Vocal Creator Chat: 03/05/2024

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
36

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Monthly on Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • 🕒 We want to apologize for some delays in moderation. We are working on processes to improve the turnaround time for flagged content.
  • 💰 We applied the five years of Vocal+ memberships for Tier 2+ investors in our Reg CF. The rest of the perks are on their way.
  • ✍️ We launched our first ever, free creator-led challenge, The Dragon Beside Me, with Voices in Minor. Let us know what you think about this type of challenge collaboration, or any other groups we should co-sponsor challenges with, in the comments. We also just launched two more challenges: Snacktime Sonata and Whispering Woods.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads biweekly on Thursdays at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
36

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Kailee Harrington27 days ago

    I know I'm a little late on this thread, but I have a question about the word count. I know that poetry has to be at least 100 words and everything else at least 600. However i've been reading stories and poetry on here and notice some have maybe 30 words or less for poems and and around half of the requirement for regular stories. I was wondering if vocal plus has no word limit or if its something else?

  • Call Me Lesabout a month ago

    Sorry this is so belated, I'll bring it up again on the next one. I know this has been asked several times now but where are we with turning off the tip prompt pop ups? And tips in general? There are certain pieces that I feel very uncomfortable. Tipping isn't really big in my culture (Canada) and it isn't as big as the USA. I'd really like to be able to leave tipping off sometimes. Just like we can flick comments on and off. Is that still in the works? Thank you!

  • Serenity Zahnle2 months ago

    Is there anyone else who is writing a fictional series through poetry? I'd like to meet more poets who do this.

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    I really really want black t-shirts available in the vocal store😅

  • I’m wondering if anyone has a created a blueprint for connecting better? Like a daily routine? I need to get better about reading pieces, subscribing to others, commenting. It’s a bit overwhelming to me though. If someone has written about a daily method of operation to both find the right people to subscribe to while growing your network I’d love to know.

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    Is the ability to quick edit title and subtitle still on the roadmap? When could we expect that?

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I like the Dragon challenge and all suggestions; I am encumbered with life at this time and haven't been able to keep up with you wondrously talented people:)

  • Cendrine Marrouat2 months ago

    Hello Vocal Team! I've been trying to reach you for days regarding my membership. Please respond or I will have to dispute the charge.

  • Boniface Maduka 2 months ago

    Good day all, Pls I didn't see where to click to creat a story on my dashboard. What do I do pls

  • Jazzy 2 months ago

    Hi, I just wanted to ask if there was a way for this collaborative dragons challenge to possibly make entries anonymous; there is somebody on the judging team that I know doesn’t like me and so I’m worried that if I entered they’re definitely just gonna throw mine out.

  • Saylor Rica2 months ago

    Remote work isn't just a trend, it's the future of work. Work Remotely from your own house. We just want your typing skills, You as7 can make more than 120USD/Hr. No matter where you are. Let’s Grow together and do great things, even if we’re far apart… Take a Look……… 𝐖𝐰𝐰.𝐌𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐲𝐏𝐚𝐲𝟏.𝐂𝐨𝐦

  • Anna 2 months ago

    I love the Dragon Challenge, and I think everyone is killing it with their beautiful and amazing work!🤟 Looking forward to the results, and more Challenges with creators' cooperation!! Love y'all

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    3 things! (Still kind of new here, so sorry if I'm beating any dead horses) 1. I'd love for the Raise Your Voice thread to be every week, but that just might be me, so feel free to disregard! I read so many good pieces in a week that once two have passed I've got too many I want to point out! 2. Has there ever been a creator of the week/month. Maybe they'd have their profile pages linked on the creators we're loving section, but also a resource/top story highlighting them and some of their pieces? 3. Kind of connected to scheduled posting mentioned by sleepy drafts, but maybe also routine scheduling of when Top Stories are featured? I like to try and keep up as many days as I can, and some days that's easy to do when they're spaced well, but pretty difficult when it's a bunch all at once.

  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    🖐 Love to all!! 😁❤️ I think the dragon challenge with ViM is awesome and i am excited to see the results on that one. At Vocal Social Society we have a challenge brewing for poetry which is a little left field. We would love to collaborate with you. It's fun, and I confess, close to my heart. We shall send the details in to info@vocal. Hope you like it! Exciting!!

