Creator Spotlight: Fatima Elmusbahi

"I found myself before anything else, through life inspiration, memories and beautiful moments. That’s what kindled the writing style within me."—Fatima Elmusbahi

By Vocal SpotlightPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
12

Fatima has been a constant source of inspiration for the Vocal community. Her poems have given us an inside look into who she is, what she stands for, and the positive energy she radiates. Being vulnerable and opening up isn’t always easy, but she’s taught us how powerful it can be, and how one can truly find strength in their words. We’re excited to see her continue to explore storytelling through her poems and beyond. We got to chat with Fatima to talk about her journey as a creator, and what she’s looking to work on next!

On who she is:

I am a student of life. In simple. Everything I experience, everything that represents what I am, stems from my memories unfold. I love to live; to feel “alive” and not just exist. So each and everyday I live life to my fullest and seek the fulfillment of my soul. As cliche as that sounds, it’s what it’s all about. After all, we are not here to eat, sleep and pay bills-there is something beyond that. We feel, we connect, we are drawn to purpose in remedy and aid to our own greatness. Therefore, I strive each and every day to connect beyond what is mundane and satisfactory. I live to wield the universe, for my personal growth- a mindful embodiment of success. It’s empowering knowing that I am the remnants of the past and that the very secrets of the universe lie within my body.

So yeah, I’m quite the spiritual person and believe in kindling the purpose within me….

On poetry as a form of self-expression:

Poetry is art. It gives me a strength to wield power from the way I articulate my words. You can paint a picture within people's hearts and minds. To have the power to make an impact from poetry, that’s what I’m drawn to. To be remembered long after it’s spoken. From being young it was something I always enjoyed. Reading other writers throughout history, seeing their impact and what they left behind as a legacy, long after they have gone.

On finding her own creative identity:

The first thing I would recommend is, when you try and put pressure on yourself to creatively perform, it can overwhelm you and in fact you cannot produce anything that is worthy of your talents. The best thing that worked for me was to allow life to lead the way. I found myself before anything else, through life inspiration, memories and beautiful moments. That’s what kindled the writing style within me. Therefore do the same, don’t let your creativity burden you. It’s supposed to relieve you and be your solace and retreat. Find yourself and what truly passionately drives you and your writing style will submit and follow.

I find it’s great sometimes trying to capture a visual concept in your mind and putting it down on paper. It’s quite magical, like you are bringing it to “life” as the creator. Although I’m not the best photographer, (still amateur) I like trying out different settings with my camera, and capturing raw moments within street photography. Capturing the qualities that make us human, the compassion, the humanity. It’s beautiful and what I live for.

On her biggest inspirations:

I would definitely say Maya Angelou is one of my biggest inspirations, one quote of hers stays in my mind forever and it’s:

You only are free when you realize you belong no place — you belong every place — no place at all.

The idea that we can never conform to anything or anyone but ourselves, is the key and purpose to all my writing. Today’s society is obsessed with becoming someone else, finding the quick fix to change and following an unsustainable goal of happiness. Yet, happiness is something that stems from home. You. Me. We are home; that reachable happiness and source and it’s there to access so easily, you just need to realise it. You belong to yourself first and the longer you go searching for it in someplace else, the more true happiness is further away.

On her passion for travel and how it fuels her work:

Florence is a city where I would envision myself retreating within for my own creative growth. I definitely will be going back for a few months, to focus on my artistic visions. You can easily get lost in the culture, the music and the beautiful architecture there. It’s so quaint and small, everyone who’s there enjoys the city’s majestic stance and power.

You can expect many more travel inspired pieces, as this year 2020 I’ll be making trips every 2 months or so. So, stories on the culture, significant places that I come across and mindful passages.

On other ways to stay creative:

I like photography and drawing. I find it’s great sometimes trying to capture a visual concept in your mind and putting it down on paper. It’s quite magical, like you are bringing it to “life” as the creator. Although I’m not the best photographer, (still amateur) I like trying out different settings with my camera, and capturing raw moments within street photography. Capturing the qualities that make us human, the compassion, the humanity. It’s beautiful and what I live for.

On staying positive in the era of social media:

Unfortunately there are times where social media definitely takes a toll on me. There have been incidents where people have been too concerned about spreading hate, rather than love. But I got past it because I know who I am and who I am not. It’s irrelevant to me when I’m happy with where I am and where I’m going; and it will never hold me back but in fact drive me EVEN more! I will never waste a second on anyone who doesn’t value me, because that would mean I don’t value or respect myself. You need to sometimes be ruthless with yourself with who has access to your time. A moment spent worrying or being emotionally involved over anything that will not benefit you in the long term, means you are giving precious time away to that negative source. Time is a currency more valuable than money. I don’t intend to ever let the negativity raised from my social media hold me back or take away precious moments ❤️.

Don’t think about it—first thing that comes to mind:

What is one thing you couldn’t live without? Nature, it’s therapy to me.

Cats or dogs? Both.

Go-to late night snack? Cheetos.

Go-to coffee order? Almond milk latte with cinnamon.

What’s a movie that you could watch over and over? The time traveler's wife. My favourite!

If you could go anywhere for vacation, where would you go? Bali.

If you could speak a new language, what would it be and why? Italian, it’s so soothing and beautiful to listen too. Italy’s home to me, so it makes sense to learn it fluently beyond the basic language that I know.

Favorite story you read on Vocal? “5 tips for the solo traveller” by Lynsey Bec ❤️

What’s one of your favorite stories you’ve published on Vocal? My favourite story I have published is the Antevasin piece. This piece describes who I am and many others around the world. It’s a piece that I feel people can connect with greatly in their own personal way.

Thank you for sharing your story with us, Fatima! We're very excited to see what you create next. If you'd like to keep up with her work, follow her on Instagram, and read her latest story below:

12

About the Creator

Vocal Spotlight

Vocal Spotlight aims to highlight standout creators who are changing the world one story at a time. We're getting to know the storytellers who inspire us the most, and we can't wait for you to meet them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.