Vocal Creator Chat: 01/23/2024

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
25

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Monthly on Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • 💰 There is just 1 week left to become a Vocal shareholder. Learn about our Reg CF Community Funding Round here. We also published a resource about being both a creator and investor here.
  • 📚 The third Vocal Book Club pick is Trust by Hernan Diaz. Join the discussion here.
  • 🏆 We are creating the badges for the winners of the Vocal Writing Awards. Payments will be issued to the winners' Vocal Wallets on February 15th.
  • ✍️ There are 5 challenges live. We are committed to inspiring you to write this year and will continue to create weekly challenges.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every other Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
25

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    How long does it take to withdraw??

  • Abdullah3 months ago

    Hi

  • Ron Luginbuhl3 months ago

    How do I leave a tip for one of the storytellers . [email protected]

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I was wondering if Vocal might ever offer a "print your favorite stories" in a book offer? Facebook does that with memories accrued.

  • Barbara Curtis3 months ago

    I don't understand how I submit a story over 600 words but it keeps saying I don't have enough and rejects it

  • Little Feet3 months ago

    very nice post. https://www.littlefeetdubai.com/

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Can Vocal create an FAQ corner? Is there one and I missed it? It can be hard to find answers is users must search through “stories” by Vocal on the “how-tos.” I think one place for all the FAQs would be easier, productive and user friendly. 😊

  • Kelly Sibley 3 months ago

    Is it possible to consider having a notes section where writers can build connections with readers, like an area that is a constant thread?

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Curious if it's possible to implement a function that allows us to search our stats. It's not easy to find stories and see how they're doing when there are pages and pages to look through. Also, I'm appreciating the new rush of challenges, so thank you for the continued inspiration :)

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I hate to blow my own trumpet (a lie) and sorry if this has already been addressed at some point and I missed it: any chance of the VWA stories getting a banner, like Top Stories and first/second/runner up places do?

  • Test3 months ago

    I mentioned this on the Discord but was wondering if it would be possible to find a way to add a short message when we tip. I don't really want to write it publically.

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Is there a Resource for how to embed links already in existence? I wrote one last year and judging by the comments, I realized it would benefit more people than I’d originally thought. Is there any way I could submit it for the Resources, or something?

  • Thavien Yliaster3 months ago

    Would Vocal ever develop it's own private messaging system?

  • Simple request: Can hyperlinks open in a new tab? We already have that behavior for embedded links to other articles/webpages. If someone links to something at the beginning of an article, I might want to see that without losing my place in the previous piece. And, yes, I know about Ctrl+Click or Right Click + "Open in New Tab." But others may not know that, and as a former front-end developer, I know it's quite simple to alter that behavior (<a href="..." *target="_blank"*></a>), so I believe it would be a light lift for much greater UX benefit

  • Why was the Vocal Creators Resources Submission Dropped? I had my submissions ignored and so published them anyway covering many of the suggestions that have been raised again in here today

  • Suze Kay3 months ago

    Hi! Glad to see badges will be created for the VWA winners. I reached out about this a while ago and was told that would not happen. I was also told in the same email that the feedback for authors solicited during the voting section was not ever intended for the authors… is that true? Can I get some clarification on what the feedback was intended for, if not to be given back to the authors as it seemed? I would really like to read feedback for one of my shortlisted stories that I know still needs work.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Thanks for liking my haiku. That's all.

  • C. H. Richard3 months ago

    I would like to see a challenge for older stories or even a weekly highlight of a story that was not previously a top story. 😊

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Hi, all. Sorry to be Debbie Downer this morning. Just a quick question about an ongoing issue: Is anyone else still experiencing extended delays on withdrawals? My last has been in Pending status for 16 days now. I am hearing from support that they are backed up from the holidays. (Perhaps some holiday hiring might have been a good thing.)

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Hello all. Hope everyone is having a great year so far! This might be a little long winded but hear me out. It will make sense by the end, thank you. I vote to add another tab to the home page after resources and call it 'Road Map'. From time to time, we have seen things come off the map for our immediate use, thank you. But what we don't see or remember is everything else on the map. This would eliminate duplicate suggestions and reoccurring questions. It can be a simple format that includes the top things currently being worked on, or maybe just a complete list of everything on it. I think it will keep creators in the loop who are hoping for additional writing tools and keep us all excited about the direction this platform is going...Thanks for listening/considering... Now, back to writing, lol.

  • First, hello everyone! Second, how are you guys doing with the inverse challenge? Does anyone have any tips to help out a struggling poet before she tears her hair out? (Not literally, I have a great relationship with my hair.)

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    Hello everyone, I’m RP, the originator of creator hosted challenges, a poet, and short story writer. To anyone who wants to join in the fun, I have a new challenge open for submissions! https://vocal.media/poets/year-2033

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    This entry to my current challenge by Lamar is eye opening! https://vocal.media/poets/the-trojans-are-coming

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    We can see the number of hearts on a story. When will we be able to see total reads on a story?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.