Creator Spotlight: Dr. Megan Babb

"Writing is my therapy. To be able to formulate emotions into words allows for a transfer of energy from the mind and body into something that is far more tangible." --Dr. Megan Babb

By Vocal SpotlightPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
27

Dr. Babb is about as selfless as they come. As a mother of 4, devoted wife, active community member, and primary care physician, we often wonder how she has enough time to churn out such thoughtful, deep content. Whatever her secret is, we sure hope she keeps it coming. Megan's dedication as a primary care physician transfers beautifully to text. She invites her readers under her wing as she confronts the hard-hitting injustices found in America's health care system. She's earnest, fact-driven, and personable—it's almost as if you can hear her voice as you read her stories.

Her active presence on Vocal, and grounded humanitarian perspective, made us really excited to feature her on this #VocalSpotlight. Moreover, we thought it was only appropriate to highlight Megan for all of the hard work she puts in as one of the frontline medical professionals during the COVID-19 pandemic.

A quote from her recent post, "Health Care Workers Forced to Work Without Pay": "[T]he truth is, America’s healthcare system lacks internal checks and balances, giving a free pass for those with authority to exploit those at the center of this system...We will never escape the abusive conditions we face if all of us don’t stand together for fairness. We can be heroes to each other and still be heroes for others but only if we unite to protect the altruism belonging to us, others are selfishly exploiting." Thank you, Dr. Babb--for your service, leadership, and for exemplifying what it means to hold the system accountable. Without further ado, we present to you the lovely, modest, Dr. Megan Babb:

On who she is, her family, and her profession:

I am a complete extrovert, mother to four crazy little nuggets (7, 5, 5, and 3 years old) and the wife to one truly amazing human being. We certainly have a crazy life but as my husband and I like to call it, it’s really blissful chaos. It takes a village and we would not be able to survive without ours.

Aside from writing, I am also a primary care physician. I love my job, love the practice of medicine and am not afraid to stand up to those who obstruct any individual’s access to the care they deserve.

As a primary care physician, my job is not glamorous. I am not in an operating room performing surgery or in an emergency room performing life-saving heroics. However, my job is still important because it is my job to advocate for those who cannot advocate for themselves. I am very aware that I come from a place of privilege where not only I can have a voice but one in which I can express freely.

On inspiration and what creating means to her:

I am inspired by those who give voices to those whose voice has been taken away. I am most inspired by two people: Ruth Bader Ginsburg for her unapologetic voice and Bryan Stevenson, founder of the Justice Initiative Project for his unwavering perseverance and tenacity to advocate for social justice.

Left: Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Sebastian Kim, Right: Bryan Stevenson by Robert Fouts

Writing is my therapy. To be able to formulate emotions into words allows for a transfer of energy from the mind and body into something that is far more tangible. Personally I find it is a great way to both give and receive support from those in similar boats.

On what keeps her sane during these crazy times:

My family. Every day when I get home from work, the transfer of energy from my kids to my often depleted self is all I need in the world to remain sane.

On her favorite story she's published on Vocal:

My favorite story is “You Died by Suicide.” That story is raw, 100% authentic, and allowed me to put into words the damaging effects of our healthcare system on so many people.

Don’t think about it—first thing that comes to mind:

What is one thing you couldn’t live without? My clinic staff

Cats or dogs? Dogs

Favorite travel destination? Earth, every country has a story to tell and a society of people rich with culture waiting to tell it.

What’s your go-to late-night snack? Chocolate covered gummy bears.

What are you currently binge-watching? Bosch

"Bosch" - Web Television Series, available on Amazon Prime Video

If you could speak a new language, what would it be and why? Spanish so I could communicate better with my Spanish only speaking patients

Favorite story you read on Vocal by another creator? Social Justice Poem by Alvin Ellis.

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule, Dr. Babb. It was a pleasure getting to know you more and sharing all that you do for the betterment of America's healthcare system.

Be sure to find/share/tag Dr. Megan Babb with the links below for Twitter (@MeganBabb1522) and Instagram (mbabb1522).

Check out her other related articles by clicking on the titles below:

27

About the Creator

Vocal Spotlight

Vocal Spotlight aims to highlight standout creators who are changing the world one story at a time. We're getting to know the storytellers who inspire us the most, and we can't wait for you to meet them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.