Psyche logo

“Yep, You Can Do This”

Tea quotes.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
“Yep, You Can Do This”
Photo by Haley Lawrence on Unsplash

I often tell me this: “Yep, you can do this”. Sometimes, I doubt about if I just can do ‘this’, or what I am doing. Can I really do it? If I can, did I take too much tasks on my plate. Can I really lay this piece on the violin? Can I actually write the story? What about the decision I have to make for my children?

When I was in therapy three years ago, my first therapist and I agreed on the fact that a human being is capable of more things than it thinks it can do.

I believe that when you believe in yourself, in others, and in the tasks that needs to be fulfilled, that you actually can do this, but you have to believe in yourself, your people, and whatever you are doing.

Being proud

When you can do something, you can make yourself proud, when your child can do something, you are proud of your child, when an event went as in mind, you are proud of how the event went and the people behind the event.

This quote reminds me of how wonderful people we are, what we all are capable of. All as long as we still believe in what we are doing, the skills we have, the people we work with, our parents, siblings, friends and most of all; ourselves.

It is important to believe in yourself. I know, it can be hard sometimes to believe in ourselves, but I also know (and have the experiences), then I have to believe in myself. Otherwise, what will the world be when we don’t believe in ourselves?

Can we be in the world when we don’t believe? What would the world be when there is no believe in ourselves, no believe in others, no believe in what we do? Will the world be more violent when we don’t believe in other species, their skills, and especially ourselves? How can we change that? Can we actually change that? Do we need to be more compassionate with each other?

If we believe in ourselves, in others, the skills we have, be more compassionate, loving each other, I think we will be more coming together, and we are more willing to have a peaceful world, as less violence as it can be. That is my wish for this year, and for the future.

Traumas

Since I am in therapy, I started to believe in myself again, but also, doubting if I lived my life correctly. During these sessions, I also realized that doubting myself will lead to untrustful events, or even not trusting others. When I talked about it with my therapist, he told me that it is because you have trusted many people in your life while they used you for their own benefits.

When they did that and you noticed, you become disappointed in other human beings’ intentions. From that point, it is a trauma in human beings’ intentions.

I know, traumas can be a doubtful thing as in trusting others, but what if we can learn to trust others again? I always had the benefits of the doubts when it was trusting other species on Earth. But I also realized that when I did trust people, I trusted the wrong people. The thing is, when my first therapist walked into my house, he sat on the couch, my gut told me he is trustworthy and I don’t need to worry about the skills of this man, or even thought, his intentions to harm me.

“Yep, You Can Do This”

So, Yep, I can trust others again, yes, I can do the things I love to do, and yes, I can do more than I think (and I thought) I can do. This is a step forward in being a human being I wanted to be and I want to be in the future. So, you can do whatever you want to do.

====================================================

Tea quote was taken by the author.

====================================================

I love tea very much; I drink it every day. I think about two or three full mugs every hour. Every time I make a new teapot, I find a tea bag with a quote. I love those quotes. These quotes inspire me to live a better life. These quotes remind me of things in life — my life — to make sure I think about events that had happened. Also, how I can change the future.

Sometimes, it is just fun to read those quotes. These quotes make me think of the actual meaning behind them. So, my pot full of quotes gives me another job during the day. No, I will do a few per day. Then I will have my thoughts about it. I love to do that.

====================================================

This story has been published earlier on Medium:

====================================================

About the writer

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with her husband and three daughters. You can find her on Vocal, Medium, Elephant Journal, HubPages, Music List. Writing is — aside from playing the violin — one of her passions since childhood. She is on Twitter and Instagram. You can subscribe to my mailing list, and you can subscribe to my Thoughts. Check out her books. She has an online web store, and she has a merchandise store. If you want to be informed about my online store and my merch, please follow this link.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.