suddenly decide the correct 'stand' on an immensely complicated conflict that has a three thousand year history? I don't have the answer.

What Body Language?

Do we so often make firm judgements on far-away, complicated conflicts because our language makes it easy to do so?

I've noticed that most expressions involving politics use the verbs for standing or sitting: we stand for elections, we sit out of a debate, we stand in solidarity, we sit on the fence. Maybe our pre-linguistic ancestors communicated with manic gestures and people standing or sitting in a confusing game of charades.

At the end of the game, whoever was left erect on two feet was “standing up” t0 go wage war on the next village.

By Crawford Jolly on Unsplash

“But, I didn't know what I was voting on,” the man above mumbles non-verbally in his head.

When the decision on who was to attack the next village occurred, I hope my ancestor was sitting down and enjoying some peace and quiet. The laws of Darwin make that highly likely to have been the case.

But...

“But, this time, THIS ISSUE, is really important!” they say.

Really?

Looking back on the previous decade, we've had a half dozen events that were predicted to be 'the END of EVERYTHING!' A pandemic, Brexit, fires and hurricanes spurred on by global warming, America being defeated by Afghans in slippers, Kim Jong-un smiling behind a nuclear bomb, Trump gaining/losing office depending on which side you are on. But we are all still here, aren't we? And pretty much doing the same thing we were all doing before. At least I am.

I get it. Things get emotional. Some of you will want to tell me about some horrific suffering or despicable act of violence that I just can't ignore.

Before you do that, consider this: there are 195 countries in the world, and something terrible has happened in each and every one of them today. If CNN covered them all, we could all be on a 24-hour hamster wheel of outrage at events from Tajikistan, around the globe to Paraguay, and back again.

If a lone wolf in Alaska barks for a lost puppy in Patagonia. Does it really help?

Things to Lay Down For

Let's sit down and have a heart-to-heart. There are indeed things we should care about. Mostly things that affect us and the people immediately around us.

Since all the standing up for faraway violent conflicts has mostly caused a lot of young men to bump elbows and start wars with each other, I think we should think about transitioning to a new political posture.

So, if anyone is looking to “lay down for global peace”, “lean back for racial tolerance”, or “lounge for shorter working hours”, you've got my vote.

By Cookie the Pom on Unsplash

satire
2

About the Creator

Scott Christenson

Born and raised in Milwaukee WI, living in Hong Kong. Hoping to share some of my experiences w short story & non-fiction writing. Have a few shortlisted on Reedsy:

https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/author/scott-christenson/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    I'm so glad you wrote this! Us taking sides ain't gonna stop the war or help anyone. I'm not on anyone's side. I won't be on anyone's side if it has to do with war. I'm on the side of peace. Of talking like mature adults. Yeah they can say talking didn't help. But I believe communication is very important and powerful as well. So yeah, for my peace of mind, I'm just gonna stay out of it. Like you said, I'm gonna lay down for global peace!

  • I would say that it is still important to put a stance toward different things occurring in the world - even if the stance is to not really know where (or if) to stand between different stances. To me, this article is a "stance" which is valid and brings a great perspective. Voicing our perspectives can help bring better information to individuals who may not be aware, and unified voices can push people to make moves in the world. Should we take a stance on "everything"? Probably not. But I think it is important to take stances on the things we do believe in. At least, that is my perspective haha. I really enjoyed reading this Scott!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Like you, I definitely appreciate that my understanding of the complexities of this war are not sufficient for me to "stand for" one side, I recognise that what Hamas has done is horrific, and what Israel has done is horrific. And to be frank I've been in tears watching five minutes of news more than once lately. But that's all I'm offering this situation, more tears in the flood, and that's not a lot of use. But there are times it is worth standing up. It's a posture of action and there are definitely times our action counts. And times our laying down counts too.

  • A random rant at the constant noise that I should be really angry about the plethora of worldwide political events that come our way daily. I've learned that watching the news less is greatly beneficial to my own personal serenity and hasn't really changed anything in the global discourse.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.