Creator Spotlight: Rebekah B Lowri

"I want people to be more aware of the incredible natural spaces, promote responsible use of them, as well as advocate sustainability and accessibility in the outdoors."—Rebekah B Lowri

By Vocal SpotlightPublished 5 years ago 4 min read

A writer, a photographer, a rock climber, a world traveler—Rebekah does it all. From stories recounting her travel experiences, to those offering valuable advice on photography, this creator continues to astonish us with her work. We got the chance to speak to Rebekah about her passions, her online travel publication, Nether, as well as projects still under her belt. Read on to see what she has to say!

On the creator, from the creator:

My name is Rebekah. I’m a 22-year-old photographer, writer, and founder at Nether. I grew up on the coast of South Wales (the original one, not the new one in Oz). As a chronically ill and injured climber and coach who had to step away from the wall for a while, I learnt to reconnect with the climbing community through telling stories, and taking photographs.

I’m also a linguist, spending the remainder of my time learning different words for the same things, and endlessly fascinated with the world, and the people that inhabit it. Learning foreign languages gives you so much more of an insight into the culture of a place. Not only does it make the logistics of travelling easier, but it also allows you to talk to people in their native language. Even a few words makes a huge difference to how they receive you.

On her first adventures:

Although I’d been on a few holidays with my family or with school, I’d never really considered that "travel." We would always stick to an itinerary, and there was very little room for exploration. The first time I experienced what I would call “travel” was when I was almost 20, and the first time (in my conscious memory) I’d flown on an aeroplane. We went to Oslo, Norway in late March, just after the snow had melted, and I sacked off a few days of uni for the cheaper tickets. Definitely worth it.

We spent four days wandering around the city, going to Viking and folk museums, the Nobel Peace Centre, and took boat rides around the bay. We were disappointed that all the bars there were for those 23 and over, even though the drinking age is 18. So, we grew accustomed to getting up earlier and drinking coffee instead. A happy compromise.

On how Nether began:

Following countless injuries and issues with my joints, I had to resign from my job as a rock climbing coach, as well as stop climbing for pleasure. Nether started in an attempt to stay connected to my friends in the climbing community. I would go along on climbing expeditions, and run around after them with a camera.

On where Nether is going:

I would love to see the community grow online, with more important conversations surrounding accessibility and sustainability. Hopefully, we will work more as professional photographers, and produce more documentary videos centering on the climbing and outdoor worlds, as well as travel and adventure. I would love it to become a full-time project, but I need to finish my studies before that happens.

I want people to be more aware of the incredible natural spaces, promote responsible use of them, as well as advocate sustainability and accessibility in the outdoors. Telling stories about people is also important to me. How we interact on an individual level with our surroundings and our communities has and always will be fascinating.

On her passion for photography:

Taking photos was one of the things that I used to do as a kid. It’s just something I did, before I even knew what I was doing. It was something I naturally gravitated towards. My grandfather bought me a tiny little digital point-and-shoot camera, and 8-year-old me used to run around the Welsh countryside, taking photos of trees and flowers and birds.

Then, as a 15 year old snapping away on an iPhone, to borrowing my boyfriend’s cameras on trips, to digging out the Olympus 35mm film camera that my mother used to take all of the photos of me and my siblings during childhood—I eventually got my hands on my own camera, a second-hand Sony DSLR. It’s by no means the latest and greatest piece of tech, but it’s taught me everything I know about my craft.

On her recent trip to Japan:

We had a wonderful time! I shot them all on my Honor 10 smartphone, because I lost my luggage on my connecting flight into Russia so my cameras (along with everything else) were a week behind me. Shooting with my phone made me really miss my cameras, but I loved how I could snap a photo, and immediately edit in Lightroom mobile, and share it with my family. It was wonderful not having to carry a heavy camera with lenses too!

The camera that I use most of the time is my old Sony a58, which was bought second hand for not very much money. It’s a few years old now and I’m starting to have difficulties with it, but it still does the job! I’m occasionally allowed to shoot on my boyfriend’s Sony A7III, which is a dream to use, and I love the silent shutter mode—It’s perfect when you’re trying to stay subtle, and not draw the attention of your subject.

On what's on her mind:

Travel alone or with a companion? Always with a companion. But with no more than two people.

One place you REALLY want to travel to? Tehran. My grandfather lived there in the 1960s, so I’d love to retrace his steps.

Favorite place you’ve ever traveled to? The hot spring town of Hirayu Onsen, in the Japanese Alps.

Go-to late night snack? The parsley/chilli pasta from the film Chef.

Best thing to do in your city on a rainy day? Stay in bed with a cup of tea. It’s not worth going outside.

Cats or dogs? Turtles.

Favorite Instagram account you follow? @Haarkon_ 's account: @india_hobson.

One song you can’t get out of your head right now? "Roll Back," by George Fitzgerald + Lil Silva.

If you could speak a new language, what would it be? Arabic.

Favorite local bar, coffee shop, or restaurant? In Sheffield—The Depot Bakery. The best bread and french toast in town.

Favorite story you read on Vocal? Gillian May’s Five Tips for Taking Stunning Portrait Photos.

Keep up with Rebekah on Instagram, check out her work on Nether, and read her latest story below!

About the Creator

Vocal Spotlight

Vocal Spotlight aims to highlight standout creators who are changing the world one story at a time. We're getting to know the storytellers who inspire us the most, and we can't wait for you to meet them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Vocal SpotlightWritten by Vocal Spotlight

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.