Creator Spotlight: Camilla Rantsen

"Be you. Write, act, create from who you are, whether it’s a project or business. Even if it’s not 'trendy' or 'right' at the time."—Camilla Rantsen

By Vocal SpotlightPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2

Camilla Rantsen—model, actress, writer, “hygge guru.” She’s used to life in the spotlight, having made her mark on the screen in titles like Law & Order and Bandwagon. She’s an established author, with other projects in the making. She’s graced the Vocal community time and time again, and we finally got the chance to speak with her. Read on to learn more about this star creator.

All-Things-Camilla—Who she is, and what she does:

I am deeply sensitive, overly dramatic and smarter than my face—literally all the things that would terrify you on a dating profile, but actually are very useful in real life and as an artist. I used to eat and marry amateurishly, but I’m much better now.

Besides that, I want to start by talking about what I do, because I live in LA, and we are nothing if not walking business cards, and a drink called “Never Enough.” I think it’s because our jobs are our favorite pastimes and hobbies, and if it wasn’t for the newest HIIT-pilates-super lift-pole-dancing-yoga-ballet-core class we take, we would be a one horse town. I’m basically an import from Denmark, via London. I went to drama school in London, and came out to LA to be dramatic. I didn’t necessarily come to be an actress. I came for vacation, and I stayed. I fell in love with LA like you fall in love with a person. A real crush. Like a Lana del Rey song that keeps going. I have had the very best experiences, which to me are odd experiences that no one ever believes, and the very worst which we are just beginning to believe.

On her role models:

Jane Fonda, Obama, Melissa McCarthy, Tiffany Haddish, RBG, HRC, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Billie Eilish, Dorothy Parker, Charlie Chaplin, Jenny Mollen, Marilyn, Bette, Keanu, The Rock, and, I am finally old enough to admit it, my parents.

On being a “hygge guru”:

Hygge is a Danish word for cozy, and so much more. Hygge is about softness and soft landings. It’s feeling insanely good, insanely safe, insanely warm. Like every kind of texture is just perfect. It’s also the next level of something. Like, you can be attracted to someone, but then you realize that they are also a hyggelig person, and it’s obviously love. Right? You can hang out with friends and it can just feel so natural, like family; that is hyggeligt.

There is no face, gender, or age of hyggelig. There is no “bitch” in hygge, there is no “difficult” in hygge. It’s things working out, because you’re having a great night in. It’s love in it’s best form, and it’s your own company at it’s best. That’s not to say going out to a bar can’t be hyggeligt. That’s seriously up to you. It’s about making yourself feel good, as you are. If you in any way are out to make others feel bad or less than you, you can assume that you are not a hyggelig person, but then I’m sure you’re used to not-so-soft landings.

On her journey in acting:

I was trained in the English theatre, and that’s frankly all that I thought existed. Yes, I knew people did TV shows. I loved American TV shows as a kid, even if we only got three of them, and I loved American movies. It was just that at the time, when you trained in England all that anyone cared about was theatre. So when I came to LA, I was sort of shocked that everyone was an actor.

I really loved acting. I had a really hard time looking at myself, though. I have modelled, and acting was similar in that way. You know. It was you. It wasn’t that anyone told me that I wasn’t good enough or pretty enough, it was that I thought that. I quit just when I started booking big movies and magazine spreads, because I felt like I didn’t deserve it. The usual. There were so many things that I thought I either had to put up with, or let go of this dream—or, at the time, reality—so I quit and started writing instead, because surely no one would grope you as a writer, right? I know. All women have the same story.

Anyway. I want to start acting again. I’m a natural writer, but I also love acting, and it’s time to stop making shit up if it’s not on the page. I haven’t done anything for at least a year. I did a movie as a favor to someone, but I might act in my own show next year.

Life on set:

Set is never, ever as crazy as life in general. Or getting there. Law & Order was mostly trying not to be intimidated by acting giants who were series regulars. It was mostly me trying not to be the superfan that I am. I really loved being on that show. Lords of Dogtown was just loving being on set with Nikki, Victor, and Heath. Really beyond amazing people. Sometimes set, is just trying not to fall in love with the person you’re kissing. Life is just a little more complicated, with muuuuuch better stories. And kisses.

On her writing:

I’m working on a “fiction memoir.” You know, a book that I pretend is not my actual life. And also a YA novel. On top of that, I’m currently working on the second book to my comic book series Swallow, with my illustrator.

Words of advice:

Be you. Write, act, create from who you are, whether it’s a project or business. Even if it’s not “trendy” or “right” at the time. Don’t listen to any sentences that start like this: “I love you, but…” about yourself or your work. Don’t let anyone tell you that your work “is great, but…” Nothing wonderful ever began with those two sentences. Also, they are not talking about you. They are talking about themselves. This, as Oprah would say, I know for sure.

What’s on her mind:

  • What is one thing you couldn’t live without? Family
  • Cats or dogs? Dogs
  • Something you never leave your house without? I would say keys, but I often leave the house without my keys
  • All time favorite movie? Are you serious? Oh, my god. One? There are at least 50. Anything that makes me sob violently, or laugh unattractively
  • What are you currently binge watching? The Politician, Handmaid’s Tale, and Gossip Girl (I never saw it when it was on. That was a mistake. It’s so well-written)
  • Dream vacation spot? Bali
  • If you could speak a new language, what would it be and why? I would clean up my French.
  • Starbucks or Dunkin’? Starbucks
  • Go-to late night snack? Coconut milk ice cream
  • Favorite local bars, coffee shops, or restaurants? La Poubelle (always and forever), Cafe Figaro, and H Club
  • Go-to Vocal community? Humans. Relationships... It’s my favorite kind of ship. Even when it makes me sea-sick
  • Favorite Vocal story? All of them. This is not Sophie’s Choice—which means I can’t make a decision. Yes, it’s now becoming very David Rabe, and Hurleyburley-esque. I think anything in dating, horror stories, or politics. They are obviously one and the same.

Thank you for sharing your work with us, Camilla! We're so excited to see what you create next. Keep up with Camilla's projects by following her on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook! Read her latest story below, on how to dress for a break-up (how's that for a horror story?!):

2

About the Creator

Vocal Spotlight

Vocal Spotlight aims to highlight standout creators who are changing the world one story at a time. We're getting to know the storytellers who inspire us the most, and we can't wait for you to meet them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.