  • Thavien Yliaster2 months ago

    What do You consider to be fair use? Cause I've seen people use it appropriately, and other people (such as examples from the streaming community) just use other people's content without adding in any form of input, reaction, etc. Practically not adding in anything of substance to the other creators content.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    There are some awesome suggestions in here!! I'm also so excited to reach out with Rick about a future challenge. 👀💕💪🏻💗 As for changes, I won't mention the AI thing since it was covered in the article and the comments already! I'm excited to see what solutions come for this. 💕 A separate suggestion I would love to see considered as a writer on the platform would be a way to have greater control over planning/scheduling posts/branding. It would be awesome to be able to plan out our profiles more easily by being able to move things around in the drafts and see what articles/cover photos complement each other well. A feature to schedule posts would also be awesome! Other than that, I would love to see Vocal's social media pages revived. I miss being able to repost from Vocal on X and Instagram! I think it would be a great way to bring new users to the site, especially fiction writers and poets. Thank you for starting this thread! It's been wonderful to see the platform and community evolve. 💗💕💓

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Many thoughts for improving the editor on Vocal. Is there something in the works ready, like a redesign? Some complaints I have (feel free to add more, anyone) Highlighting function is terrible when a hyperlink is present. Overall, though, the highlighting function needs to be improved so that it doesn’t skip to the top of the document or a few paragraphs away from where the cursor was indicating. Bullet point lists are inconsistently spaced between items, depending on whether a bullet is removed or added later. The line spacing should be consistent, or else have a separate function for adjusting it. Can we have an automated numerical list function added, like in Word/Google Docs? Once we start with 1, it indents and continues with an “enter.” I should be able to press “enter” after a hyperlink in a bullet point item without the bullet point status going away. Can we figure out a way to add a space after a hyperlink without continuing the link? As it stands now, i have to copy/paste spaces to do so. Not all hyperlinks are part of a longer sentence (my contents list, for example). The highlighted text should create a boundary for the hyperlink. It shouldn’t continue when a space is added after. Shift-Enter should be functional; this creates no spaces between lines (like Medium has). It’s great for poetry. Spaces and indenting should be allowed to remain after publishing for poetic formatting reasons. The word counter should show number of words in a highlighted section. These changes would really make the editor more appealing to work in.

  • Dana Stewart2 months ago

    Hello Vocal, I'm curious about the Do Not Sell My Information tab. Once I was made aware of this, I clicked to Opt Out and got the following message: 'We've received your request for this device or browser, and we will no longer sell or share your data with third parties. Learn more about our data practices in our privacy policy.' Can Vocal give some background about what personal data has been shared up to this point - prior to opting out? Thank you

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Hello. I'm curious how long it should take to receive a payout after the request is put through. It's been two weeks for me now. Is that the new norm?

  • Em Keels (sleepy drafts) and I have been working on a great challenge for this coming April. This is one that we would like to co-sponsor with Vocal via the Vocal + Assist Facebook group. Who do we contact to submit our proposition?

  • Mother Combs2 months ago

    Queer Vocal Voices is putting on a new challenge. I think it would be the perfect challenge for Vocal to partner with/ I have sent Gina the details for this in Discord. I know partnering with you on this challenge would tickle Oneg, Jim, River, and me to death.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    Please add 'unattributed AI' as a reason for reporting stories and also comments. It will make the reports Vocal receives clearer and more consistent. Right now we need to choose either spam or intellectual property theft, which isn't exactly a fit. Today, I received a comment on my recent story that is reported, and I don't know that I choose the correct reason even now. They gave a minimal comment, for which I thanked them. They asked a basic question of me, which I gave a brief answer, and then they asked to chat on Telegram. (Um- no) I told them no, asked them to delete their comment. It's a new profile, with no stories. I reported the comment, but for what reason should I have used?

  • Hello Justin, I just wanted to let you know that I sent you an email regarding an issue that has me concerned. Gina, I also sent you a message through Discord regarding the same issue.

  • Suze Kay2 months ago

    Hello! Just checking in again about the emails regarding feedback for the Vocal Fiction Awards - did I miss it in my inbox, or are they yet to be sent? Thanks :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.