The Swamp logo

Dear Donald, Just A Thought Or Few Before You Go

There is no way to make everyone happy all the time

By Susana ShadowsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Can I just start by telling you that I commend you. Not for the job, you have done as the President of the United States of America, but, for taking on the job, to begin with.

You sir took on a thankless job. Going in on day one you knew deep down there was no way you would ever make every American citizen happy with your choices.

You have faced a lot of backlash from the beginning from those who did not vote for you publicly announcing that you "are not, and would not ever be their President."

This is a sad state of affairs in my opinion. You see I was raised by a generation that taught respect, and loyalty. That being stated let me also be the first to admit I am not the most educated when it comes to politics. In fact, many would describe me as completely naive with my way of thinking as far as how I believe the United States should be run as a whole.

You see, I am the type of person who believes Americans as a country should always work together to be the best that we can be, and make our country the greatest.

In my 57-years I can honestly state that I have witnessed so many things taking place in America that I never dreamed I would ever see. I guess I could be called a dreamer. In my mind, the USA would function United daily.

Everyone would have jobs and do them proudly making a fair and honest living. Children would get the best education available, taught to respect their elders, those in authority, and their country.

In my perfect world family is and would always come first. Family meals and get-togethers are expected on the weekends. Religions would not be questioned or discriminated against, only accepted.

In my world, no-one cares about the color of your skin, we are all just people. When it comes to helping out your neighbor, we do what we can. I guess I have this old-school classic television look on life, Andy Griffith, Leave It To Beaver, shows like that. Yes, they were simple but isn't simple enough to make you happy.

Today everyone is too concerned with taking a stand over everything thing. You have to have the best and newest phones, video games giant TVs, cars. Is it all really worth it when it comes down to it?

As far as the United States dealings and aiding other countries. Now, mind you this is my small-minded version of a perfect world. Should we help others? Sure...but, only after we have cleaned up our own backyards.

Are all of our Americans working, fed, healthy, have homes, and so forth. I mean, how can we be expected to help others in the world when our own homeland is such a mess? I would love to see America running smoothly, everyone is able to take care of theirs and then reach out to help others in need.

Now I am well aware that when others read this they will have plenty of strong opinions on my thoughts. That is okay, because as I stated I do not have the first clue on what it takes to be President of the United States, nor would I want to.

What I do have a clue about is looking past the negative, hoping we all learn from what mistakes have been made, and searching for the positive and pulling together regardless of your political opinions, and striving to make this a country we can all be proud of once again.

I want to look ahead to the future of my grandchildren and their children and hope that they can have an opportunity to live a wonderful life in the United States. What I do hope in the end we can all agree on is we need to all come together regardless of your political beliefs and make this the country we all know it can be again. Don't the children of today and of the future deserve to know just how great America can really be?

trump
1

About the Creator

Susana Shadows

A woman of the world who feels like she has already lived many lifetimes and adventures in just a handful of decades.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.