Serve logo

Death is near

Death doesn’t always take you

By Johnny MPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Death is near
Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

As I lay here on this battleground surrounded by gunshots, my wounds slowly leak my smelly bodily fluids like a drain. My other troops lay next to me already gone as there are others who still live. Why did it have to end this way? I ask.

I have lost feeling in my legs, can no longer move, yet I can still see. Heartbreaking cry’s of Marines yell for help and scream in remarkable pain. Smokey clouds float above me while the gunshots overpass my corpse laying there. It's almost time, I think to myself. I look over just barley to see one of my brothers no longer breathing. I think, it’s getting closer.

Death is near, and to all my friends and family waiting for me to come home, just know I fought for you. for these forsaken people that even still deserve the same respect you all do. For our home and children. For our future. I will miss you deeply. I’m sorry I couldn’t do more. Never forget who I am.

My vision becomes a soft blur and my hearing slightly fades away, all I can do is listen to these gunshots which now sound like their miles away.

A dark force comes suddenly like a cold breeze and hits me in the face. I see nothing but a dark grey sky and to my corner, a silhouette of a dark hooded figure with a scythe grasped to its hands. It walks to me, stands above me and looks me in the face. My vision, still a soft blur but able to see it’s deep dark red eyes.

Death reaches out his hand towards me. in my head, I think my last thought before I go. I've done my best here, it's time to rest now. And so I grasp onto Death's palm and away my spirit goes, heaven will have me soon enough and I will forever watch over my people like a guardian angel.

Just as I thought I was really gone, I feel my body being carried to the nearest helicopter. My sergeant speaks loud and clear asking me to hold on and that I can make it back to my family. I feel the cold breeze of the propellers hit my body cooling me off a little. I’m finally in the chopper ready for take off. To my right I see my partner, looking at me and smiling. We did it! It’s over. Hoorah! He says in a painful treble in his voice. His face is beat up and bloody, weak with a tear rolling down his cheek.

After take off, my body had shutdown and put me to sleep from the pain I was in. I still couldn’t feel my legs but I knew when I came to, I would be safe, healing in a bed. I will no longer serve the country overseas, fight the taliban and see my brothers go. I will rest for a while until I’m ready for battle again because I know I had done a great job serving as I had already done 3 tours. I know I had to get back to my family and hug them. Especially my little ones.

When I came to, my friend from earlier layed on a bed next to me asleep. I look forward to my legs and can finally feel my toes. Aching feet and sore legs but able to feel. My upper body was wrapped in bandages that cover up my stitched wounds from the knife and gunshots I received in battle. I cry knowing I made it. Because I had seen death in it’s dark red eyes and thought I would never be seen again. But the lord had something bigger for me. I would get to go home. That’s a true miracle of God. That’s the power of faith.

By Joel Rivera-Camacho on Unsplash

On our way home, I was able to walk again. I got in the plane and sat next to my buddy who seems to never leave my side. Even through the bad times. After 9 months in hell, fighting for our country, it was finally over. The Taliban had lost, over a thousand dead but thousands more going home. My heart goes to those who fought until their last breathe and their families. For the next 4 hours I sat in that plane, couldn’t wait to get home. On the 5th hour I felt the plane prepare for landing so I looked over to my buddy and said “We’re home brother.” As we salute each other while the doors open, we walk onto the ramp of the plane and get out of it heading towards our family and friends. At last, the hugs begin to warm our hearts as the tears come rolling down like a waterfall. The war is over, and I’m not going back for a while.

marine corps
Like

About the Creator

Johnny M

Hi there, I’m John. I’m most best at writing horror stories and articles. I do write my own movie, tv scripts and books so keep a look out on a my name and hope you enjoy what i write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.