Psyche logo

You are Beautiful

It is the truth within your soul

By Emma Jayne LionsPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

If you could share only one message for the rest of your life, what would it be?

This question was posed by a mentor of mine, Dr Ricci-Jane Adams, Principal of The Institute for Intuitive Intelligence. It is a question that really struck at my core and one that inspired me to really think about what my message is and what I want to share.

We hold the belief that we all have an individual and differing purpose. That your purpose in this life is different to mine. Yet, at our core, our soul’s purpose is the same - to remember and return to the truth of who we are, which is infinite consciousness.

We are not here to share our purpose with the world. We are here to remember our truth and share our gifts, our message with those around us. Too often in the current world, we struggle to know what our message is or what we stand for. So when I saw this question presented by my mentor, I took the time to sit and think about what I would share if there was only one message for the rest of my life.

Now there are many things that I feel inspired or impassioned by but if I had to narrow down my message into one single thing, it would be this…

YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL

Body image, self-love, self-image, self-esteem and eating disorders have been a part of me, a part of my life since my early teens. I know how it feels to feel uncomfortable in my own skin and own body. I know how it feels to hate myself so deeply. I know how it feels to use food and exercise to punish and abuse myself, to abuse food and exercise. I also know who it feels to overcome this, to learn to love myself and my body. I know how it feels when I nourish my body with food, when I take pleasure in food. I know how it feels to enjoy exercise and how my body feels afterwards when I am exercising for health rather than punishment.

It has taken me 30 years to learn what I instinctively and intuitively knew as a child - that I am beautiful. We are all beautiful. You are beautiful.

Beauty has nothing to do with your physical body or your looks. It has nothing to do with society’s ideal body, which constantly changes. In fact, it's been suggested by researchers that at any given time, only a very small percentage of the population has a body that fits society’s expectations. That means in reality, the vast majority of us at any given time, do not look the way society says we should. Yet, as a whole, we believe we are the problem, that there is something wrong with us because we do not look the ‘right way’.

We are all beautiful. Every single one of us. We simply don’t see our beauty because so many of us carry subconscious fears and beliefs around who we are and how we should look.

What many don’t know is that body image and our ability to see ourselves as beautiful is four-fold. It involves how we see ourselves, how we think about ourselves and our bodies, how we feel about ourselves and our bodies and how we act towards ourselves and our bodies. All four are equally important when it comes to knowing and accepting that we are beautiful.

But the key here is thoughts and beliefs. To a certain degree, it doesn't matter how well your see yourself or how good you feel about yourself… if your subconscious thoughts and beliefs are negative, if deep down you cannot for whatever reason believe you are beautiful in any way, shape or form, your ability to see your beauty and to behave and act in accordance with that truth, is compromised. If deep down you cannot believe this truth that you are beautiful, your ability to truly believe that, feel that, and see that will be sabotaged. Your subconscious belief will sabotage your behaviour and your choices.

Most of us are aware of subconscious beliefs and fears and how they can create self-sabotaging patterns and behaviours. If you have ever tried to lose weight or stick to an exercise program, especially when you didn’t want to, then you know how easy it is to sabotage yourself and your efforts. Your ability to see your beauty, to see yourself as beautiful is affected in the exact same way. You cannot see it if you don’t believe it.

To fully embrace the truth that you are beautiful means to find and clear the fears and beliefs that hold you back. To find those fears and beliefs that make you feel unworthy, unacceptable, unloveable. Those fears and beliefs developed within you for a reason. Often it's as simple as a means of trying to keep you safe or helping you survive a difficult time but eventually, these fears and beliefs, regardless of how innocently they began, take over. They become ingrained. To accept the truth that you are innately beautiful means releasing the fear around what beauty is and what it means to you.

Beauty is not society’s constantly changing expectation or definition. Beauty is not simply the physical human body that you are inhabiting in this life. Beauty is much, much more than that.

Beauty is soulful. It is held within your physical body, yes, but also no. Beauty is found and seen within your actions. In the way you speak, in the way you love and care for those around you. Beauty is your energy, your vibration. It is your service. It is the way you show up in the world. Your true beauty exists within every aspect of your energetic and infinitely conscious self.

This is not simply a fancy way of declaring that true beauty radiates from within, because yes, it does. Your beauty does radiate from within you. But this is not a platitude to make you feel better. The truth that you are beautiful is the truth because you are your beauty. Your beauty is who you are. It is always and has always been within you. Beauty is not the physical body. It is energy. We are all energy. Energy first, physical second. Our physical reality is a reflection of our energy. The more we embrace our beauty at that energetic level, the more our beauty is reflected in the world around us.

Embracing and accepting the truth that you are beautiful, and allowing that truth to influence your energy will change your world. We are instinctively drawn to that which we find beautiful. Accepting ourselves as beautiful not only draws us closer to ourselves and our truth but allows us to share this truth, this energy with everyone around us.

It is my wish that everyone learn this truth. That everyone comes to understand that they are beautiful.

If I could share only one message for the rest of my life, it would be this - You Are Beautiful.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Emma Jayne Lions

Writer, artist, wife and mother. I am all this and more. I am all this and nothing. I am simply me, using words to better my world and my understanding of my place within it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.