Psyche logo

You Can Fight The Pain!!

Living With Clinical Depression

By Alicia LeneaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
You Can Fight The Pain!!
Photo by Andre Benz on Unsplash

In the depths of the darkness depression knocks on the door, slowly pushing it open by force into the many tracks of your life. The pain is damaging, life threatening.

In the moment of the deepest darkness it doesn't seem like you will be okay. It doesn't make sense in your mind. You are alive. Well, yeah. Physically, but not emotionally. It feels like you are dead. Or maybe worse than dead, because how could death be more painful than the pain you feel right now? The truth of the matter is, you really don't know. Will it ever get better? Will you ever find a way out of this horrific nightmare?

You are probably thinking. No. There is no way I could get out of this pain! It is too much to bare! Too much to take. No one can see the scars in my heart. No one can see how bad I really am. If they could, maybe just maybe they would help me. Maybe they would understand. But they never will. No one will know what I go through. No one will ever understand me. So what's the point? Why do I continue if I am just going to feel excruciating, never ending pain?

While you think this and feel like there is no hope, no way out... When the pain is just too much to bare.. No matter what people think or say, you think they would be better off without you and probably won't care if you are gone. I have one thing to tell you. I have been there!

And I am not just saying this. I feel the pain just like you. I wanted so badly just to end my life, because I didn't feel like the pain was worth it. I thought the pain might as well grip me and take me down. I didn't care about anyone or anything anymore and didn't feel like anyone understood what I was going through.

Here's the thing though, when I found the strength to fight the pain instead of letting it consume me from the inside out, I was finally okay. Fighting through the pain gave me strength I did not know I had. It made me feel confident.

I don't know about you, but confidence is my form of happiness. I mean, with depression, I am never really happy for more than a few hours. That is only if something really good happened to get me out of the pain. The worst part is, when it doesn't last. It makes me want to crawl back into my shell and let the pain take control.

Fighting that pain feels so good! Have you ever just really disliked someone and you were having an argument that they always seem to win no matter how right you are? The one time you actually win the argument feels so good, right? It gives you confidence. That is what fighting the pain is like. You are fighting what no one else can see. You are doing what you need to do to get through this.

Depression will probably never leave you, but it can lessen over time! You can learn to live with it! You can learn to feel good. You can turn that confidence into your fuel and maybe start to feel happy for once in your life.

You can do this! I will be right here cheering you on! If everyone has given up on you, even yourself, just know I have not given up on you and never will!

depression
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Lenea

Hey guys, I am the small town girl that moved to NYC to follow her dreams to be a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.